We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bad restaurant”
Review of Salida Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salida Del Sol
Ranked #15 of 47 Panjim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Small but modern rooms. Sugar ants around so keep your sweets sealed.
Nice shower.
Hotel was good about arranging transportation, but transportation was surprisingly expensive compared to Delhi.
Good breakfast, but servers are easily confused (by requests such as plates)
Lunch was terrible - slow service, pushy waiters, spoiled shrimp.
Located in central Panaji, which is not convenient to the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Salida. We went out for small weekend break to Goa and a wonderful break after a stressful month at work. From our entrance till our exit, we did not have a thing to complain about. everything was just wonderful- from the reception to the room and to checkout. The rooms were wonderful, clean, well lit and well maintained. It was a tad small, but was very well done in terms of furnishings and presentation. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was wonderfully done with a separate shower area equipped with a good rain shower. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful.

The only let down of this place was the food. The breakfast is laughable, it takes an hour plus to be served for breakfast with small portions which makes the entire breakfast experience not worthy of the 4 star rating. Also, if you are a vegetarian, I would most certainly not recommend the in house restaurant due to its lack of variety of vegetarian food.

Else, all in all, the experience was wonderful with good and helpful staff, nice rooms and a wonderfully central location in Panaji.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, they are wonderful for an early morning coffee to take in the dawn breaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KairaAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

As my friends were coming to goa to spend weekend with me, I browsed through beach side hotels at first. Neither beach side hotel was a gr8 luxury nor does it was reasonable. February though... Hence I went to fidalgo, panajim as it would be nearer to place I was staying and would feel worth paying as well. As Fidalgo was full, i tried looking at options and found Salida Del Sol. Not only it gave a good deal , Rooms convinced me to go ahead with booking. We spend two nights there and it was worth the experience. Room Cleanliness including washroom, ambience and courteous staff is a real plus point. Only let down point was morning breakfast. So dont look for food which Fidalgo is any way available with 24*7 options..
It would be good option if you are looking for a centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank y2kartik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is hotel is quite well done. Modern, and of a decent standard. Good size bathroom and comfortable beds. Stayed in both room types (possible referred to a Deluxe and Standard). They were both very similar, not worth the extra coin if you are only there for a few days. The cleaning standard was poor.

The service in the hotel was quite good, front desk both night and day were accommodating. The breakfast service was laughable. We were told poached eggs were currently unavailable but could have fried, scrambled or omelette? Service was friendly but unbelievably slow. Up to one hour for a basic egg dish.

The hotel is well located with plenty of good eating options. The attached "English" pub is very lively with great service and an interesting pre paid card system for pouring your own beers.

Overall I recommend this hotel - it would of scored higher but like most hotels in India, it just misses the mark slightly and could be better value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Location is very central to many excellent restaurants (e.g. Ritz Classic), and the hotel's restaurant Niyaaz has excellent food and great service. Didn't have time to try the pub, but went inside briefly and staff were extremely friendly working at the bar. The price for the hotel was decent, although still 2500 rupees in off season. The rooms in Salida were very nice, modern tv (though it didn't work), free wifi (a huge bonus for those of us on business), comfortable beds, AC and fan worked very well, nice rainforest shower. The unfortunate parts of the room were that there were ants everywhere, and the street outside is really noisy, the staff told me only "suite" rooms are at the back of the hotel, so all standard rooms face the street. I had requested a more quiet room weeks in advance, but they did not seem at all willing to budge on even moving me to a higher floor a day later (they put me on the 1st floor). Ear plugs and full blast fan did the trick. The interactions with staff were mixed - some staff members were very efficient (food delivery, bell boys etc), and others were very unhelpful. Recommend staying away from the food in the hotel, even the breakfast, it appears that what they do is just refrigerate their breakfast (e.g. cornflakes, fruitbowls, eggs) and just reheat as appropriate the next morning. The fruit was always brown, the main dishes rubbery, even the cornflakes were soggy and stale, despite having my milk on the side. Room service also was stale food and re-packaged salad. Getting a new cook or at least a better, more fresh way of organising and preparing meals is suggested. Lastly, they mention airport transfer is inclusive of the price (at least their external booking sites do), but turns out this is not the case. I highly suggest the hotel liase with their external booking sites to correct this to not mislead potential visitors. If the management is able to take these small considerations into account, this would be an excellent business boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one on a higher floor as street is noisy below; if possible upgrade to a "suite"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurasuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

cealn hotel, clean rooms, and service was the best and better than 5 stars hotel.

pub was the best in the same hotel

rooms service also very good food

location was excelent everything next to you and in the middle of goa

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaleidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We (three families, of total 7 persons) stayed at Salida del Sol, Panaji for two nights in the last week of January 2012. This was a great experience with just some minor issues that were sorted out later. The hotel is nicely located in downtown Panaji, close to all the markets and cruise jetties, tucked into a less noisy end of the street. We had booked three deluxe rooms, but they could only give us two deluxe rooms for the first day (and one regular room). Also, the Internet did not work till we got them to reset the access points towards evening of the first day.

The rooms are clean and well furnished. But the bathroom was a surprise: it was excellent, and even given the smallish-size, was one of the best I've used in over 20 countries that I've traveled to. The free Internet too was reasonably fast. The restaurant and pub attached to the hotel are both award-winning, best-of-class establishments which require separate reviews. Both are excellent.

Some things that need improvement: the Sunday breakfast was served in a cramped room with only 3 tables, which meant some of us had to stand for sometime waiting for tables to clear, and others had to take their breakfast downstairs to their room. The Monday breakfast, which was served in the room, was kind of minimal and spartan. The in-house restaurant (not the 'attached' restaurant) was tiny. Also, the hotel didn't really want to be responsible for arranging the travel (they preferred to hand over the contractor's number to us).

The staff were courteous and patient (even when I lost my temper about the Internet not working). Also, they didn't charge for the seventh person (a 13-year old boy).

Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel before you go so that there are no suprises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SierraBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Delmon
Grande Delmon
#5 of 48 in Panjim
107 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Fern Residency Miramar Goa
0.6 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#7 of 48 in Panjim
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mandovi
Hotel Mandovi
#16 of 48 in Panjim
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Varanda do Mar
Varanda do Mar
#4 of 48 in Panjim
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salida Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salida Del Sol

Address: Menezes Braganza Road, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Panjim
Price Range: £54 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salida Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Panaji City, Hotel “Salida Del Sol” meaning “The Rising Sun” is a business boutique hotel catering to corporate guests as well as tourists. We have three category of rooms namely the standard, deluxe and suites. The boutique hotel also houses Café Mojo, a Pub and Bistro. Be it for conducting business, executing emails, sleeping for six straight hours or for the pleasure of living lavishly on a trip away from work – we can cater to all your needs and requirements. All we need is an opportunity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salida Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salida Del Sol Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing