We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Panjim Pousada
Ranked #9 of 47 Panjim B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but small room”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Hidden in a couryard, this small hotel is in the most beautiful quartier in Panjim.
The owners say that it is so quiet but you can hear the noise from the others rooms. Our room was really small, we didn't almost have place to move into the room or place to put the luggage but it was really clean, the old furniture was nice and you can rest very wel if you like a firm mattres. The amenities of the toilet was ayurvedic and smelled very good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmarkMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
20
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed at the Pousada from March 6-11 and enjoyed it very much. The room was very quiet and clean on the second floor with air conditioner. The staff very accommodating and cordial. A half-block walk to the Panjim Inn, an excellent breakfast buffet of both western and indian selections(included in price of room if you select) is served. Additionally on the second floor of the Inn they have a great restaurant for lunch and dinner. The three Inns are centrally located and I enjoyed my daily walks in Panaji. I also arranged for airport pick-up and drop-off and liked the driver so much that I ended up using him throughout my stay.

At the People's across the street, they have an incredible art gallery with some great artist represented. Make sure to stop by and visit. The curator Miriam has done a great job of ensuring that local artist are represented and at the same time sets up workshops, lectures and childrens camps for the community and all to attend.

In reading the various critques its quite obvious that variations will exist. My experience was stellar as it was in 2008 and I hope that yours is the same.
Alex

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamibeachalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The three units are located within walking distance of some good shopping and a pleasant walk along the beach. The hotel is well managed with a nice and reasonably priced restaurant. We were disappointed that internet was not available in the room and was quite expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montana0535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Panjim Pausada is best in terms of everything and we can peep in to the homes our forefathers had in past. Very clean. Very well maintained. Excellent location. The S

I had a bitter experience with the taxi arranged by the Panjim Inn management. One particular driver Abhi agreed tor the full day fare of 1500. But after a few kms, started demanding more. We paid the extramoney as we did not want to spoil our trip. I expect the management to take it up with the taxi owner to take care of it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattnaiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My stay at the Panjim Inn was very pleasant and they delivered what they promised. I booked my room 4 months in advance and got prompt replies from the Management. I just had to leave my credit card number. I got a roomy and quiet room at the pousada, which is just a few steps away from the main hotel. The staff was really nice, the neighborhood is quiet and the services the hotel provide live up to the rates paid (Rs 2,140 with breakfast). Panjim is a bustling, busy town, like most Indian cities, but the Portuguese quarter where the hotel is located is a nice break from the madness of the traffic and the noise. Therefore, if you´re visiting Panjim, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN-SP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Beds are not at all comfortable, rooms are small....no phones in the room...so had to walk down to the next building for any "room" service. Its neat and clean...bathrooms are good..but we think we could have found a much better place for the price we paid i.e 3 k a night...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goptan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpediem77, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Panjim Pousada, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Thank you for your review and our apologies for not meeting upto your expectations .
The Panjim Pousada is a 100 year old Goan Hindu home, located in the Latin Quarter of Panjim, Fontainhas . As the house has been readapted and converted into a heritage hostelry each room varies in size and is individual in character .The room sizes are above industry norms and are equipped with modern amenities like airconditioning, cable tv, minifridge, tea-coffee makers and a safe locker.

The beds are antique and individual .Linen and furnishings adhere to industry standards. Before checking in a guest ,we take them to see the rooms available so they can stay in a room that appeals to them.

Being in a crowded part of town and surrounded by a plethora of pests in the interest of hygeine we discourage room service especially as basic requirements are met by the minibar and tea/coffemaker in the room. Efforts are on to have an intercom facility.

At the Panjim Pousada we have tried to recreate the ambience of a genteel Goan Hindu home of yesteryears and do hope the next time you visit us we would have overcome some of the deficiencies you have pointed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Yes, a historic building, yes, lovely art, but the whole place is just too chopped up for me.
You may book the Inn, but your room ends up in the pousada down the street. You almost need a map to find your way to the room. Also didn't like the bait-and-switch tactic.
After showing you your room, which is shabby and has a heavy musty odor, they show you a better room with no smell - of course it's considerably more expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ablask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
0.3 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Caravela Homestay
The Caravela Homestay
#1 of 47 in Panjim
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
0.0 mi away
OLD QUARTER by thehostelcrowd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Panjim Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Panjim Pousada

Property: WelcomHeritage Panjim Pousada
Address: E-212, 31st January Road | Fontainhas, Panjim 403001, India (Formerly Panjim Pousada)
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Panjim Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off a Bye Lane, 50 meters from the Panjim Inn and the Panjim Peoples, the Panjim Pousada is certainly the quieter of the three. After the hustle of the busy street outside, the inside is a relative oasis of tranquility. Dignified serenity and peace coupled with a sense of mystique, romance and nostalgia for better days gone by. The 9 bedrooms which adjunct the "Chowk." These are a mix of old world elegance and modernity. Antique cupboards, rose and teak wood four poster beds and old lamps combine with modern plumbing, fans and air conditioning, satellite TV and electronic safes. Granite and china mosaic flooring in a harmonious blend help kinder this old colonial mansion with an aura of romance and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Panjim Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WelcomHeritage Panjim Pousada Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing