We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Get Away!”
Review of Cocolobo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocolobo
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Get Away!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My partner and I recently went to Cocolobo for a week, celebrating a birthday. The overall experience was great! The service that Krys provides the guests is absolutely outstanding. She writes daily attractions on a blackboard and is always willing to give last minute suggestions. She is very candid and open about the island, providing advice of where to go for food and drink, and also where to avoid. Morning exercise routines were offered and we took her up on them! We saw a TON of the island during our morning walks/hikes with her and she really made the difference for us while on our vacation. Heidi in the kitchen was also a jewel - she made me a cake for my birthday! AWE! AMAZING service; really outstanding. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in Playa Bay, right on the water with a great view. Left the doors open at night and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you Jon for a great review!!
I really enjoyed getting to know you and Alex over the week!! I hope to have a new trail for us to run/hike/sweat on for your next visit! Hope you enjoyed your birthday week celebration! Have a great time in Colombia!

All the best, Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    55
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
61
332
71
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Many times when you go to a new location on vacations is hard to know where to go and what to do! However, my experience a Cocobolo was a very unique indeed. Every morning I was welcome with a fresh and hot breakfast and based on the weather I received subjections on what to do and where to eat for the day. The manager Krystal was the most hospitable person I have ever encountered. I was able to enjoy a relaxing vacations with great people. Outstanding customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much Alex for your kind review!! I truly enjoyed your visit and hope to see you down again! Have a great trip in Columbia and look forward to seeing photos!

Best wishes, Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just spent a week at cocolobo and had an amazing trip. The ocean views at the property are perfect. Not only is the hotel nice, the staff there is on point as well. Krys and the team are so friendly and willing to help out with the room and any info you need on the island. This is the second time I have been to cocolobo and was more than happy to be back there again. The location is great since it is in West End, but a short walk away from all of the bars / dive shops. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckStrickland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much Vincent!

It was great meeting you and Nicole and look forward to your return!

Best wishes, Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent a week of fantastic diving in beautiful Roatan, but the diving was only part of what made this island such a terrific vacation spot. Krystal, and the rest of the staff at Cocolobo, was the icing on the cake. Waking up each day to beautiful ocean views, and a delicious, fresh made hot breakfast, Krystal would point out the "hot spots" for popular activities on a daily basis. After a couple of dives, we would return to Cocolobo to lounge by the pool and eat Heidi's fresh baked cookies... We can't wait for our next stay!!

Room Tip: Paya Bay was spacious and airy with fanastic views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GS410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Gary, thank you for such an amazing week! I had a blast with you guys :) I laughed the entire week and really hope to see your smiling faces again!!

All the best, Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a great stay in Cocolobo, Crystal was a great host, giving lots of helpfull recommendations on where to eat and dive. We love our food and the advice she gave us took us to some great places. It would be nice if the road to it was better lit though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwise1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from a great two week holiday at Cocolobo. The place is in a beautiful setting, unrivalled sea views. Spent many a happy hour sipping rum and watching the lightening storms roll passed in the distance. We were there in rainy season but we luckily had great weather for the two weeks.

Rooms at Cocolobo are great size, the staff are lovely and it has such a relaxing vibe. Krystal, the manager was so helpful and friendly. She organised trips for us, helped us with medications when we both got colds and booked a diving course for us. We had no intention on going diving before we got to Roatan but we are so glad we finally gave in and took the open water course. A fantastic experience.

Thank you so much Krystal and all at Cocolobo. It was a trip to remember and we truly hope that we will be back one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Zoe and Sindy,

Thank you for the lovely review, we truly enjoyed having you both for two weeks of fun and laughing!!! Glad you all enjoyed the trip and hope to see you back soon for more diving!!

Best wishes, Krys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atascadero
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My fiance took me to Roatan to celebrate my 50th Birthday. Not a bad start. But she trusted me to pick a hotel we would be happy with so the preasure was on. We wanted to experience local life but didn't want to rent a house or cottage that would leave us on our own to figure things out. I picked Cocolobo based on reviews and photos. First impressions, the location is better in person that in the photos and the size is smaller that we thought. They have 8 rooms and 2 stand alone units. The reaf is accessable right out front. The rooms are large and have great views from the bed, large balcony, and a hammock that will put you to sleep in minutes.
The staff is very friendly and knowledgable.
Things to keep in mind: This is not a high end Condo property. If you want to keep the A/C on all day, have marble in your room, and watch TV you will be better off in a Condo at West Bay.
It is warm in Roatan and very humid. Don't bother packing clothes for a nice night out etc..Cool clothes and enought to allow changing more than once a day would be great. The sand fleas can get you and leave you itching. Not that Cocolobo has sand fleas but when you venture out you will be exposed.
So, plan on warm weather, use oil based products on your legs to keep the sand fleas at bay, leave your computers and cell phones at home, come down to Cocolobo and experience Roatan.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have king beds, down stairs have 2 double
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atascadero45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoatanKrys, Manager at Cocolobo, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at Cocolobo!
I hope you enjoyed your birthday celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
2.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
8.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocolobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocolobo

Property: Cocolobo
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal at Seagrape Plantation, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End
#2 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocolobo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocolobo is the most attractive up-market option for your stay on the gorgeous, unspoiled Caribbean island of Roatan. Cocolobo welcomes guests looking for a friendly island retreat. Whether you are a diver or just wanting to relax, you'll love our tranquil setting. Just 5 minutes walk from the dive shops, restaurants and night-life of West End, you can return to Cocolobo and hear only the sound of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Cocolobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolobo West End
Cocolobo Hotel West End
Cocolobo Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing