We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Except location no plus point”
Review of Panaji Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panaji Residency
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Hotel is located at the most central place in panjim but service and maintainance is not up to the mark.Staff is just doing their duties as in any govt office.It's better to stay in some private better managed hotel.GTDC is offering 15 percent discount to VISA card holders on their website but the staff does not know about it and they don't have any notice regarding the same.In nutshell it's better to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnoopChhabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel is at a very nice location. Shopping, market, boat cruise, conveyance, everything is at a walking distance. The view is spectacular from the hotel's balcony. The rooms are clean, hot and cold water facility is good.

Room Tip: The top three floors have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Most of the time we ignore Govt property thinking that we will not get good service, in some cases it may be true but not in this case. This hotel is located in good place near to the river cruise. And the view you get from front faced room is excellent. The rooms,AC,TV are old but they are in working condition so not much to complain. Regarding service got in touch with manager and he is really helpful in arranging a good cab at good rate for south Goa trip and arranged bike for rent also, so can't complain much about the service food will reach to your room if you ask but it will take some time as they prepare and serve. They have a good attached restaurant though its a bit costly but the price is same in near by restaurant too, i had tried few of them didn't find much difference. Only cons is you have to wait at least 30 mins for the food to arrive.The rooms are cleaned everyday and big.

Room Tip: Front side room,501 or 502 best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj_rkl_bang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

But for inadequate maintenance (occasional small insects in room) and average room service (never got hot tea), this hotel would have got excellent rating.Very spacious rooms with balcony (facing river Mondovi) and to top it very good restaurant are seldom available at budget rates.
Providing tea in thermos and regular pesticide spray will go long way to improve its image.

Room Tip: Choose River facing ( Front Rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahanand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Had an opportunity to stay here sometime last year in May, the peak holiday period. Had to book pretty early to get reservations, as was expected.
Best thing about this is its location right in the centre of the city with most things such as shopping, Mandovi river-front, Bus depot etc within walking distance. In fact it was this factor which made me go for it.
However, the good things end there.
The room quality is just about average while the service is decidedly bad. You have to call for everything from towels to soaps and somebody will come when they have time or they actually remember that u had asked for something.
Cleanliness is another area where this hotel has a lot of scope for improvement.
The other unfortunate experience I went thru s that of reversing my credit card charges where I had been wrongly charged doubly. It took me another 3 months and innumerable phone calls to different people, after my return to Mumbai, for them to credit my account back. In today's world, and for a place like Goa, this is really unfortunate and unforgivable.
The breakfast which comes with the room was reasonable enough without being exciting enough.
I suppose this being a govt-run facility, u may not expect too much here. But it might be a good idea for the new CM, who has taken over a few months back, to do some surprise checks in Goa Tourism hotels and see their running first-hand. I am sure he will want to change a lot.

All in all, a low cost-low service affair. May not be that bad if u don't go with too high expectations.

Room Tip: Try a room with a river view if u get it. Might be slightly more expensive but may be worth it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DineshShirvaikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

if you are to stay in panaji, super conected to bus stop, cruise, market. this place is a great vale for money . decent rooms, good view of river mandovi for teh river facing rooms. and alreday said superb connectivity with kadamba busstop a 5 mins walk. this hotel is also starting point of Goa tourism south/north goa bus tours. the attched resurant of teh hotel is not so bad food+ a 24hr nescafe cafe atached.

Room Tip: river facing , 3-4 th floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsutoshKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Busy season so only room we could afford but still pricey for what we got. Clean but dated. Bathroom okay but not great, small cockroach but hey, its India. Loud music from the hotel behind ours at night. Restaurant is fine but nothing special. Have to pay for internet use, 300 rupees per day. Location is good if you need to be close to the bus depot.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.4 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#7 of 48 in Panjim
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
203 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mystique Heights Beacon, Panjim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
0.2 mi away
Casa Paradiso
Casa Paradiso
#36 of 48 in Panjim
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#10 of 48 in Panjim
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panaji Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panaji Residency

Address: Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Price Range: £39 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panaji Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Panaji Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panaji Residency Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing