We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, friendly guesthouse”
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stumbled upon this guesthouse during the tail end of monsoon season in Goa. Needing a break from the torrential downpour on the beaches, I head inland for a relaxing couple of days. The staff at Afonso was very welcoming upon arrival, and despite not having made a reservation, they worked very quickly to accomodate me. As I was travelling solo, the very friendly woman in charge went above and beyond in recommending activities in the area, gave me perfect directions to all the best restaurants and helped to arrange transport. The rooms were immaculate and cozy, the breakfast delicious, and the staff all-smiles, wonderful and caring. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank a272793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Afonso Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and I loved everything about this place. Goa was our last stop on a two month trip to India, and Afonso Guest House provided the perfect, tranquil coda to our journey. The staff were exceptionally helpful, and the area was peaceful and lovely to explore by foot. It is located near a number of good restaurants and cafes, and within 5 minute's walk to the main city bus line. If you are stopping through Panaji, we highly recommend a stay here. Nearby places we enjoyed: Hotel Venite Restaurant (eat on their balcony), Tea Cafe Goa (restful, hidden gem), and Viva Panjim (excellent Goan fare).

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor rooms. They are generally quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ZtorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Location:
Panaji is the capital city of Goa and situated at the heart of Goa and from here you can travel all of Goa with ease. This guest house is close to (walking distance) the bus stand and major attractions of the city. The market is also nearby.

Looks and ambiance:
A heritage Portuguese house surrounded by trees and orchids. This guest house is situated in a quiet alley (really quiet!!) and decorated with trees and flowering plants. You get the view of a nice chapel from here. Squirrels and birds welcome you to this nice neighborhood.

Staff:
Mrs. Afonso and his Son runs this place with the help of few nice ladies. The staff are very helping and friendly, the lady with her wise advices (follow them! I ran into trouble whenever I ignored! Always feel free to discuss about your plans) and the boy with his charming smile and fluency in a number of foreign languages surely make your trip a memorable one.

Rooms:
Nice, big and clean. Beautifully decorated. Bathroom is clean and you get tissue paper and soap as contrary to one previous misleading review. The rooms are fitted with AC but that comes with an extra charge of Rs. 350 a day. In the bathroom there is an electric water heater/geyser which is switched on by the stuff on the ring of a bell and that's not a problem. You get a nice view from the room. No TV, but who wants a TV when you are in GOA. You get to read a lot of books for free.

Wifi:
Free

Laundry:
Very nicely done.

Breakfast:
Do try the Goan bread with butter and honey. The bread is very nice with crunchy crust and soft inside. they serve breakfast at the rooftop which has a nice orchid garden. A nice way to start the day.
They don't serve launch and dinner but a nice heritage restaurant is just round the corner named "Viva Panjim" which is one of the best places to eat in Panaji. Check the local Goan food (a bit spicy though) along with some continental dish also.

Transport:
Centrally located. Tourist cabs are arranged by the host. Drivers are good and have nice comfortable cars. Always take the advices of Mrs. Afonso, its worth it.

Conclusion: Best place to stay at Panaji. I was very satisfied with this place in my 3 days visit to Goa. This place is popular with foreign tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side is a bit bigger and on the back side the are a bit quieter (Front ones are q...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SenguptaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Very well located in Panaji but still in a very quiet street, wonderful breakfast. Rooms were big and confortable, wireless internet was available and working. Close to major attractions and bus station. A special recognition for the staff, always friendly and helpful and willing to do that little extra step to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjdsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed recently for two nights. Very clean place. The proprietor runs a very tight ship. Among a lot of places, this is definitely value for money, located centrally in a quiet square (almost feels like rural Europe) and a great restaurant (Vive Panjim) just round the corner. Breakfast (mostly continental)is available on request and is quite decent quality. The proprietor definitely will help with all requests such as bike, tours etc. There are a few house rules though - towels changed once in three days, hot water controls are not in room and need to be requested (not a problem), AC costs extra. The place is quite old (probably heritage) and hence some of the fittings definitely are dated - will therefore need to handled delicately.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriniGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

It is really well located in Panaji, clean rooms, a little expensive (but Panaji is an expensive place) and friendly warm efficient staff. The owner was happy to give us an extra day. There was lots of choice for breakfast and not too expensive either. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bloobloothefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have stayed 3 days in this wonderful guest house. It is very well located and yet in a quiet dead-end street. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the service impeccable. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast on the roof terrace was the best of our 3 weeks trip trough South India: warm toasted bread rolls with cheese or eggs. Really highly recommended guest house!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas3054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
15.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over three decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveler might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Afonso Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing