We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Place must visit””
Review of The Upper House - CLOSED

The Upper House
Cuisines: Indian, Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Upper House, situated in the heart of Goa’s capital city of Panjim, serves typical Goan food created with large dollops of Goan hospitality. Each dish is carefully prepared so that when you bite into your order you will be tasting the juicy crispness that only a freshly-prepared dish can provide. The restaurant has three halls. As you enter you are greeted with the more casual ambience of a cafeteria. Take a table right here if you will and if you are next to the window you can look down on the stream of traffic or the beautifully tended plants of Jardim Garcia D’Orta. Step further into the second hall and you will be met with a pub, designed such that you get the feeling of being seated in the original British one. For those who want to dine in style using silver cutlery and in a lavish atmosphere, the last hall beckons. Using silverware to cut through your dish and spoon the tasty morsels of Goan food that come hot from the kitchen into your mouths and let the food work its magic.
Reviewed 24 May 2014

lovely ambiance ,food and service.fish curry was awesome. fish curry & rice qty are sufficient for 2. king fish rawa fry was perfectly fried.. crisp from out side and juicy from inside.. must try place in panjim.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sonia9277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chagasPanjim, Owner at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We highly appreciate ur review on the upper house and we look forward for ur re visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

This restaurant is located in a very central area of Panjim, close to the church of our lady of the immaculate conception, called the Municipal Gardens or Church Square. The restaurant has an old world ambience and is a popular place with locals as well as tourists. The food is delicious, and the portions are large. We tried quite a few items on the menu, which included the pork vindaloo, baked fish, and the pork sorpotel but out of all these, the pork sorpotel was the best. It is a preparation of minced pork pieces cooked in a traditional curry, and is served with bread. This place definitely is for the person looking for a taste of authentic goanese food. Also, the staff is polite and the service is prompt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank world_80explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chagasPanjim, Owner at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We highly appreciate ur review on the upper house and we look forward for ur re visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

An excellent restuarant for lunch when shopping in Panjim. Excellent choice of food. Attentive service

Thank Iain492001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chagasPanjim, Owner at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We highly appreciate ur review on the upper house and we look forward for ur re visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

not only the food is nice but you will be welcomed by a very nice designed restaurant! me and my friend has the butter calamari as a starter! prawn curry rice all served with side dishes the waiting was not long and friendly staff!!! must visit id you in the area

Thank JMsooTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chagasPanjim, Owner at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

It's great to know ur dinning experience at the upper, makes us feel fully satisfied on our goal to serve authentic Goan Cusine to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice ambience with very cheerful staff. Quality of food was very good..The sausage pulao n prawn balchao were a hit with our british friends...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SouKool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chagasPanjim, Owner at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank u for ur review on the upper house, ur feedback means a lot to us. Thank u once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Upper House also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing