We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty, bad management attitude, overpriced AVOID”
Review of Treebo Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treebo Mayfair
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“dirty, bad management attitude, overpriced AVOID”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

first impression of the lobby was OK, staff who greeted us were nice, and they let us in early (we'd been on an overnight bus and arrived at 7am) but the room was filthy. dirty floors, cobwebs everywhere, and even a used razorblade left in the bathroom. When we went downstairs and the manageress asked us if the room was OK, we told her it was a bit dirty (we were polite, but as she'd asked, we had to tell her). She then went on the offensive, suggesting it was our fault as we got there early. Later on when we questioned the bill (the price was more than we'd been quoted) she made up a line about taxes, although this didn't add up at all. She then went on to say she should charge us even more next time as we were in the room early. Believe me, there won't be a next time.

This was one of the very worst hotel experiences i've ever come across, We've stayed in FAR nicer places, for FAR less money in India.

Avoid this place like the plague.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    14
    9
    15
See reviews for
8
26
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

DON'T EVER GO THERE!!!
It was awful, dirty and unfriendly!
Our room was dirty, with spiders ind the corners and the smell of cat and pee was everywhere.
When we wanted to leave, the staff wouldn't give us back our passports, and wouldn't explain why
-It was just AWFUL!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHR-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panjim hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Booked a room for 2 nights. The lady at reception made us pay at check in and she took our passport. She seem nice at the beginning.
The room was SO disguesting. The floor was covered with dirt and the wall had dirty fingers al over it and spiders in the corners. No lightball in lamps. The hole hotel had a smell of cat and cat poo.
We wanted to leave but they wouldn't give us our passport back. Had to fight with them for an hour before they gave us back the passport.
The staff was unfriendly, didn't speak english and didn't seem to care. They were VERY rude. What were lonely planet thinking!!!
Don't ever go there - spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christinakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

THIS HOTEL IS ABSOLUTLEY ABYSMAL AND EMBARRASSING TO THE STATE OF GOA! It had so much potential in the first 3 minutes of arrival, don't be fooled by the nice mosaic walls and appearance. A group of us payed upfront (over 30,000 rupees) and when one of us had to fly back a few days after our stay, they WOULD NOT refund our money for the remainder week, they have NO POLICY on cancelling or not giving refunds, these people are frauds. They demand you give your key and passport with them at the office every-time you leave the hotel (even if it's next door to their shed style restaurant) which the HIGH COMISSIONER in Delhi does NOT recommend you stay with places like this because of theft (which in their policy they do not take responsibility for your items in your room even though they have the key!). When management was asked to deal with simple everyday customer service issues that we had they would not speak to us and we were forced to deal with the front desk operator who had no idea what was going on and seemed ashamed and angry with how managment were cowardly refusing to deal with the customers themselves. LONLEY PLANET WHAT WERE YOU THINKING!!!!??? Obviously someone has been bought to make this hotel even worthwhile to be in LP. Please do not stay here, for your own good!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60763Happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Amazed that this establishment is LP's top choice! Did they get past reception and take a look at the sad, tired rooms? Made the mistake of not checking the room first. I was first taken to a dank room where the smell of mildew was overpowering. I changed rooms immediately, and while the second room was dry it was also filthy - grubby floor, cobwebs in the bathroom, broken, scabby toilet/sink unit. At this stage I wanted to leave ASAP, but refund was refused. After much protest on my part, I was shown a third room that was passable. My advice would be to pay a little bit more for somewhere well-kept, or at the very least ask to see the room first!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BiancaPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel was easy to find in a taxi from the station. The Hotel was pretty average... and looked pretty tired and run down. Not terribly clean - particularly the towels and bed covers. Certainly overpriced for what it is - no doubt due to the unfairly good review in Lonely Planet.

Lonely Planet recommendation will certainly make you feel lonely at this hotel.

On arrival, we were expected to fill in three long-ish forms all with the exact same info which seemed incredibly long winded and pointless, given they had made copies of our passports.
Staff did seem helpful & pleasant at first, and spoke good English. However, I over heard a loud conversation, (through the window) being rather rude about us which made us feel very unwelcome. From a hospitality background, this is clearly unacceptable!

The lovely kittens in the reception went some way in creating a pleasant atmosphere. All in all, the hotel was one of the worst I have stayed in in India, but with a little attention I'm sure it could be a lovely place. Staff need to learn some manners!!

Room Tip: We booked a room in advance online, arriving at the hotel we found we had paid over 500 rs more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank D_E_ROB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I loved my stay at Mayfair Hotel. The family that runs it is so fantastic. And the cats! They're so cute :) Both the family and the cats create a really positive atmosphere. I felt very relaxed here.

My room was clean and cosy. And the location of the hotel is excellent. I would definitely stay here again and hopefully will too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
0.6 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#9 of 47 in Panjim
681 reviews
6.1 mi away
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
Treebo Santiago Beach Resort
#22 of 110 in Calangute
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 47 in Panjim
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Paradiso
Casa Paradiso
#36 of 47 in Panjim
81 reviews
4.1 mi away
Treebo Jesant Valley Holiday Homes
0.4 mi away
The Caravela Homestay
The Caravela Homestay
#1 of 47 in Panjim
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebo Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebo Mayfair

Property: Treebo Mayfair
Address: Dr Dada Vaidya Rd | Panjim, Panjim 403001, India (Formerly Mayfair Hotel)
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treebo Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treebo Mayfair is situated right opposite to the Mahalakshmi Temple in Panaji, Goa. The property is 850 meters from the Ferry Jetty and 3 km from the Miramar Beach. All the rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with an LCD television with cable/ DTH connection. You’ll find water heating facility and Treebo toiletries in the private bathroom. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast from Treebo. The Dabolim Airport is 30 km, Karmali railway station is 14 km and the Panjim Kadamba bus stand is 3 km from the hotel. Places nearby this Treebo property are Black Sheep Bistro (50 meters), Goa Museum (2 km), Dona Paula tourist village (7 km), Dr. Rajadhyaksha Hospital (900 meters), Manipal Hospital (6.6 km) the shopping street at 18th June Road (400 meters) and Caculo shopping mall (2 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Treebo Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treebo Mayfair Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing