We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

It is really well located in Panaji, clean rooms, a little expensive (but Panaji is an expensive place) and friendly warm efficient staff. The owner was happy to give us an extra day. There was lots of choice for breakfast and not too expensive either. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bloobloothefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    144
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
74
177
101
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have stayed 3 days in this wonderful guest house. It is very well located and yet in a quiet dead-end street. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the service impeccable. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast on the roof terrace was the best of our 3 weeks trip trough South India: warm toasted bread rolls with cheese or eggs. Really highly recommended guest house!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas3054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. Service was fantastic and we organized a number of trips out of Panjim with their help all with fantastic drivers at a reasonable price. Breakfast on the terrace was a beautiful oasis. The only thing that could be improved was the comfort of the beds. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elladaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Afonso's was lovely, the room was stunning, location was good and staff were friendly...but then again this is quite a pricey place to stay (for India) so this would be expected. 

Breakfast was really good and the free wifi was very handy. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlenedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I made an impulse trip to Goa from Delhi when I was there for business in October. I used Panjim as a base for day trips and Afonso Guest House met my needs perfectly. It was clean, the staff and owner were friendly and helpful and good value for money in comparison with other accommodation in the area. As a great added bonus, the reliable wifi connection meant that I could keep in touch with work. It's in a good, peaceful location but within easy walking distance of the centre of town and the bus station. I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAM267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This place has to be the most amazing place I've stayed, it's clean, has hot showers, is run by the most amazing lady and her son, so friendly, so helpful. I really enjoyed my self at this guest house. They serve the most amazing breakfast!
It's in a beautiful old are, so beautiful.

Room Tip: Relax and have fun!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanmadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Located at Fontainhas this property gives an opportunity to experience the Portuguese influence on Goa, namely at the architectonic level, such as narrow streets, old villas and buildings painted in lively colors. Very conveniently located offers waking distance to Panajim Market, Casino jetty, river cruiz , bus terminals etc.

The rooms are basic, cozy and clean. 1st floor rooms have a definate advantage sadly we could not get one.The owners are friendly and planned our 3 days itinerary nicely.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
7.2 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
4.6 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#2 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Property: Afonso Guest House
Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over two decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveller might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Afonso Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing