We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, location and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing resort, location and staff!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First of all, this place treats you like family. The diving here is incredible and the staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. If you have been diving all of your life, they can accommodate that just as easily as they can a brand new diver. They do tend to take "short cuts" according to PADI regulations, but overall I felt very safe diving with them.

The bungalows on the water are phenomenal. You have a porch and hammock with a view of the ocean! Most other places in West End will charge you daily for the use of their air conditioning, but Seagrape has a nice unit right above the bed. I've lived in the Caribbean before, so I was very nervous about bugs (which are EVERYWHERE), but there were hardly any in the bungalows :).

Overall, I would absolutely go back and recommend this place to friends and family. It's affordable and in a terrific location. It's a 5 minute walk from the "strip" of things, but I loved being a little removed from all of the music and bar scene at night. It felt like an oasis that was a stones throw away from the heart of West End.

For those going to West End, support the locals! Lots of shops and restaurants are actually owned by foreigners and are driving the prices up in the community. All of the street vendors have food that is soooo much better than the $10/$15/$20 entrees at the restaurants. And you get your food immediately instead of waiting for an hour!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you Tiffany for your comments!!

All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    89
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
187
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

THis place is perfect for those of you who want laid back casual living. It is clean and comfortable and not fancy, and frankly BARGIN priced. We stayed in one of the bungalows and absolutely loved it, it was charming. Decent bed, a little soft but not bad. The room was clean and offered both the options of a ceiling fan or AC. Unlike many other places on the island, Seagrape has a generator that they use when the electricity is down, they don't limit hours and they run it when it is needed. The bathroom has a large vanity, tile floor and a shower. I'll be honest, our shower was kind of "iffy" in that the hot water took a LONG time to come in (as in we turned on the hot while we used the sink and waited) and the shower was not forceful.. Buy, hey, it wasn't a deal breaker for us and we sort of laughed and said "island living". The pool is wonderful and since Seagrape has a rough coral water front, the pool was nice and relaxing. A large gazebo offered shade along with our own front porch area. The bungalows had a hammock and a lounge chair along with a sitting chair and a small table. Nice spot to relax and read. We had a large mini fridge and it was easy to stock with beer and beverages. Seagrape provides a large pitcher of filtered water each morning and you can get more in the office lobby. They also provide strong coffee. There isn't a restaurant at Seagrape but a short 5 minute walk into town offers you everything from nice eating places, roasted chicken stands and even several street venders. We ate street tacos a couple of nights and they were fabulous. Not having a dining option on site is no big deal. We also took advantage of airport pick up and drop off. $20 each way for the 2 of us seemed very reasonable and we got to chat with Cleve, the dive-master. Seagrape has a sea ladder off a long pier out front. We snorkeled almost every day right in front and saw lots of fish and coral. It's not crowded and not beat up like off Half Moon Bay. Nothing against them, but they cater to cruise ship daytrippers and HMB is trashed. Seagrape is MUCH better for snorkeling. We loved it and plan on returning soon.

Room Tip: Bungalows 3-4 and 5 have nicer views. 1 and 2 are blocked by the elevated pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We appreciate your comments and we will do our best to improve on our hot water issue!!
All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our first trip to Honduras, and Seagrape was a quick two-night stay on our way to meet up with some friends. We were so impressed with everything and immediately wished that we had also booked there on our second stop in Roatan! Jessica was awesome, picked us up at the airport and toured us around the island, even stopping at a grocery store so we could stock up our mini fridge in the room. Mariela at the front was also very helpful, and SO QUICK to return emails and get us organized before we even got there. We had an ocean view bungalow and it was beautiful; the accommodations were fairly basic but very clean and nothing beats that view. We did three dives with Amber and Cleve, they were both awesome and Cleve's enthusiasm would make even the dullest dive a riot (not that there was anything dull about the dives we did!). The equipment was kept up, and they catered a lot to where the divers wanted to go so that was very nice. Dive briefs could have been a little more in depth before hand, but all in all we felt very comfortable and liked the freedom they allowed us. The location in West End is nice as well, everything is within walking distance but just far away enough to be quiet and make you feel secluded as well. Overall this was a great resort, the staff were all super friendly and made you feel instantly at home. We will be back!

Room Tip: Nothing beats the ocean view bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eboett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in a bungalow for 7 nights with a dive package. Dive OP was very good, no complaints. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Resort is very close to town and beaches but isolated enough for quiet & peace. Best part about Seagrape is the staff, they will treat you like family...yes all of them will treat you like family because it's one big family that runs the resort, they are all super helpful and nice! And you can feel good that you are staying in a resort owed and run by natives of Roatan/Honduras. Take the Island tour from Cleve and if your lucky enough you will get him as your dive master too. One tiny negative is that the rooms don't have coffee pots or tea kettles, I drink coffee, and my husband drinks tea and is a serious ritual in the morning. The office provides coffee when it opens at 7am but only provides Styrofoam cups and a microwave to heat water up in if you want tea. Not ideal. We rented a coffee pot from Seagrape at $2 a day and purchased mugs, tea bags and coffee in town, problem solved. Bottom line, we really enjoyed our week at Seagrape and will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccprankster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your comments!! we do look forward to having you at Seagrape again!!

best wishes!!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was my 1st time visiting the island of Roatan. I had a wonderful time. 1st and foremost make sure your passport does not expire within 6 months of your travel date. You will not be allowed into the country. There are no exceptions. I saw a gentleman get escorted back on a plane because his passport was set to expire two months from his travel date. There is also a $40 tax to leave the country.

The hotel is family owned and operated. They treat you like family. The hotel rooms are cleaned however dated. The rooms have a/c and hot water. Its takes a little while for the water to get hot. I was in room 19E. There was a king size bed and a single bed. The rooms in the main building are larger than the bungalows. There are no safes in the room. However there is a safe you can use in the main lobby. They have a chlorine pool which is 5ft deep. Its a nice size pool. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk into town. However its another 5 minute walk to the center of town where all of the bars and disco is located. It is a very safe walk. The disco closed at 3am and I had no problems walking back to the hotel. The dive shop is excellent. I did a discovery dive since it was my 1st time diving. The dive shop really took the time to make sure I was okay and comfortable.

You can take a water taxi to West Bay. The water taxi is $9.00 I highly recommend it. I have no complaints about this hotel. If you don't mind a little walk to the center of town than Seagrape Plantation will be perfect for you.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are larger than the bungalows. The rooms in main building also come w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey39Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Your comment is greatly appreciated by all Seagrape family, we look forward
to seeing you again!!

All the best!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I tagged along with my friend to Honduras for a week getaway in December 213. Seagrape was more than I expected. I was picked up at the airport by Jessica who told me about the town and where to go on our ride to the hotel. Our rooms were clean, service was great and the people were absolutely amazing. They remember your name and ask after you. Our room faced the ocean and I spent quite a few days lounging on the hammock. They also have a great dive shop if you are planning to do it. The town is a few minutes walk and close to shops, bars and restaurants. Overall...an excellent place for excellent value!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanushree75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you Tanu, your comment is greatly appreciated!

all the best from all of Seagrape Staff!

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As a recently certified diver I was looking to get back in the water. Seagrape offered a very affordable accommodation and dive package. Everyone was very friendly and easy to deal with. They are located in a nice spot that is quiet but only quick walk all the restaurants and bars. Although there are many other places that I plan to visit as a diver this is definitely one I plan on returning to.

If you're looking for a cheap lunch check out the baleadas and pastelitos at Yahungreh? just down the street. There's also a stall that sets up on the beach after dark that sells baleadas as well I believe it's across from the coco loco gift shop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Greetings Derrick form all Seagrape Staff!
Your comment are greatly appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again!!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
8.1 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
596 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrape Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrape Plantation Resort

Property: Seagrape Plantation Resort
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End
#3 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagrape Plantation Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagrape Plantation Resort is a Local Family Owned and Operated Resort. It is very relaxed and quiet perfect if you just want to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seagrape Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagrape Plantation Hotel West End
Seagrape Plantation West End
Seagrape Plantation Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing