We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Soft Rock Cafe

Soft Rock Cafe
Ranked #67 of 322 Restaurants in Panjim
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Goa, Goa, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nice home cooked food experience. Very reasonable as compared to the few worth while places in Dona Paula.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nishanth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the outside!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Ate here several times during a recent trip to Goa. Food was superb very well prepared and presented. Lots of authentic Goan food as well as Chinese. Try the pepper chicken and the diced potatoes. Breads were also very good. This is well worth a trip. And very reasonably prided. Popular with locals which is always a good sign. Very near Cidade de Goa and Sandalwood. Enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drimbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oldies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have been going to this hotel since 2001 and have been having consistently average service and quality of food.

I was away from Goa for almost 8 years and am back since past 6 months and I have been a regular at this place since October last year. I also like the simplicity of making the dal and chapati and very often only end up eating that. I have heard the Chinese is good too, but never ventured into ordering that for myself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, excellent meals, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Excellent little cafe/bar. Don't be fooled by its appearance. Great food,excellent choices and very cheap. Well worth a visit. The owner Alice also has a nice little shop next door that sells anything you forgot to take on holiday and also a variety of food and soft drinks.I would recommend shop and restaurant whole heartedly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Honest, well cooked, tasty food - excellent value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Soft Rock Restaurant is at the top of the drive way to the Cidade De Goa Hotel (where we stayed on holiday). Walk to the top of the driveway, you will see it on the other side of the road, about 50 metres, walking up and away from the hotel entrance.

We spotted a review on Trip Advisor and decided to try it for ourselves and were not disappointed - we called by three times to eat in the evening and were delighted by the warm welcome, the really tasty food and the choice of Indian / Oriental meals on the menu. Each time we sat down outside two burners were immediately brought out to the table and placed on the ground, one at each end of the table (to prevent mosquitoes).

Everything is home cooked, there is sometimes a wait, but well worth waiting for - excellent price, excellent taste, well recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soft Rock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Soft Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing