We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Fontainhas

Fontainhas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Private Portuguese Heritage Tour: Se Cathedral, Basilica of Bom Jesus and Dona...
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Private Goa Sightseeing Tour with Lunch at a Spice Plantation
Ranked #11 of 105 things to do in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Walk through the lanes of Fountainhas to enjoy the architectural beauty of the past portuguese colony of Goa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Puru3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    104
    28
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very rich Portugese history!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We walked from the Kadamba Bus Terminal, Panaji to Panjim Church/ Immaculate Conception Church seeing parts of Fonthainas.
The area is very rich in Portugese culture and buildings.
The place Fontainhas lies between the ourem creek and Althino hill. While we walked we walked quite some time along the Ourem creek and I would very much recommend that to anyone.
There is a Patto pedestrian bridge along the creek and the place is very memorable for me. Loved the dark and strange paints and the whole setting.
Would definitely want to travel back to Panaji and see more of Fonthainas soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AravindBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enchanted! Spellbound!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The month was June and the heavens opened up to send a light drizzle, perhaps to add more charm to the beautiful area of Fontainhas in panjim. How had I not been to this place before on my countless visits to Goa I don't know, but of this I am sure that there will never be another trip to Goa before getting willfully lost in the beautiful lanes of Fontainhas.
We stayed at the Panjim Inn which is located in the Fontainhas area and went for many walks around our hotel. The Fontainhas area is basically what Goa under the Portuguese must have looked like - narrow, sleepy, mysterious lanes. Old but majestic villas, brightly painted houses, blue and white tile painted nameplates. Just like a dream! Its nice to see that the locals have preserved this piece of history.
Wear comfortable shoes and walk into the lanes, each one more enchanting than the earlier. You will be spellbound. Many photo ops as you spot beautiful houses, architecture, or peek into the windows to catch a goan uncle in his sussegado moment.
Walk up to the Immaculate conception church or the Panjim market from here. Shop for goan keepsakes from the stores selling curios or dine at the many goan portuguese restaurants on 31st january road or Panjim Inn's verandah restaurant.
All in all a one of a kind experience in Goa! Make it a point to visit this place at least once during your Goa trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nayantara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Portuguese Buildings”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The area gives a feel of beautiful Portuguese historical buildings. It is lined with greenery and flowers and good for shopping as well. The Panjim Church is also located here. Must visit on anyones list.....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank R-Singh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,188 reviews
545 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Quaint area”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Fontainhas, some call it Mala is on the eastern side of main Panjim. The area is like a quaint old town with pleasant walks. The Ourem creek flows by the area.
I walked around the area a couple of times on my trip and had lunch at a Portuguese style restaurant called Horse Shoe one afternoon.
The area has some nice guest houses and restaurants.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank percyvakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fontainhas also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Been to Fontainhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing