We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Horse Shoe

Horse Shoe
Ranked #242 of 326 Restaurants in Panjim
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just found this lovely, small restaurant just by coincidence walking around. The Horse Shoe is located near the foot bridge (E-245, Rua De Ourem, Panaji). We had a superb diner at our first evening in Panaji, and we went there at our second evening as well. The restaurant serves Portuguese Goan cuisine, and is fantastic break from regular Indian food. Strangely enough the restaurant was very quiet both evenings. Very friendly service. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Whatsinaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way.”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We also visited this place as a result of the Lonely Planet, but that's all we have in common with the other reviewers.

We had great service, great food, and thought the atmosphere was lovely, even though it was quiet.

Our bill was £30 for the two os us, but that was because we chose to spend £20 on wine. If we hadn't done that and had gone with beers, we would have walked out with a bill for £15.

Certainly the other couple of tables in there with us also seemed very happy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Under new management - a big disappointment”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We visited this restaurant because it had been recommended by all the guide books. What a disappointment. The place was clean and bright but there was not much atmosphere to speak of (I have a vague recollection of peachy-colored walls and floor, glass tables, black metal chairs, quite bright lighting, but don't quote me on any of this) and the menu was uninspiring. Service, although cheerful, was very, very slow, even though there were only two other tables present when we were there, and the food, when it eventually arrived, was nothing special - stodgy filled papad starters, followed by a prawn curry and a fish curry, neither of which had any depth or subtlety of flavour . The desserts were frankly poor, mine being a sort of bland bread-pudding and my husband's being four minuscule squares of a dry and tasteless layer cake. When we asked for the bill we taken aback at being first presented with a visitors' book in which to leave our comments, while being watched over by the waiter. I thought this showed a distinct lack of taste and declined to write in the book. We were mystified at why this restaurant had received such good reviews from others in the past but when we mentioned this to the owners of one of the hotels at which we stayed they told us that the original owner of The Horse Shoe had recently retired due to ill-health and the restaurant had changed hands. Perhaps the new owners will improve things over time, but they have a long way to go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor food with no atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Really nice and clean restaurant but the food was very tastless, chicken so tough i could not cut through with a sharp knife, returned uneaten but was still charged, very dissapointed, shame because staff very friendly

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank goagirlBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We visited Horse Shoe on the recomendation of our Lonely Planet guidebook and was disappointed. Although it wasn't a terrible experience eating here, we found that the food was distinctly bland by comparison with most other restaurants and it had little atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse Shoe also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Been to Horse Shoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing