We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible people, OK room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada Las Orquideas
Ranked #6 of 12 West End B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I was greeted at Posada Las Orquideas by an unsmiling girl at reception. She showed me a room on the second floor and when I said I'd stay for 10 days, she told me that the room was only available for 4 days, but after that I could move to a studio which cost $5 more. I visited in May during the low season and the place seemed empty. A wall in reception was covered with keys and a sign declared a special promotion: Room $30, Studio $35. I didn't want a studio and when I asked if I could have one at the price of a room given the length of my stay, she told me that they were very full. She pointed to the keys on the wall and said that all those rooms were taken, and furthermore, they were expecting a large group soon. Nevertheless, I persisted. I repeated that I didn't want a studio, wouldn't use the kitchen, could I please have it at the price of a room. She looked at me for a while, talked on the phone, then told me that she had a room for me.

She showed me a room on the 1st floor and said I could have it for the duration of my stay. I preferred the room on the 2nd floor and when I asked if I could have that one and then move to the 1st floor, she said that they didn't want me to move. I asked if she had anything else higher up and she said that the only other room available was a studio for $41. I was tired and sleep deprived so I decided to stay for a night. I trekked over town but didn't see anything I liked so I swallowed my annoyance and stayed. Besides me there were only 2 other people staying there and the large group never materialized.

I do not like being lied to or scammed, and given that the staff were all unsmiling and unfriendly, I don't have a high opinion of Posada Las Orquideas.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank BumblebeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the top floor in a sunny, clean room. It was great having our own kitchen to cook in and it is walking distance from West End, but still far enough to be quiet in the evenings. You also get the sunrise in the morning on the balcony. The water in the shower was not always warm, but when you spend the day in the sea and it is warm everywhere else it doesn't really matter.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view, but 2nd or third floor obviously are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LavenderLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

my wife and i just spent a week in roatan. as is our usual practice when visiting places we know nothing about firsthand, we booked ourselves into posada las orquideas only for a few days. but after feeling satisfied that we would not be as happy elsewhere, we arranged to spend the rest of our trip at the posada las orquideas. to our surprise, the folks who run orquideas and its sister hotel posada arco iris, gave us a steep discount, unasked, when we told them we'd like to stay the rest of the week there. other reviewers describe well the hotel. we have nothing to add other than to reinforce the convenience of its location next to the seagrape dive shop, which we loved, and that the road is fine and lovely to walk down to get to west end. it's very close, yet still nicely outside of town. also, you'll read lots of stories about petty crime in roatan. i'm not an apologist for third world predation on first world tourists. but from what i know of my week in west end, i feel comfortable saying that west end is a special spot, and you and your family can have a great time there. just watch your valuables as you would anywhere, and treat people with dignity and respect, and you'll have a great time. oh and yes, #14 is the one to reserve. great kitchenette, huge porch, and plenty cool at night with the seabreeze to avoid the ac fee. enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrispuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very nice, 300 meters from west end but miles away. Nice view and breezes. nice rooms. Nice people! Worth the walk. Quiet and calm above the mangroves. I agree with a 3rd floor room, as a top choice. really nice. you have to check it out, try a night, then just stay.

Room Tip: A 3rd floor room is worth the extra steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiTownJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This place is fantastic, loved the spacious rooms and quiet location. Right on the beach so we had our own walk out to the pier. Everything was clean and well organised. Having a fridge was a bonus compared to other hotels we've stayed in. Really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Arrived yesterday. So far all that is missing is a great reading chair. Rooms are modest, but quite functional. Location on water, but not on beach. That also makes it much quieter than its sister hotel in the center of town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen23669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is perfect for a not too expensive hotel. Simple, quiet, a little fahr from the action of the town, not busy like a resort. The balconies are Huge and the view stunning! The nice thing is that the wind during night is strong that side of the bay so it is not too hot for sleeping. I recommand the 3rd floor. I strongly recomand it! :)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good but there is one, it is in one corner, you have the view on the bay A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emililili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.2 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#1 of 9 in West End
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
439 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Arco Iris
Posada Arco Iris
#4 of 12 in West End
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Orquideas

Address: West End Rd | Mangrove Bight, West End, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range: £50 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Las Orquideas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Las Orquídeas is located in the beautiful West End Bay, very close to the main street, in a tranquil and beautiful setting...All our 18 rooms and studios have a beautiful ocean view, balconies and hammocks where you will be able to relax, you can also walk by the paths in our beautiful gardens. Rooms have small fridge and studios equipped kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Las Orquideas West End
Posada Las Orquideas Hotel
Posada Las Orquideas Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing