We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stay at Seagrape, but certainly not out last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was mine and my wife's first trip to Roatan so we did a lot of online research to find what we were looking for. We wanted a quiet resort just a bit off the beaten path but still close to the action. Seagrape seemed just right as it is at the end of the main road virtually eliminating all traffic, yet is only a 3 minute stroll to the busy West End shopping & dining district.

This is truly a family run operation. Jessica picked us up at the airport right on time and her first job was hunting down our bags after they were accidentally picked up off the curb by a driver from another resort. She retrieved our bags and off we went to the resort with a quick tour of Coxen Hole (the main city on the island) and a stop at the grocery store so we could pick up a few things to keep in our room.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Mariela at the front office and assigned a waterfront bungalow. The accommodations were exactly as seen on the website and photos we had seen in our online research. Nothing fancy but spotlessly clean and comfortable. A/C was cold, mini-fridge in working order, and the bathroom was exceptionally clean. The grounds were meticulously maintained and the pool area looked like a postcard.

We made the minute long walk down to the dive shop and were immediately impressed. We are crusty old divers and can spot a good operation easily. This one is! Everything at the shop was well-maintained and the dive boat was large and looked nearly new. We were greeted by Rachel who gave us a quick briefing on scheduling dives and what to expect the following morning when we were to begin getting wet.

The following morning there were rough seas from a storm passage so Dive master Tony and boat captain Ricky took us by car to the other side of the island for a calm-water shore dive. It was the quiet part of the week so we had the crew to ourselves.

The following day the seas had calmed and we spent the next 7 days diving with the terrific crew. We were guided by Tony as well as Cleve (who has a personality as big as a truck!), Amber, and Rachel, and all knew the reefs well. They didn't just swim along while guests explored. They actively sought out interesting marine life to point out and made sure everyone got a full experience on each dive. Everyone at the dive shop was extremely helpful and friendly, and very professional in their work. Each morning our gear was already on the boat ready to go and our BC's were already on our tanks waiting for us! They even remembered to have my wife's "shorty" tanks ready for her. After diving guests left BC's on the boat and the crew took care of rinsing and storing them for the next dive.

Getting to know everyone at Seagrape was a real treat. There are 3 generations of family that run the place (4 if you count the little fellas running around the office after school) and their passion is obvious in everything do.

We typically take a mid-week break in diving and did so on this trip as well. We checked out resorts all across the island as possible places to stay on a future trip as we toured the beautiful seaside communities. After checking out several other places we had initially considered, our choice of Seagrape was confirmed as a good one. No other resort had the combination of qualities we wanted.

Seagrape is an excellent value, downright cheap by vacation standards. When I tell other divers what we paid for a week of diving and our stay there they can't believe it!

We are already planning another trip to Roatan and another stay at Seagrape.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you Chuck!!! and thank you again for taking time to write such a great review!
Greetings from all of Seagrape dive crew and family!!
We will be looking forward to seeing you and Dee sometime in the near future!

All the best!

Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

If I only had one word to use it would be "WOW!" Every body at this resort it truly concerned with the quality of your stay, even Mario the grounds keeper want to make your stay a perfect experience! Everybody will bend over backwards to make sure that your experience is beyond satisfaction. From the people at the dive shop, housekeeping, front desk staff, and the owner. This is a family place run by family and they treat you like family. I suggest that while you stay there, you try a discovery dive! Tony, Amber, Cleve and the rest of the PADI Dive Masters will make sure that you have a safe and wonderful experience, If you decide that you want to get your PADI license, they will apply the cost of the discovery dive to your license. My wife and I just spent the last four days diving three time a day and had the time of our lives. Other dive shops on the island will have you carry your equipment from the office to the boat, not at Seagrape, They are a full service dive shop and have all equipment loaded on the boat so all you have to do is get on and go diving! They may be a little out of the way, just about 300 yards past the end of the paved road on the northern most point of West End Roatan, but it is well worth the short walk. Our last dive was with Amber and she really went out of her way to make sure that we had a wonderful dive experience! Ask for a bungalow if available, No TV, Kind of cool showers, but ocean front hammocks and beautiful sunsets, who needs TV's?

Room Tip: 5A is the furthest from action, for the bungalows, WIFI not good here, but just peace and quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Can't thank you enough for your comments Bill!

All the best to you and Jane!

Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here in March as I got PADI certified. This hotel is a very good value for the money, and the staff is excellent and friendly. The rooms are in line with a budget hotel. I felt as though this was a good value. Rooms are clean, sparsely appointed, but you don't spend much time inside. You have a fridge, and fresh water each day. Wifi in common areas, but not in rooms. Pool was adequate, but not outstanding. There is no food on site, but awesome food a short walk away. I wish the beds, bedding and pillows and been a little more comfortable and higher end, but again, for the price of the room, everything was adequate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Krissie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Seagrape family and staff appreciate's you taking time to write a review.

Thank you Krissie!!

All the best!

Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff is great. Jessica greeted us at the airport and brought us to the hotel, making a quick stop at the grocery store for snacks and drinks. Our rooms were perfect, the beds are comfortable, there is a fridge inside to store food and drinks and the cleaning staff keep the rooms clean and stocked with clean drinking water. We had a hammock and lounge chair on our porch that allowed us to enjoy the gorgeous sea views in between dives. The hotel itself doesn't have a restaurant but there are several food options literally minutes away. What I liked best was having the dive shop located there, which made it easy for me to get my dive certifications in and get a lot of fun dives in between. Last but not least, the staff is excellent - everyone I interacted with was polite, professional, and attentive. I would recommend staying here and plan on staying here again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mekedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Greetings from all Seagrape family and staff!
Thank you for your great review, we look forward to seeing you again!

best wishes!!

Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our experience began when Cleve picked us up at the airport. His infectious laugh and good humor drew us in his open arms and welcomed us to the island of Roatan. We stopped by the grocery store to purchase booze and mixers on the way to Seagrape Plantation Resort. Clevs' wife, Jessica, greeted us and quickly registered us at the resort. Our bungalow had a hammock with a view of the turquoise sea. No phone or TV and cool water shower so if you require those, this is not the place for you. If you want serenity and quiet, this is the place. We immediately donned our snorkel gear and plunged into the awesome underwater world as pristine as we've ever experienced. We recommend Cleve's island tour to soak up some of the island cultural diversity. The West End shops and restaurants are a few minutes walk away. This is a cruise ship stop so avoid the crowds when they are in port. One suggestion is to get your PADi scuba certificate. Reserve 3-4 days to accomplish the training. The dive shop on site boasts a few of the best instructors (we met Tony and Amber) on the island. We checked off one of our bucket list items and found a whole new world underwater. My only regret is that we hadn't done this earlier in life. If life is measured in breaths, this was the experience that took my breath away. We can't wait to scuba dive here again and again. The entire island is surrounded by healthy reef so you can't go wrong. This was our favorite vacation to date.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Greetings from Roatan!!

Your review are greatly appreciated, hope to see you soon!

Thank you Bill and Jane!

Best wishes!

Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed with a large mission group of 34 , I cannot say enough good about the Seagrape. Mariela and all the staff were wonderful and helped us with all our arrangements, the rooms were spacious and spotless, the facilities pleasant, and the location just a short walk to west end. They are an excellent dive resort also, as quite a few of our group discovered. A great value, very enjoyable stay and I highly recommend them.

Only suggestion is to serve continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amusick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Glad to hear your team enjoyed their stay with us! and we will look into the the Continental Breakfast thank you for the suggestion!!

All the best to you Susan!!

Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Awesome place to stay. If you want to drink and party, I recommend looking for a place in town more. If you want great service and peace and quiet, look no further. The resort is a bit rustic and in need of some maintenance here and there, but the grounds and rooms were clean and well kept. The staff is so friendly we wanted to adopt them all. The view from the bungalow decks is awesome. The gazebo is a place to relax and think among the crabs and sounds of crashing waves. No TV, but who cares? No restaurant, but the Hotel next door has a good breakfast. Great tipico. (Honduran typical meal) Ask to feed the white tailed deer they have as well. The main strip is only a five minute walk from the seagrape and was actually enjoyable to walk there. There is Wifi at the hotel section under the patio. The hotel seems newer than the bungalows and in good shape. If you need a tour for anything, ask for Cleve. He is joy personified. This guy is the real deal and you will be blessed by him. Trust me. Our bungalow also had AC which we did not expect. Room was bigger than expected too. A queen and a single. A great stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Bungalows 1,4,and 5 have a clear view of the sea. Two and three are a bit obstructed by the elevated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia Rosado B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariela W, Front Office Manager at Seagrape Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you Sonia, your comments are greatly appreciated! so good to know you had a
good time at Seagrape, hope to see you and Jim again!!

Muchas bendiciones!!

Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
603 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
8.1 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
619 reviews
2.6 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrape Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrape Plantation Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, West End, Roatan IB3108, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End
#3 Family Hotel in West End
Price Range: £62 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seagrape Plantation Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagrape Plantation Resort is a Local Family Owned and Operated Resort. It is very relaxed and quiet perfect if you just want to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Seagrape Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagrape Plantation Hotel West End
Seagrape Plantation West End
Seagrape Plantation Resort Roatan, Honduras - West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing