We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best 5 star in Goa for its price and exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Taj Vivanta is easily the best 5 star option in Goa for its sheer value for money. You can get a nice room here for an affordable 5k to 7k with breakfast. This makes it the best 5 star for its affordability. As the name suggests TAJ, they would never dissapoint you with their service. every member of their staff from the bell boy to their Manager are all fine examples of what polite and efficient service is all about and other hotels in Goa can learn from them. The rooms are the typical Taj rooms, nice and super spacious. The bed is nice and comfortable helping give quality sleep. The Comforter on the bed which is its the a little secret I extracted out of their room service staff this time round is what am told makes their beds more comfortable than in most other 5 stars. Am told its this comforter that makes all the difference and not the big thick mattress. Unusual service requests such as pen stands, post it's paper, pencils, pens and extra pillows with usual requests of complimentary fruits, newspapers, and without request greeting Elephant made of towel showing great artistic sense and ability are just some USUAL things that their staff is able to provide you with. Add to that the standard chocolate(1/2/3)that they leave by your bed side each evening post room cleaning. At the reception, Mr Anurag is particularly helpful in trying his best to meet your expectations of great service. Kudos to him and i believe if he keeps up his good attitude, a promotion to him should be in order. Enjoy their mornring breakfast buffet which is easily the most elaborate and lavish in Goa and comparable to the best in the World. Here to the staff is excellent in meeting all your needs, right from placing you on a table of your choice to filling up that glass of water of yours just when its about empty. Ask the chef to provide you with pink salmon if you fancy it and don't quite find it on the menu. The chef would not dissapoint you. A terrace pool with the sun beating down on it, accompanied once again by great staff handy with towels whenever you need them, a super must try SPA, great gym to work out in. A special mention of their calamari resturaunt where the chef makes decent sushi (I tried it all) which goes very well with some sparkling wine/ champagne. Try it all as this Taj would not let you down. Its conveniently located in the heart of Panjim City. Go stay here!

Room Tip: Just let them give you a room. They would not let you down. Ask for Anurag at the reception desk inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripathianupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was there to attend Goa film festival so Taj Vivanta was the ideal choice for me as the festival venue was close to it. I have stayed there for 5 days and my experience was close to perfection.
If u're there don't miss the breakfast with so many varieties of nutritious yet delicious brreakfast ..

Room Tip: Select a room either on 2 or 3 rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aryanvikings20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Nice location, in the very heart of the city. Good and courteous staff. Overall it was a very nice experience and stay.

It is also just round the corner of the Kala kendra situated in Goa, where the International Film Festival (IFFI) takes place.

The Food spread and options are also very good at Vivanta, even for vegetarians. It has a lavish spread for one.

Their Chinese and Japanese cuisine restaurant - Tamari, is also worth a try, with the staff being very courteous and soft.

Overall, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are city facing, so there isn't much of an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Given that Vivanta typically means appreciation for the finer things in life, I can safely say that my stay in the Panaji Taj Vivanta was definitely not that great. I stayed here for 2 nights on a personal trip and here are my observations:

Pros:
Location - situated right in the center of Panaji, the location of this hotel is great. Not too far from the airport and reachable from other good places in Goa makes it a very good selection.
Airport Transfer & Cab service - the hotel provided excellant pickup and drop-offs to the car in individual cars (instead of the typical mini-vans). This was a good experience for me. In addition, the hotel booked an excellent car for my one-day trip to Mangeshi and other temples.
Spa - the hotel boasts of a very good spa and the steam/sauna facilities were top-notch
Food & Room service - the quality and quantity of food provided as part of breakfast buffet as well as in-room dining was amazing. The wide variety of spread available for breakfast was indeed good to see. The waffles, in particular, were outstanding. In addition, the in-room dining experience was pleasant too. The biryani I ordered was more than enough for one person and the taste was exquisite.

Cons:
Reception - The initial welcome I received at the time of check-in was cold. When one is entering a hotel like Taj, one expects a smiling welcome. Instead what I got was a distant and cold sort of welcome. In contrast, while checking out the reception staff were courteous and polite.
Room condition - This was the biggest problem I had. The room was definitely not the best. The carpet under the bed was stained and didnt look that great. Some of the lights in the room were not working. In addition, the water tap in the tub was leaking and spraying water in all directions. In addition, there was a huge gap in the glass doors for the shower and as a result the outer area of the bathroom became all wet and messy. Further the weighing scales in the room did not work. Apart from this, the basic toiletaries like toothpaste and toothbrush and comb were not even provided.
However, the biggest problem with the room was the presence of ants. I made coffee from the coffeemaker and after finishing, within 10 minutes, the entire coffee cup was swarmed with ants. This was a definite turn-off for me. The whole table beneath the tv was laden with crawling ants. This is something which I didnt expect from a hotel under the Taj management.
No Free Wifi: The hotel does not provide free wi-fi and the charges for this are ridiculous.

Overall, I was pretty disappointed with my stay at the Taj Vivanta. Since it was a 2-day trip, it didnt bother me much but overall I feel this hotel does not fall under the best category. Next time, I will possibly be looking toward Leela or Marriott.

Room Tip: Just check the room for presence of ants before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adtelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Located at the heart of Goa's capital , this is the hotel of choice for business & leisure travelers alike. Excellent service- the staff take care of all your needs in a warm and friendly manner.
We stayed there for my birthday and the staff took extra effort to make it special ! (They arranged for a special surprise cake for my birthday!!)


The food is amazing- with our favorite being served at "Latitude" restaurant. We also used the spa services and were thoroughly pampered by the staff!

Would go there again and again- and recommend it to friends as well!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvlyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Vivanta by Taj Panaji is a good Hotel to stay in. I checked in last time in Sep 13 when I walked out of Hotel Mandovi as I found the rooms very dingy and very low beds and Old TV.

Taj is a very good and clean Hotel to stay in with latest amenities. The food layout in Dinner ad Breakfast is ecellent with a wide variety though a little pricy. The market and all Casino Boats are walking distance and you can enjoy the same without any mode of transport. However if you want to enjoy the beaches than you will have to take a transport.

In all a very good experience and got a free pickup and drop to Airport so was worth the stay.

Room Tip: Nothing specific but avoid rooms with connecting doors as it get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15Jsb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This looks like a business hotel when you search - but I stayed there with my family with 9 Year old Kid, and found it to be too good. Service is extremely good - they take care of their guest like anything. Food, cleanliness, courtesy - excellent. Its located right in the middle of city - so very close to all markets etc if you want to roam around. Swimming pool is on the top with jacuzzi - and again great staff. If you are in Panjim - Stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
0.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,409 reviews
23.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
3.8 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Panaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Panaji

Address: Off D. B. Bandodkar Road, Panjim 403001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Panjim
#2 Spa Hotel in Panjim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Panjim
#2 Family Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: £97 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Panaji 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Panaji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Hotel Panaji
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing