We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality from the heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Ranked #2 of 47 Panjim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hospitality from the heart”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Everything about our stay in this place was amazing. The house is beautifully restored, well located in Fountainhas, and the rooms are cool, spacious and beautifully furnished. Even the neighbours are delightful, greeting visitors wandering past their homes in the tiny lanes surrounding the house. For a glimpse of traditional life, try the tiny family-owned bakery near the house, which still has its original oven and turns out delectable treats.

The owner, Roy, extends outstanding hospitality. He knows each guest by name, and goes out of his way to ensure that everyone is happy. Apart from pointing us in the direction of good restaurants and local attractions, he picked up on our special interests and suggested places and events to align with these. This included personally taking us to some of these places, a gesture that was very much appreciated. Roy puts his heart into ensuring his guests enjoy his house and their stay.

Breakfasts in the pleasant garden courtyard were leisurely and enjoyable starts to the day. Roy made sure that there was something different each day, and we particularly enjoyed the bebinca prepared by one of Roy's neighbours.

A highly recommended option for people who like authenticity in their holiday accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zitkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
98
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The structure was great, an heritage house from the Portuguese time; the location was very central and convenient for visiting the city by foot. The owner Roy is a very friendly person who helped us very much in our first days in India: such a good time! We would suggest it for everyone who is interested in visiting the city, more than the crowded beaches.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Located in the Panaji Conservation area of Fountainhas, just around the corner to the popular Viva Panjim, Hospedaria is a boutique colonial home which perfectly combines character and comfort. We got the corner room on the upper floor, and it was very spacious with plenty of windows. Bathroom was very clean with charming vanity counter. Breakfast was simple but plentiful. Hospedaria will be our choice the next time we visit Panjim.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_n0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The place advertises itself truthfully. It's wonderfully charming, is boutique,with a/c rooms of style and centrally located to transport, eateries, etc so that the physical is well taken care of and the spiritual is also on offer in that there are so many churches around. I might add that it's on a section of Rua de Natal that is the cleanest in Panjim, locals take pride in their street. Service was outstanding and the owner, Roy, is the man! Nothing was too difficult and on my departure he presented me with a book on Goan cooking. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Go upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 296Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Highlights of this place:
* Antique property with a lot of history that's also very well maintained
* Excellent hospitality - Kudos to Roy and his team!
* You can also get a lot of tips to get around and places to visit from Roy.
* Good breakfast
* Great location - right in the middle of the Portugese quarter.

The price is slightly on the higher side, but since all the rates are clearly mentioned on their website, that shouldn't be a surprise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adarsh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed three nights, and had the two rooms on the ground level. Roy was very prompt with responding right from the first email I sent him. The home is (heritage)old with character in Fontainhas, Panjim. Our rooms had high beam ceilings, and those old colonial type furnishings, whitewashed clean well insulated walls- but with the modern amenities (TV, working AC, hot water). They were tastefully decorated, and clean. The beds were comfortable, and we got great sleep (quiet) all of the nights we were there- which is not always the case in India! The breakfast was varied everyday, with a mix of Indian stuff, different bread, omelets to order, coffee/tea, and goan delicacies. My mother-in-law loved the great smelling toiletries provided, and wanted to inquire where she could buy them. Roy & Sharyn are very hospitable, with providing suggestions of places to see, and restaurants, bakeries and such. Roy was helpful in arranging for our local transportation, and a ride to the airport at a reasonable rate. When we did not use the car, we walked to dinner/lunch, shopping etc. There is a corner store closely for snacks/drinks etc. Thanks Roy and Sharyn for a wonderful, special stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel/guest house is an amazing find in Panaji. What makes it so.... as other reviewers have mentioned the house is beautiful, well situated off the main streets, clean and extremely welcoming but the topping to this particular cake are the hosts. Roy and Sharon are some of the nicest people I have ever met. Nothing is too much trouble, they are always around making sure you have everything you could possibly need. Their recommendations for eating were 1st class and they even extend their help to running their guests around to various attractions. The breakfasts are varied and delicious. The above praise is just not high enough for this wonderful establishment. Well done to Roy and Sharon, see you soon.

Room Tip: We had a front facing room with a balcony enabling our 20 month old grand-daughter to explore safely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Friends28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
0.2 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
0.3 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#9 of 48 in Panjim
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho

Property: Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Address: Rua de Natal | Fontainhas, Panjim 403001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho is a heritage business boutique property in the heart of Goa's only latin quarter.This is a 150 year old property complete with old-world charm of Goa and yet with all the modern day comforts that has been lovingly restored and converted into a heritage business B&B.It is an 8 room ground plus one Portuguese era house with its own cosy 1000 sqft. garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaria Abrigo De Botelho Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing