We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisurely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Leisurely stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hotel was very clean with friendly, helpful staff. From the moment I entered the staff could not do enough to make sure I enjoyed my stay. The spa service was excellent and all the staff very professional. The food was ok, not the best choice I have had in a hotel. The swimming pool was on the top floor and was lovely and clean, we were also given bottled water and fruit kebabs which was a nice touch. The lifeguard/pool attendant made sure everyone showered before getting into the pool which doesn't happen at many hotels. The only downside to this hotel is that the main dinning room which was 24/7 was in the centre of the hotel and had no ceiling, the rooms were round the outside of the hotel and the noise of the crockery in the restaurant could be heard night and day. Everything else about the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaminLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    427
    91
    18
    13
See reviews for
410
289
84
485
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolhapur, India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

When I booked it, I expected a lower end of the Taj brand, as was my experience in Poona.
Was I wrong!
The exterior is hardly special, but the moment you step in, it's a world of difference. The reception lobby is cool, courteous, everything Taj is known for.
I booked two rooms, among which one seemed bigger, while the other had a see-through bathroom. Both seemed pretty spacious, but the second one had a cramped closet. They were both luxurious and comfortable.
Both the rooms had a Sony 32" LCD, with a DVD 5.1 Home Theatre system, which was awesome. Sadly, all the channels were in SD and the home theatre only worked with the DVD player.
The icing on the cake was when we ordered a movie from the Taj library, they sent in small bowl of popcorn and Pepsi, free. Taj, special points for this.
The pool has great placing. It's quiet, calm and offers great views on all sides. It also has a jacuzzi on one side.
The pool attendant offered us an eye-relaxation therapy, along with a fruit platter. it was amazing and very relaxing.
The breakfast and lunch were all good. The food wasn't great, but the service and attempts to improve it more than made up for it. Super attentiveness and response made it memorable.
The spa is where the whole dream ended bitterly. The massage was very average, while the pedicure took place on a broken chair, with a clueless pedicurist, who needed to be told if she had done her basic job.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with the view of trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BPiyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

awesome hotel, awesome ammunities,only breakfast was bit disappointing,value for money.very good staffs.
great location,too good gym,steam,sauna,roof top swimming pool is the very good especially in the night it look out of world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank him176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A very well designed property bang in the centre of town !! Yet , located in a part which is adequately away from the crowd . A short walk to the riverfront . Venture on foot around the hotel and you will see some beautiful old homes - they are rare to see in Panjim now . Dona Paula , and Miramar are a short drive away - in case you are missing the beach . The hotel itself is laid out beautifully like a resort in itself . The rooftop pool setting is extremely charming too . Though the Hotel offers great dining , you can also try many fine dining options around - all within a 5 - 10 minute drive .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmani6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Best part this hotel offers is peace for a business traveller, staying at resort - close to sea can take the focus away from work...


but this particular property just keeps it to the point and a business traveller is also happy as entire panaji market is just few steps away....

Got an amazing bakery and food which lives unto Taj Repute

Room Tip: Take Rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitnet_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As always, we had excellent service from the staff at Taj. We were upgraded to a Suite (Presidential Nirvana Suite) from our booked class of rooms on arrival! I later found out that the suite we had, was the highest / best one in the hotel!

The room was large, as would be expected from a suite, and made you forget you're in a predominantly business hotel.

The sitting area was comfy with sofas, chairs and an LCD screen. There was even a comfortable small-ish bed right near the window. There was a toilet there as well as another in the bedroom.

The bedroom was spacious with 2 LCD TVs, a large king size bed and the usual amenities, but including a coffee maker! There were also great options for pillows to choose from.

Complimentary knick-knacks were kept in the suite for us, including cashews, nuts, fruits and a bottle of domestic White Wine.

A balcony to sit out in was the perfect place to relax and have a drink after coming back from the open air pool on the rooftop. The pool is relatively small, but for the few hours we were there, luckily it was empty most of the time so we didn't have a problem!

The location of the hotel itself is not really close to any of the major beaches in Goa, but it's close to where you can board the ferries to go to the Casinos. It's also close to the local market.

Room Tip: Try getting a sea-facing room instead of a room facing one of the bylanes.

Room Tip: Try getting a sea-facing room instead of a room facing one of the bylanes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JediKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Vivanta Taj in Panjim is a beautiful hotel. The city is easily accessible and the hotel has its own cabs and private cabs are just outside the gate.

The staff are courteous and go out of their way to make one feel welcomed and at home (esp when you're staying there for a few days!).

The food & beverage department provided delicious meals and wonderful food (a couple of restaurants to dine in). The catering staff worked hard and were well mannered.

The housekeeping staff made sure one’s room was cleaned and groomed properly.

Staff sincerely care for your well-being (and must not be mistaken as being inquisitive).

This was our second time there (8-days per stay) - and would happily stay there again.

P/s Having free wifi would be nice (but TAJ head office hasn't organised this arrangement). You current pay for this item. Hopefully it will be part of the services, next time we visit any TAJ hotel.

Bonus: Everything within the hotel is 'near' and eliminates the need to walk far distances :)

Room Tip: Not Applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RFMinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
0.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,248 reviews
18.6 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
23.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
3.8 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 66 in Candolim
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Panaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Panaji

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Address: Off D. B. Bandodkar Road, Panjim 403001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Panjim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Panjim
#2 Spa Hotel in Panjim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#2 Family Hotel in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Panaji 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Panaji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Hotel Panaji
Vivanta By Taj - Panaji Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing