We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impressed, I would not go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in West End
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I stayed at Sueno del Mar for over a week. I had booked before through a free agency on the island.

First of all, we were supposed to be picked up by the hotel at the airport when we arrived in Roatan. We waited for over one hour and nobody showed up, so we had to take a cab and got ripped off since we had no idea about the prices on the island. When we got to the hotel, the receptionist was busy talking to someone else, did not greet us and really made us feel unwelcomed. We explained the situation about the shuttle, and she said sorry. That was it.

The room was nice, we had a balcony with a gorgeous view of the sea. We had AC, the bathroom was clean. However, when we arrived, the sink was full of little ants that I had to kill with some insect repellent. We were supposed to have a coffee machine and never got it, and on the first night, my sheets were not clean (sand, hair!!!!).

We were told that we could do unlimited snorkeling, we just had to go along with the divers on the boat. The boat was supposed to leave every day at 8h30 and 11h. We got there 30min in advance, as we had been told. We ended up waiting for 1.5 hour, which I would not have minded that much if it had been worth the wait. We had been told by the owner that we would go to a place good for both divers and snorkeler. However, the place was only meant for divers because the reef was very deep, we could see the fish only from very far above. At least we had a nice swim....

Breakfast was included. The coffee was good, the breakfast made to order was good too, although I could have had a little more. We were not asked if we had enough or anything, so we felt kind of bad asking for more. But maybe it's just us. The only fruits available every morning were 5-6 small pieces of oranges.

The wireless Internet did not work 80% of the time, and I really needed to use it. So I was not too happy about that either.

The good thing was that we could borrow the snorkeling gear and the kayaks as often as we wanted.

The room was cleaned every day and that was nice. But just before I left I noticed that some treats that I had brought with me had disappeared. I like to think that I threw them away by mistake (!!!!!).

I paid more because of the internet, the snorkeling trips, the coffee maker, the supposedly super-friendly staff, and all of the above ended up being nonexistent. Overall, too many things went wrong for me to say that I liked the hotel or that I would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claudz009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

I had a very pleasant stay at Sueno Del Mar. the room was great and the view was unbeatable. Picture perfect sunsets, great diving all on premises.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Great location, fabulous diving, wonderful staff. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. ,

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trastavere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The hotel manager (Ray Lopez) is undoubtedly one of the nicest people you can meet as everyone that has gone there will confirm. I stayed at one of his other accommodations in West End Bay, seriously good rates, an open planned bedsit type accommodation in a two storey wooden built building, rustic and perfect for a lone traveller as I was, it had everything I needed, shower/wc, kitchenette with electric hob, not that I used it as the local cuisine was just delish......Mmmm, sheets/towels regularly changed, room cleaned. Ray also offers a "laundry wash" facility as do other places in town at reasonable rates that offer a good service I thought. This place is so cool for so many different reasons, you've got great diving/snorkeling that Ray offers at seriously good prices plus other dive operators in town, a very relaxed town ambience from shop keepers to restaurants and beach bars, gotta go to "Sundowners bar" on the beach where they have "Happy hour" most days from 5pm to 7pm if I remember correctly..!! ask Sony at the bar for a "slap n tickle" you wont be disappointed, other bars also have the happy hours at staggered times,one or two having live bands which do crank it up giving that "holiday grooving feeling".
There's a Catamaran (38ish ft) moored up in Half Moon Bay West End that goes daily I believe to Utila the neighbouring Island for $100 ish return, takes several passengers taking a few hours each way and is meant to be pretty cool.
People from other parts of the island call West End Bay, the "Hippy" part of the island, it's purely because it's sooooo chilled out and laid back. You can also go along the coast to "West Bay" approx 3 miles, a really nice walk or water taxi ride (a whole $3). totally different place in the sense that it's got a couple of large complex's that provide the holiday package if you like that sort of thing. Having done extensive travelling across South/Central America and the Carribean, I highly recommend this location and of course all of Ray Lopez's services for all, whether single, a couple, retired, group of guys/girls, you will NOT be disappointed. One NOT to be missed for sure, Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ray Lopez will sort rooms, you'll be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnybj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I really enjoyed staying here. The dive shop was right next door so you could go back to your room and relax between dives. Everyone was so friendly and the hotel was right on the beach with amazing views.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Ray you and your staff rock! Sueno has it all for divers, great location close to all the dive sites and the action in the West End! Tita's Pink Seahorse can satisfy your thirst and appetite and it's right on Sueno's beach!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billyfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

April 24th-30th,2011 :

Roatan is a true divers Paradise and Sueno Del Mar has the full package ! An incredible dive shop full of all the necessities every accessory possible for YOUR dive trip with an incredibly personable team ! It's like you have your own personal dive master because there was never more that two other diver diving with us at one time, while on our adventures underwater !

The rooms were large and extremely clean, with maid service every day ( fresh towels, clean sheets, a/c, refridge, free wi/fi, hammock on the balcony, free breakfast every day) !!!

I want to thank Ray (the owner for 20+ years) for his hospitality and the whole crew in the dive shop and boat ! This was a vacation I will always treasure, ...until I return and do it again !!!

Room Tip: *All rooms are Ocean Front ! ...AAAA++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Born2RockU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.7 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
358 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.7 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#1 of 9 in West End
824 reviews
1.4 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sueno Del Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Del Mar Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal | Main West End Road, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in West End
#4 Romantic Hotel in West End
Price Range: £57 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sueno Del Mar Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included with the rooms are airport transfers, breakfast,snorkeling. We installed a generator March of 2007 to deal with the current electric problems.Single price is $79 plus tax a night, doubles $89 plus tax. Dive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sueno Del Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel West End
Sueno Del Mar Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing