We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could like it”
Review of Viva Panjim

Viva Panjim
Ranked #6 of 325 Restaurants in Panjim
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,274 helpful votes
“I wish I could like it”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have now visited this restaurant for lunch 2 years running and on both times come away very disappointed and will not visit again. It is a shame. It is a most picturesque place, up a little alleyway in the old Portugese quarter of Panaji - Fontainhas. You can eat in the shaded alleyway, in the fan cooled inner dining room or in the a/c room. The a/c room is tiny and charmless but in tempertures in the high 90s, who cares! The food is ok but it isnt more than that. I ordered a plate of pigling (young pig) roasted in gravy and most of the lumps of meat were in fact lumps of pure soft pork fat. horrible. We tried a whole variety of dishes. The sizzling pork was a nicer piece of meat but it came in gravy seated on chips which were soaked in the gravy and therefore very soggy and unpleasant. The best choice seemed to be Goan prawn curry and rice which was nice but we weren't totally convinced by the freshness of the prawns. None of the 7 dishes we tried was beyond mediocre. If we had been served any of them on the beach in our Goan resort we would have sent them back or at least never eaten at the place again. There must be better places to eat in Panjim than this and next time we will find them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    279
    111
    43
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“two visits in one week .......what more i can say about the place”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Goa has so many eating options that we never ever end up at the same place second time in a week.....yet viva Panjim`s great food forced us to visit the place two times on our recent visit.

having been to viva Panjim and having a great experience on the last vacation we were looking forward to visit again at least once this vacation. our taste buds were treated to such awesome flavors that we visited it again.

on 3rd march we had crab xec-xec, kingfish fry in rava, prawn curry rice, pork roast, veg fried rice and caramel pudding. crab xec- xec turned out to be an excellent choice. made with a medium crab the juicy meat was well complimented by excellent masala gravy. devoured with the goan bun it was out of world. all other dishes were also superb but crab xec - xec was the star dish.

on 8th march we had fish lolipop (Viva sapecial) and prawn butter garlic as starters, in the main course we ordered fish steak in orange sauce, pork roast(again), mutton xacutti (sat special) fish sizzler and caramel pudding(they had run out of bebinca). the fish lolipops were the instant hit with the kids. the prawn butter garlic was subtle and succulent. fish steak in orange star was the star of the day the sauce was tangy and spicy. mutton xacutti was a superb idea eaten with goan pao it was altogether a new experience. fish sizzler was a bit of disappointment the barbecue sauce was not as good as it should be. the pork roast is one of the best eaten in india.

viva panjim serves the best goan food at the most amazingly reasonable prices. it is a must must visit for anyone visiting goa.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margdarshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pure Delight”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Set amidst the heritage colony... Lunch by the curbside on a lazy afternoon is going to be fresh in memory for a long time... Very very reasonably priced and awesome food... I had an apricot steak (day's special) and it tasted like nothing i had ever eaten... Lives up to every word of its reputation....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingbittu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Food , Must Visit”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The food is simply great . Try out the Goan dishes . The ambience is nicely done . The entrance may not be much appealing but when you are in Goa , this is a must try .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramchand1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value, nice building, nice food”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We ate lunch here, and enjoyed a nice meal at a very good price. Definitely recommended.............

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rojo_e70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viva Panjim also viewed

 
Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Been to Viva Panjim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing