We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest guest house in Goa!!”
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Wow! What cleanliness! Mrs Afonso and her son surely knows how to run a guest house.

Located in Fontainhas area of Panaji. the guest house must be having around 12 rooms spread in 3 floors, all with attached bathrooms. We had taken 2 rooms for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay there. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The charges and house rules were reasonable. Bed linens were spotless and rooms cleaned everyday. They serve only breakfast. You would anyways be out for the whole day, so lunch and dinner would expectedly be done outside. Parking outside the guest house in the open is safe as we had parked our car too for 4 days.

Interacted with the owner on a number of occasions (frenly banter) and she suggested us places to visit we hadnt visited earlier, like the Reis Magos fort, which was a revelation!

My only suggestion would be to stretch the check-out time from 9AM to 11 AM. Tourists prefer to sleep late and 9AM seems too early morning to me (lol).

Would definitely stay again whenever we need to stay in Panaji.

Thanks for your hospitality madam!

Room Tip: Any room on any floor. No lifts though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnkurH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stay on Panaji for 4 days. The room is clean, wifi free everywhere, the personnel is kind. There's a nice terrace where is possible make breakfast, not including in the room's price, that is a little expansive for backpacker, but the service is good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean.
The breakfast and a/c are not included but that is not a problema since the rooms have fans (and mosquito nets) and we could have breakfast somewhere else..
Very good for it´s range. Not a luxury but perfectly fine; i have actually visited anothe guest house which for the same price was much worse... Great location, i would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank IGranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here in early September and really enjoyed it. The rooms are small, sparse and functional, but spotless and exactly what I wanted. There is a lovely roof terrace to have breakfast and tea which overlooks a decorative church. The family which runs it is very friendly and helpful with advice. More to the point, it is an authentic Goan experience in Panjim's Fontainhas quarter, and has a real local flavour. I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aarti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very good guest house with family management. Mrs. Jeannete keeps the business running well. Rooms are very kept, service is running well, breakfast is à la carte at reasonable prices.
Very near from the bus station if you like to move around at Goa.
Downpart is check-out time at 09:00 AM.
I'm a returning customer and definetely will choose Afonso when in Panjim. I always had lovely stays here. Recommended for a friendly, clean, budget and nice guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Charlie_Roadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were there for 4 days in total and had a lovely stay. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helped us with the many questions that we had about Panaji and the surrounding area. The owner was especially helpful and one of the best things about the guest house is that they organise trips to see various things, all for a very reasonable price. The taxi driver who took us on the tour waited for us whilst we explored each site, which I found amazing as we were gone for a long time at some places. Obviously, you can organise all of this yourself but it is very helpful if you are new to the place and don't want the hassle. Breakfast was always nice - a simple selection of food and drinks on the upstairs terrace with a lovely view and other visitors to talk to. The room cleaner was very good and folded my clothes better than I ever could! All in all, we had a fantastic time and would recommend it to anyone visiting Panaji. Not only for the guesthouse itself but for the location it's in also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Rick22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a lovely stay here it was so appreciated by us all they are the nicest people and let you come and go as you please they could not do more for you and perfect location they arrange trips transport the lot defiantly recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 123SouthWest_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
15.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
398 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
4.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: £28 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over three decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveler might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing