We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guest house in perfect location”
Review of Afonso Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afonso Guest House
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Charming, friendly, family run guest house. We feel lucky to have got a room. Lovely clean and quiet rooms with attention to detail and we loved each morning breakfasting on the rooftop.
We arrived early in the morning but were looked after and fed until our room was free. We knew as soon as we walked through the beautiful jungle of plants at the entrance that it would be a good stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We just loved the Portuguese look and feel of this charming guest house that is not only an easy 10 mns walk to downtown, but also a reasonably priced one for being located in one of the nicest neighborhood in Panjim! We were in a pinch situation but the owners Jeanette and her adoooorable son, were so helpful and sweet to us, that we ended up staying a whole month! The wifi worked perfectly well, the beds had crisp-clean and sweet-smelling sheets and were comfy [a pretty rare affair in India, let me tell you that! Unless you are in a 5 stars hotel of course...] the big windows gave on a peaceful view of palm trees and roof tops and were surprisingly private. Oh! And NOOOO mosquitoes as all their windows have mosquito nets! Niiiice! We really, REALLY appreciated their generator backing up all the electricity breakdowns during monsoon season, keeping us fresh and cool with the AC and fans... AC that got serviced and deep cleaned too! Shanty made us the best egg breakfasts ever, with fresh baked bread rolls and loads of sweet giggles. We ate in the super cute little terrace where one can't help feeling at peace with the world. Our lovely Basta kept the whole place nice and squeaky clean (I didn't see one single bug in there, BTW) and nicely did all our laundry, always returning it the very next mornings, all dried up and ironed (How did she managed to do that??!!) but above all pampered us as if we were king and queen or something and cared for us as if we were family. Jeanette was always there when we needed her, but knew how to be discreet and give us our space. They were all ears to listen to our suggestions... Both her and her wonderful son's open minds and broad views of life (we are a mixed race couple) were a breath of fresh air in an often constrictive India and I truly enjoyed our few conversations. We felt welcome and at home. A MUST!!

Room Tip: The top, right one when going up the stairs is the best quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paloma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Afonsos is a very warm and welcoming guest house. The rooms are spacious and tidy. They're decorated plainly, but tastefully. It also includes amenities like AC, hot water, wifi (not great wifi unfortunately, but good enough to read/write email) and they serve breakfast on the rooftop (not free but priced cheaply). The location is right in Fontainhas, which is a very charming part of Panjim.

The guest house itself is very good compared to other options in its price range, but Jeannette and her small staff are so nice and hospitable. Jeanette is a pleasure to talk to.

Room Tip: If you're not sure where to go ask Jeanette for advice on things to do, places to go -- she know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jephdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently to explore the Old Goa area. This is a family run place where Mrs Afonso is personally supervising everything. The rooms are tastefully done. It is cute, cosy and charming. The only things that would have made this place excellent for us is tea / coffee service in the room.

Room Tip: You need to be prepared to walk around a bit if you choose this place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlonmove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing place! Superb host! Gr8 rooms! Perfect location! My trip to goa this July wouldnt be as good had it not been for my stay at this place..

Felt like I was staying at my fav aunts place.. So comfortable n secure..

N the tips from the owners bout places to see and eat at made this one my best goa trip.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pournimanavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was in turmoil because,I had to pay an emergency visit to Panaji, in the peak season, and had to take care of lodging immediately.
I was very much thankful, that only on intimation by phone, Mrs. Afonso, took care of the bookings and we had a very peaceful and productive stay in Panaji.

Tidy rooms, a lovely and picturesque terrace with beautiful potted plants and an amazing locality.
In all a great package!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lavina-ContinentHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I visited Goa with my best friend as part of a Bachelorette trip right before my wedding. We were looking for a quaint place in the Fontainhas area with peace and quiet where we could spend many hours walking through the streets and reminescing old times! The stay was very comfortable and the owner was extremely helpful in guiding us. The room was comfortable and Home-stayish style was much appreciated and we will definitely be visiitng the plav again. we highly recommend it to anyone looking to spend a relaxing weekend in the Latin quarter.

Room Tip: Pick a room nearer to the roof. But each room has its own unique charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrishtiiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#6 of 47 in Panjim
821 reviews
4.6 mi away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 3 in Saligao
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
Le Meridien Goa, Calangute
#1 of 125 in Calangute
166 reviews
2 mi away
Varanda do Mar
Varanda do Mar
#4 of 47 in Panjim
331 reviews
0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonso Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonso Guest House

Address: Near Saint Sebastian Chapel | Fontainhas, Mala, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panjim
#3 Business Hotel in Panjim
#3 Family Hotel in Panjim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: £24 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Afonso Guest House, run by Panaji's reputed Afonso family, is more than just a guest house to its many patrons. Nestled in the capital city's quaint Latin quarter of Fontainhas, it is a veritable bridge between Goa's Portuguese past and Indian present. A favoured haunt for many an adventurous traveller for over three decades, its hospitality and peppy spirit show no sign of aging and are still as fresh as they were back then. It makes no pretense of being luxurious; instead, Afonso Guest House prides itself in being simplistic and practical. With its friendly and welcoming hosts, it's truly your home away from home-clean and functional, the rooms are airy, and equipped with everything a traveler might need. However, the clincher is its lovely terrace graced with potted plants where traditional Goan breakfasts are served to guests every morning, overlooking the whitewashed St Sebastian Chapel. So, if you seek home in a foreign land, come over! Really! You won't regret it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afonso Gues House Hotel Panaji
Afonso Guest House Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing