We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - Serent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shantadurga Temple

Shantadurga Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Private Goa Sightseeing Tour with Lunch at a Spice Plantation
Ranked #7 of 102 things to do in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place - Serent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I liked it as there was no one in the temple except us - serene. A little away from the city hullabaloo. Spoke with the watchman - he was very helpful and courteous.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank atulseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    120
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1,442 reviews
1,102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Very Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful temple in a lovely spot. Took a few pictures, but did not go in as a large group of worshipers had just arrived and I didn't want to be in their way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Important temple in Goa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Shantadurga Temple is the abode of Devi Durga in a very relaxed and sitting posture - hope we could not find such a deity of Durga across (not to my knowledge). The temple is in serene surrounding and very well maintained. Must visit place especially if you are a Hindu. Stay is also available for devotees who want.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ashokaarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A holy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

It is a beautiful temple with a divine and calm atmosphere. a lovely place to visit.a very well maintained temple

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mummoorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Cleaniness is next to godliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Serenity, sublimation, spectacular,spiritual, sacred, splendid....... I can continue writing alliteratively and still not describe the temple fully. It is what religion is all about. One of the best maintained and beautiful temples I have visited anywhere in India. There is a lot of interesting history attached to the temple.

In fact I stayed in one of the rooms for three days. The rooms that form a quadrangle around the temple. Even the room was a epitome of neatness. I shall never forget the early morning perambulations of the temple which I undertook in the light rain.

There was a small restaurant in the basement which served piping hot idlis and upma right from 6 a.m.

This is a must visit for every one visiting Goa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anildhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shantadurga Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing