We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vijayawada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bhavani Island Resort
Pune
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at this resort for one night. Its located in the centre of the river Krishna. The location is amazing. we were taken by boat to this island. We felt great after reaching this resort. The Cottage type rooms are spacious with balcony from where you can enjoy the view of river. The rooms however require some maintenance and better cleanliness. The food served by the restaurant is only chinese which is a let down because it serves only fried rice and manchurian. There is ample space on this island/resort to venture around. There are few swings and some fun for children as well as adults. You can go for a walk on this island. The service needs to be quick, but knowing it is govt owned you can grant that much to it. Overall worth staying at least once.

Room Tip: Ask for River view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vikas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

been there to attend my frnds wedding.... location is just amazing :) loved the boat ride in the reservoir at mid night.... rooms r pretty bad.... ac is not workng...rooms need bttr attention and maintenance... if u hav thoughts to take a walk around in the night, bttr frget it ...dogs keep barkng and chase u ... very bad !!!!!

except d rooms , d place zz perfect to hangout wid frnds.... grt to sit by river side watchng sunrise.... loved it :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank PraveenReddyYeruva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

At one sight we got so fond of.. greenary in every direction with treetop room. Location outstanding. I have never been to such places earlier rather seeing in movies.. so I may sound a little more excited with my explanation. But at the same time there were plenty of drawbacks which could spoil your mood.

Good things:
- Reasonably low cost..(i guess it run under gov so may be one of the reason of low cost)
- The gardens were maintained well.
- Room was made clean to more hygienic. (But that took almost an hour to get that done.. this is what you may expect from a gov running systems.)
- Never felt shortage of water.. though water stink a little. But at least looked clean.
- Everyone there showed good gesture. talking. and friendly. At times, we felt trouble while asking them but they tried their best to revert in hingluish(hindi,english, telugu). that was good to know.
- The boat is free and would take you in and out of island whenever required. Not sure if they take a tour around island as well or not. We didn't ask for that.
- Food tasted good. but costly with their standards.

The bad part:
- All were doing their jobs with so laziness. That may irritate you.
- Room not maintained well. They look so nice but need maintenance. Floor were ripped of somewhere..ceiling was ripped of too.
- They didn't have food serving till room (top tree suits) neither tea. You have to come till restaurant and have it there. You also can't take the foods to room.
- Night scene looks a little horror. At times you may feel someone at top of your cottage.. oh yeah, there were rats too making irritating noises.
- No security guards at night for the top tree suits. They all just vanishes..adding more tension to the customers.
- Bathroom are not maintained. In my case, there was a broken tap somehow fixed..broken tiles. Jammed flush. (a true replica of gov provided accommodation).
- The mosquito net was teared... you may find some complicated mosquitoes, insects giving you company.

Its definitely for young couple..I would personally prefer to go in a group of couples and hire the nearby top tree suits.. that will ease somewhat from insecurities you may feel at night.

I hope I haven't offended anyone.. these are just my personal views and my stayed over there experience.

Take your own call before you plan to go..

Thanks,
Manindra

Room Tip: I haven't seen the other varieties/categories of rooms.. The above personal views are for the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mani29101984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattukkoottai,tamilnadu state
Level Contributor
230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We , a group of 18 members of an extended family from Tamil nadu, spent the pongal holidays at this resort in the Bhavani island in river Krishna.The location is awesome, -tall old trees, green lawns, and shrubbery, with cottage-type of duplex rooms , and a few tree top houses, -with krishna river surrounding the small isle. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms large. The n negative point is the lack of cleanliness in the rooms, bathrooms and also in the grounds. there is also a public park adjacent to the property which draws crowds on weekends and holidays.There is a restaurant which is passable. The service by the staff is satisfactory. Activities were limited to ferry rides, playing in the park and campfire .Ferry rides to and fro from the mainland are free for those staying in the resort. The resort will be more attractive if more attention is paid to maintenance of the premises , and more activities like swimming and fishing.

Room Tip: youngsters may prefer the treetop rooms.Otherwise choose a a room facing the river-the sight of V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nilaseventy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Dear reader..

I had the worst experience ever of my life so far at this place. It was literally a nightmare staying in place for just one night...

1) Full of Lizards and their droppings everywhere, even on the bed.
2) Dripping water from the roof...
3) Painful mosquito bites
4) had no light in room...had to call reception to get it repaired...
5) Vijaywada is very hot and humid
6) One of the hotel executive who took us to our room was drunk.
7) Had to stay for 2 Hours outside the rooms for cleaning and mobbing purpose, even though they were booked one week in advance.
8) Bad tea taste
9) AC making noise
10) Room intercom to call Reception/Hotel was disconnected/dead
11) Food and shopping is expensive compared to Hyderabad.
12) Shops and roads are dirty and full of mess....
.........etc .......etc.......etc..........

better stay home or go someother place instead of this place...

Room Tip: Don't waste money going there....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank MrShahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vijayawada hotels

Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I have been there and didnt like to stay anymore and felt very insecure to stay in the nights as there are no lights in island and it is good for more privacy seeking people. There is nothing to see... Except like houses in jungle. No games and no place to to touch water with feet. You cannot sit on the river side. Only few places having such facilities are VIP or restricted areas.

I had a very bad experience :(...

May be this needs to be maintained well.

Room Tip: Tree top houses will scare you rather than excite. So if you book go for a normal a/c suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Travelrare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Positive:
Place is good to visit, nice landscaping, scenic and beautiful. You should visit if you are planning to visit Vijaywada. Each room has personal access to room. Rooms are vary specious and well designed.

Negative:
Resort is not maintained well at all.
1. Broken stair cases, railings.
2. Rats in the room, we had big family get-together. We rented 3 rooms, out of which there were rats in 2 rooms.
3. Tree houses are nice, but not good in case you have any emergency e.g. getting down quickly is difficult, away from resort and no lights on the road.
4. When we reached there, boat to take you to the island was broken. So we need to wait for 3 hours.
5. No watersports or any activities organized on the island. So in general very difficult to kill time whole day there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank amodonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vijayawada hotels
3.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel MG Road Vijayawada
0.0 mi away
Hotel M5
Hotel M5
#4 of 25 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manorama Hotel
Manorama Hotel
#18 of 25 in Vijayawada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Aira
Hotel Aira
#5 of 25 in Vijayawada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Park N
Hotel Park N
#9 of 25 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sri UMA International
Hotel Sri UMA International
#15 of 79 in Vijayawada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhavani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhavani Island Resort

Property: Bhavani Island Resort
Address: Bhavanipuram | Bhavani Island, Vijayawada, India
Region: India > Andhra Pradesh > Krishna District > Vijayawada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Vijayawada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Bhavani Island Hotel Vijayawada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing