We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice in Panaji!”
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Extremely friendly Jeanette and her son made this a lovely stay....not to mention how clean, comfortable and nicely decorated the rooms all are. Great breakfasts on the roof top terrace....so many beautiful plants and flowers all over the property! A true gem! Thanks so much for making the last week of our 3 month journey so memorable!

Room Tip: They are all nice...we love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Steve Leavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

After checking out three places around the area my partner and I were jumping for joy when we checked in here!! Spotless rooms, great staff and the owners were amazing. The price was good too, relative to other places that were asking almost the same price for half the facilities/quality. We paid 1500rp a night in off season which was a good middle range price.

Mrs Afonso helped us out with a taxi to the spice plantations (recommended if you're into that stuff), where we had a ball!! She was very patient with our indecision and of course wasn't trying to force anything on us. The price was reasonable too.

Even the team installing security cameras at this place were great, offering suggestions for secluded beaches that unfortunately we had no time to visit.

A great experience. Sad to leave this quiet area of Goa. Recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JaseNMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is not a budget option as the Lonely Planet might make you think - it's a very charming, well organized, very very clean place with nice rooms and friendly and helpful staff, but it's definitely not a cheapie! Breakfast is not included in the room rate, the check-out time is 9 am which seemed exaggeratedly early to us and if you want to stay longer, say to sleep in or walk around town a bit and then come back for a shower before you catch you plane, you have to pay half the room rate, so you end up paying quite a bit. This is not to discourage anyone from coming to stay here - just be aware of the price! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LaDolceVita82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here in december 2012 and we were absolutely disappointed. For 3000 IRS per night there was no breakfast included. No soap no shampoo nothing. The room had mosquito nets in front of the windows, but there was a hole in the ceiling so we got eaten alive. Of course we had to have breakfast and we decided to enjoy it on the lovely roof terrace. Sadly it was also very disappointing and highly overpriced.
The Wifi connection was very fast and available in the room.
Afonso Guesthouse is a beautiful house in a beautiful area but it´s just too expensive and not worth the money even though the guy at the reception speaks excellent english and is very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank franne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We arrived in Alfonso Guesthouse yesterday and were welcomed by this lovely family,rooms are very clean,nice service and it is truely a home away from home!! They take care of taxiservice and tripsuggestions!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AminSrasra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We arrived at Dabolim Airport at 4 am in the morning but since we had prior contact with the guest house they welcomed us though it was very late at night. During our stay we enjoyed a simple but pleasant breakfast at the rooftop terrace, always received with a smile by the staff and what we assume was the owner helped us organize daily trips with prepaid taxi. Overall we felt very safe and comfortable in a place that was very new and different from our culture. In conclusion the owner and the staff have been so helpful and friendly that this have been one of the best hotel experiences we ever had. P.s. the rooftop terrace was so nice!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anonymp998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We found this accomodation after looking a lot of dirty rooms around 31st January street. It was so refreshing to walk into a airy, decorated room and have a long shower. The rooms are in the 200 years old stylishly renovated house that has a lot of beautiul plants all around the house. The owner Jeanette is very very helpful lady that takes care of their guests very well. You'll get free WI FI, daily room cleaning and also you can get nice breakfast at roof top for small charge, Check for rooms and prices up front since it was full in March and we could only get room for 2 days. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MladenBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#6 of 47 in Panjim
821 reviews
4.6 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 3 in Saligao
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grande Delmon
Grande Delmon
#8 of 47 in Panjim
80 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
#1 of 125 in Calangute
164 reviews
0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: £23 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over three decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveler might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Afonso Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing