We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Posada Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada Arco Iris
Ranked #3 of 12 West End B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great choice for a budget hotel. Simple, clean, spacious 2 bedroom apartment with hammock outside. Feels a little like being in a treehouse because the stairs to the rooms are surrounded by trees and foliage. The location is right across the street from the beach at the quieter end of the West End. The whole West End is only a few blocks, so easy access to restaurants and shops. Karolina, the owner, is quick to respond to emails and very pleasant in person.
The hotel has kayaks, but we didn't use them. They also rent snorkel gear, but we had our own. We had a kitchen, but didn't cook anything. A full fridge is nice to have. Only thing I would have liked was a safe in the room.
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

All in all, I loved this place, nice, safe and right where you want to be in West End. Our apartment had a little ocean view (through the lush landscaping). The apartment was very clean, but basic. We had no air conditioning, but ceiling fans. The kitchenette was nice to have, especially the fridge and coffee maker. The sink needs to be replaced - old and stained. The beds were comfortable, but flat, flat pillows. We enjoyed the porch and hammock. Since there were fittings for another hammock, we asked for a second one. We were told, in no uncertain terms, "Not a second hammock."

We enjoyed the sea kayaks (free) and free use of the oceanfront beach chaises and chairs (although 50 percent of the chaises need to be replaced). Snorkeling gear rents for $5 for 24 hours.

There were two "front desk - office" folks: Karolina and Stacy(?). Once we realized that Karolina was just "very direct" and not being unfriendly, we "got it." She was very helpful.

On the other hand, Stacy(?) never cracked a smile, was very unfriendly, and almost rude all of the time. When I explained to her a "room" situation," I could tell from her body language that she did not want to hear about it and was not really listening. I asked her to "follow up with me the next day" and, of course she never did. I was not going to lose my serenity over her.

The grocery next door is a plus, (although it sells no alcohol). The onsite Argentinian Grill Restaurant is excellent! The hotel grounds are lush and beautiful. It is "at the end of the street" - quiet and peaceful, but a short walk to any of the shops and restaurants.

As you walk out of the hotel, go right to have lunch at the unmarked "Keith's BBQ." They are serving up a big plate of either fresh fish, chicken, pork, or beef for only $5!! It was muy rico.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, even though it is not perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. The two bedroom apartment is a great value for four folks: $84 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I love this place, nice safe and right where you want to be in West End. a/c is a must and enjoy the sea kayaks (free) we spent a day on the beach. the grocery next door is a plus, and a short walk to any of the dive shops.

Room Tip: A/c worth it. it's quieter in the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiTownJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I just finished a week's stay at Posada Arco Iris, and we came away with a fantastic experience. The rooms are in a perfect location, and they are simple yet inviting. The rooms are very neat, clean and comfortable. We had an air-conditioned room and were always comfortable. i would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a sea view or partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HI_McDunnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

GROUP SIZE
we are a young couple in our early 30's


TRAVEL STYLE:
Flashpacker with occasional splurge.

TRIP ITINERARY:
7 nights

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel Review
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TO HOTEL
Taxi from the airport - we haggled our way from $25 to $20 from airport to West End

Welcome/Check-In:
We started our Honduran experience at West End. Check in was easy. We arrived late morning. The hotel likes to be paid in cash or else they charge a 16% tax on any credit card transaction. REMEMBER to bring CRISP & NEW dollar bills if you pay in USD. Any tear or wear on bills are not accepted.

ROOM CLEANLINESS
Room very clean. Cabin type rooms. It is very damp here so expect the bedding to be a little 'damp'.

Room amenities:
Free Wi-Fi that gets choppy. Overhead fan and an industrial standing fan in each room. AC is available but costs more. Small fridge and mini kitchen with stove and sink. We had an outdoor patio with chairs and table and hammock. 2 beds in room a double and a single.

Bathroom Cleanliness:
Clean bathroom WITH A SEPARATE SHOWER and separate toilet which is important to us.

LOCATION
Arco Iris in in West End.

OTHER INFO
They have 2 sister hotels. There are 2 in West End: Arco Iris and Los Orquiedias. West Bay: Seremein which is beachfront property.

FRONT DESK
Was a little abrupt, annoyed, and cold but maybe she was having a bad week. But the rest of the time other front desk ladies were very nice.

SERVICE STAFF
Friendly and accomodating to all our requests.

BREAKFAST:
No experiences here. We cooked our own breakfast.

LUNCH/DINNER
Very nice atmosphere. We loved the food here. Ceviches and empanadas were great. The shrimp burger was outstanding.

POOL
No pool. All guests are welcome to use beach chairs and activities at all locations.

OVERALL THOUGHTS
Rustic hotel, lodge-like setting. The resto and bar area are super cute. All the service staff at resto/bars at both locations are nice, attentive, and proficient. We thought front desk staff could be a little nicer and more informative as they are the first impression of this small hotel chain.

With that said, I would stay here again and can recommend this place to friends.

TIPS
- There is a mini store next door to this hotel where you can get amenities you may have forgotten
- Use the beach chairs at their West Bay location. We were able to use water equipment free of charge as well.
- Get the SHRIMP BURGER. Yum,.
- Keep your industrial fans on and on oscillate when you go to bed to keep mosquitoes at bay. AND keep your doors and screens closed.
- Also maybe bring a couple cans of CITRONELLA candles for your porch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jet2dresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had another great time with this group! the room was great and clean and the a/c worked. the place was quiet and we had a good nights rest. We had stayed at their other place last time. (a few hundred yards north) and wanted to stay closer this time. yes always pay the extra for A/C. the restaurant is pricey but I have eaten there many many times and never had a bad meal, always top notch.
Great location in west end.
Go forth and have a great time!

Room Tip: try the Coco Flan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiTownJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights; just arrived home. Rooms are spacious, clean but a little dated. Ceiling fans needed to be cleaned, air conditioner a little weak. Mosquitos can still get in the room in spite of screens on the windows. Building behind our room has standing water which likely makes the mosquito issue worse. Courtyard area is overgrown so not much sun gets to the rooms balconies; bathing suits and scuba equipment will not dry well. Restaurant is very good. Overall a clean place at a good price. If your are mainly looking for a decent place and will be spending most of your time diving and outside of the room, this is a nice option. We would stay again but will likely try one of the other places on West End before we book there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrainDoc228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lands End
Lands End
#6 of 9 in West End
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#1 of 9 in West End
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
2.3 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Arco Iris

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Half Moon Bay, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in West End
Price Range: £50 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Arco Iris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West End-Half Moon Bay, in front of the beach with beautiful, relaxing view of the ocean in place where looking at the sunsets makes you feel like you never want to leave is located Posada Arco Iris. We have 19 units in total, different types of accommodation, standard rooms, studios with kitchenettes and apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Arco Iris Hotel West End
Posada Arco Iris Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing