We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Soulful" food from "Pan Asian Bowl"”
Review of Pan Asian Bowl - CLOSED

Pan Asian Bowl
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian, Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Calangute, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Soulful" food from "Pan Asian Bowl"”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I visited the Pan Asian Bowl for Lunch recently for a family lunch along with my family. The interior decor is just awesome with the restaurant nicely laid out in two levels,with cozy seating arrangements, and finest cutleries and glasswares on the table. We ordered for a starter, then main course - noodles and rice and side dish..... All were superb in taste and upto the mark .... Only one point .... the Thai side dish that we ordered for, tasted more like Chinese ... which was also sumptuous in it's own kind ..... We enjoyed the food very much .... and would soon return to this restaurant for our second try .... Cheers all @ Pan Asian Bowl .... Keep up the good work .....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SubhankarM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRBHospitality, Public Relations Manager at Pan Asian Bowl, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Krazzysubha!
The Team at Pan Asian Bowl thanks you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. The team is very pleased to hear you enjoyed your family lunch at Pan Asian Bowl. We take note of your comments and assure you that the necessary changes will be made in the cuisine. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal at Pan Asian Bowl and do look forward to having you visit us again. Until then we wish you a wonderful summer! Best Regards, The Pan Asian Bowl Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Good food and service in a spotlessly clean restaurant outside Panjim. The menu is extensive and provides many options.
Was expensive by Goan standards.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRBHospitality, Public Relations Manager at Pan Asian Bowl, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Anne P,

The Team at Pan Asian Bowl thanks you for your recent visit to dine in and are pleased that you had an agreeable experience.

We are constantly striving to offer our guests the best dining experience and your insights will help us to continue to do so.

With warm regards; The Pan Asian Bowl Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Good Idea, Does Not Really Work”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I tried this restaurant whilst on holiday in Goa. The idea is good but it just did not work for me.

The restaurant is upstairs and at first it looks quite airy, however there are one or two pillars that if you were sat behind one your view of what was going on was blocked. The idea of the "bowl" is that you get a bowl of Wanton soup, either chicken or vegetable and then you are given a clean bowl and you go to another part of the restaurant and pick the raw ingredients that you fancy and give them to the chef and he will stir fry them with a sauce of your choice in front of you.

You can choose from a vegetarian meal or a meat meal the former is the cheaper option. The reason that it did not work for me is as follows. All of the ingredients, namely, beef, lamb, pork, chicken, three types of noodle and various types of vegetables were in deep stainless steel containers and pepole that wanted say pork would use the tongs provided to select there pork but sometimes as it was being put on the plate bits fell off into the chicken or lamb etc. This looked totally unappetising and basically looked as if ingredients had been thrown together, not very appealing to the eye.

In all fairness, there was a separate "normal" chinese menu but the bowl was supposed to be the wow factor. I also found the price of drinks quite expensive. The only redeeming feature of the bowl was that if you wanted to you could replenish your food several times if required.

I personally thought that Mainland China had a better quality of food, service and it looked cleaner.

I sugges you give it a try and come to your own conclusions; not for me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRBHospitality, Public Relations Manager at Pan Asian Bowl, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear budeSheffield,

Thank you for your recent visit to Pan Asian Bowl. Your review on Trip Advisor is important to us and we take note of your insights.

We are constantly striving to offer our guests an impeccable dining experience and we do hope that you will choose to dine with us on your next visit to Goa.

With warm regards from The Pan Asian Bowl Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

After hearing good reviews we thought we'd try this place out...BIG mistake.. Ergo to our starters then 40 minutes later we were still waiting for us mains, we asked the waiter and he said they'd forgotten about our order, we didn't even get an apology so we paid for our starters and walked out and ended up going to uncles kitchen to eat which is down the road from there..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Family1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRBHospitality, Public Relations Manager at Pan Asian Bowl, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Family1232,

We thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It is with deep regret that we read of your experience recently at Pan Asian Bowl.
We are constantly striving to offer our guests the best of dining experiences and your review has helped us with addressing the short fall. We do look forward to serving you on your next visit and do assure you of the best service. It would be our pleasure to have you dine in with us. Best Regards, from The Team at Pan Asian Bowl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ate Here Often”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed in Goa 11 months. My last 3 months I discovered the Pan Asian Bowl restaurant and ate lunch here almost daily---it's that good! We even ordered takeaway to bring back to the Marriott. From the exterior you would think it was a hole in the wall---but the inside has charm and ambiance. The staff speaks English well and the menu is authentic and awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank paintergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRBHospitality, Public Relations Manager at Pan Asian Bowl, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear paintergurl,

The Team at Pan Asian Bowl thanks you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are indeed pleased that while you were on such a long stint in Goa, you discovered Pan Asian Bowl; and enjoyed the experience that you choose to eat in on a regular basis. Our menu aims to offer the foodie in everyone something to savour each time with the variety, flavours and options. With warm regards from The Pan Asian Bowl team until your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pan Asian Bowl also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing