We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful little oasis”
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights at end of December 2013 and couldn't have been happier . The price was very reasonable for the quality of the accommodation. and the place was absolutely charming. A beautiful period house with simple rooms but lots of character and spotlessly clean, crisp white cotton sheets on the beds and lovely carved wood bedstead, comfortable too. We had room with en suite shower and toilet and though we didn't have air con we did have a ceiling fan. There is also a lovely roof garden with plants and beautiful pieces of sculpture and pottery that is very calm and relaxing.

The location was perfect, in the heart of picturesque old town near a lovely old church and with Panjim's best restaurant right behind it. It has a welcoming family feel but without being intrusive. They could not have been more easy-going, accepting my phone booking at a busy time on my 'word of honour' and allowing us and all the other guests to leave our luggage in tiny hallway without charge on our check out day.

I would happily recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to Panjim and definitely go back there if I have the chance. Don't waste your money on the Panjim Inn ( its on the corner of a busy road, noisy dual carriageway anyway). Slip round a much quieter corner to the Afonso.

A miracle and an oasis.

Room Tip: We had ground floor by front door but still managed a good night's sleep. I don't think ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a small, family run guest House with love and care. It is clean and well looked after. The terrace on the roof is a wonderful place to rest while admiring the beautiful Sant Sebastian Church. The Guest house is located in a friendly and architectonicaly interesting area. Even though not in the centre of the city, it is easy to go anywhere and there is also a taxi and rickshaw stand very near which makes averything so handy. I highly recommended! I have been here twice and plan to come back!

Room Tip: I have always been in room seven, overlooking the street. I'd recomend the rooms on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuriaVidalll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

When looking for a place to stay in Panaji we had a look at low to high price hotels and guesthouses, this was the pleasant surprise, where we felt immediately comfortable and welcomed. We were amazed about the relatively cheap price since the next heritage hotel around the corner had almost the same kind of rooms but smaller and would cost more than double.
Rooms were very clean with free wifi and comfortable beds, although no TV. Every part of the house was lovingly decorated; breakfast was served on the roof terrace, all very atmospheric and relaxed. The chapel at the end of the road also felt like part of the guesthouse.
We were shown the rooms without asking for it and later given tips about all different sights and places; everybody was so very helpful and kind and made it an extremely pleasant stay.
Balram and Stefi

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

我跟朋友在這邊住宿6天,環境整潔莊潢有美感不在話下,還有令人舒服的香芬氣味。每天會幫忙倒垃圾及整理被單,以民宿來說,算是非常棒的服務。最重要的是,這裡位於市中心,交通方便卻不吵鬧非常難得,走路至公車總站只需十幾分鐘非常方便,因為整個Goa幾乎從Panaji這個城市出發都很方便,這裡距離Goa觀光局主辦的一日程的報名處非常近,走路不到十分鐘。此外,早上也有提供物美價廉的早餐,地點位於民宿的頂樓,非常休閒又舒適。最重要的是如果長住,老闆娘還會給予折扣的優惠!

The room I lived was very clean and smelled good. The housekeeper cleaned the trash bin everyday, and the distance from here to the main bus station was near, it only took 15 min to walk. I love the breakfast Afonso provided guests here, because it was not expensive and tasted delicious! It's definitely a good choice to live here in Panaji (good price and fantastic service) !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ohyeahtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The place is extremely well-kept. The service is really amazing (Jeanette and her son were always ready to help and the employees were all friendly). Our room was very comfortable and breakfast on the sunny rooftop was a truly relaxing experience!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are probably sunnier than the ground ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esteban F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at Afonso Guest House for two nights this week and loved it. Jeanette and her son were incredibly accommodating, having a room ready for us when we arrived after a 10-hour bus ride at 7am (even though the last guests had just recently left). They gave us great advice on where to go next on our four-month trip, directing us to a less crowded, less touristy beach than where we'd planned. My fiancée was feeling sick and the lovely cook even made him special black tea with lime. The breakfasts were affordable and delicious, and we also had laundry done efficiently and cheaply. It was a completely relaxing respite, made even better by how green and lush it was.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MercerPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed for four nights in Feb 2014, and had a good time. This place is very near to the River and the Panaji market, with a lot of good restaurants nearby. Good for a late evening stroll by the River.The rooms are very clean with basic amenities. A/c,drinking water, toiletries etc are chargeable extra, but that hardly matters as the price and location more than make up for it. Lots of pretty plants around the house.
The hosts are very friendly and suggested a lot of nearby restaurants and great spots like the Reis Magos Fort that are easily overlooked by tourists.
Panaji is quite a distance from the main tourist locations and beaches, and may be a bit of a problem for people who want to be near the beach.
Ideal location for tourists who want to experience the Portuguese neighborhood.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winviji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
15.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
406 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#6 of 47 in Panjim
778 reviews
0.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: £25 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over three decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveler might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing