We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“awesome location,resort needs better maintenance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bhavani Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vijayawada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bhavani Island Resort
pattukkoottai,tamilnadu state
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“awesome location,resort needs better maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We , a group of 18 members of an extended family from Tamil nadu, spent the pongal holidays at this resort in the Bhavani island in river Krishna.The location is awesome, -tall old trees, green lawns, and shrubbery, with cottage-type of duplex rooms , and a few tree top houses, -with krishna river surrounding the small isle. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms large. The n negative point is the lack of cleanliness in the rooms, bathrooms and also in the grounds. there is also a public park adjacent to the property which draws crowds on weekends and holidays.There is a restaurant which is passable. The service by the staff is satisfactory. Activities were limited to ferry rides, playing in the park and campfire .Ferry rides to and fro from the mainland are free for those staying in the resort. The resort will be more attractive if more attention is paid to maintenance of the premises , and more activities like swimming and fishing.

Room Tip: youngsters may prefer the treetop rooms.Otherwise choose a a room facing the river-the sight of V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nilaseventy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Dear reader..

I had the worst experience ever of my life so far at this place. It was literally a nightmare staying in place for just one night...

1) Full of Lizards and their droppings everywhere, even on the bed.
2) Dripping water from the roof...
3) Painful mosquito bites
4) had no light in room...had to call reception to get it repaired...
5) Vijaywada is very hot and humid
6) One of the hotel executive who took us to our room was drunk.
7) Had to stay for 2 Hours outside the rooms for cleaning and mobbing purpose, even though they were booked one week in advance.
8) Bad tea taste
9) AC making noise
10) Room intercom to call Reception/Hotel was disconnected/dead
11) Food and shopping is expensive compared to Hyderabad.
12) Shops and roads are dirty and full of mess....
.........etc .......etc.......etc..........

better stay home or go someother place instead of this place...

Room Tip: Don't waste money going there....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank MrShahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vijayawada hotels

Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I have been there and didnt like to stay anymore and felt very insecure to stay in the nights as there are no lights in island and it is good for more privacy seeking people. There is nothing to see... Except like houses in jungle. No games and no place to to touch water with feet. You cannot sit on the river side. Only few places having such facilities are VIP or restricted areas.

I had a very bad experience :(...

May be this needs to be maintained well.

Room Tip: Tree top houses will scare you rather than excite. So if you book go for a normal a/c suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Travelrare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Positive:
Place is good to visit, nice landscaping, scenic and beautiful. You should visit if you are planning to visit Vijaywada. Each room has personal access to room. Rooms are vary specious and well designed.

Negative:
Resort is not maintained well at all.
1. Broken stair cases, railings.
2. Rats in the room, we had big family get-together. We rented 3 rooms, out of which there were rats in 2 rooms.
3. Tree houses are nice, but not good in case you have any emergency e.g. getting down quickly is difficult, away from resort and no lights on the road.
4. When we reached there, boat to take you to the island was broken. So we need to wait for 3 hours.
5. No watersports or any activities organized on the island. So in general very difficult to kill time whole day there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank amodonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirupati, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

dear manger of bhavani iland why don,t u give tree top house its nice but u like to prever a/c suits.a/c suits were common at any where but tree top is warry and is sooo beautiful.so i wold request u to give preferrene to tree top houses.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank hemu333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We wanted to do something different on new year eve. Though we could not get the reservation for the 31st December, we settled for 1st Jan. That's when most people there would have enjoyed the previous night and left, but we were fine with it, since we just wanted to have a great time. We reached on 1st Jan evening after crossing the ferry. That's when a lot of people who spend the day time at the island were returning home. Soon, we had the whole island to ourselves. It's a fantastic place with independent cottages and tree top houses. We realized there were just 4 of them occupied for the night and it was like literally having the whole island to ourselves. The place is just beautiful with options for a few adventurous activities too. The service at the resort though is something which can be worked upon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank minocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Dear travellers,

I had been Bhavani island resort at Vijayawada last weekend. This is my third time there and I would go there again.

Stay: The rooms are fantastic with neat beds and a very clean bathroom/toilet. There is ample hot/cold water. The rooms are big about 300 sq.ft and all the rooms are built to have a view of the Krishna river from the balcony. If you are lucky with good wind directions, you could hear the waves slap the banks. Divine it is.

Food: This is one thing to complain. The first time I was there in 2008, the 2nd in 2009 and then again in Feb 2011. Each time the choice of food has gone down tremendously. They serve only one dish practically every meal. It is idlis alone for breakfast, fried rice for lunch and again fried rice for dinner.

For evening snacks also, they had only two items which is really bad.

May be the occupancy has something to do with it. We are only two families in the whole resort but then that is hardly an excuse.
The other restuarant at Berm Park which is on the other side of river is not that great either I am told.

This is something that needs to be addressed.

Staff: Perhaps the most friendly staff to get. They have their limitations and someone with a shorter temper may ignite especially at the restuarant staff but otherwise they are really nice. I had a problem with the TV which they attended to in 10 mins and changed it. The room service was excellent and also the boat ride and the drivers are very nice too. The ride from the mainland to the resort is free for the persons staying at the resort any number of times and they do it with a smile. That is really nice.

Climate: Hot even in February but the a/c was great.

Others: Kanaka durga temple is only a few kms away and can be accessed by an auto who will charge Rs.30/- or 40/- to the spot where the devasthanam buses take you to the hill top in 5 mins for FREE. Otherwise you can take the stairs of about 200 or even take the vehicle pathway and reach the top in 10 mins max. I recommend the latter. Both for the exercise and also for the view of Vijayawada.

An amazing temple with probably one of the best facilities in normally crowded days. The darshan can be very spiritually enlightening. There are Rs.25 and Rs.50/- tickets that can get you darshan in about 15-25 mins. Dharma Dharshan may take about an hour to two. The place is so divine that you can feel it in the air.

Regards,

Sathish Kumar R

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank advsathishkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vijayawada hotels
2.5 mi away
Continental Park Hotel
Continental Park Hotel
#8 of 22 in Vijayawada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada
2.7 mi away
Manorama Hotel
Manorama Hotel
#17 of 22 in Vijayawada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Quality Hotel DV Manor
Quality Hotel DV Manor
#2 of 22 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Aira
Hotel Aira
#6 of 22 in Vijayawada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fortune Murali Park
Fortune Murali Park
#3 of 22 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhavani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhavani Island Resort

Property: Bhavani Island Resort
Address: Bhavanipuram | Bhavani Island, Vijayawada, India
Region: India > Andhra Pradesh > Vijayawada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Vijayawada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Bhavani Island Hotel Vijayawada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing