We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night and truly enjoyed everything about it. Lovely hotel with lots of character and ambiance. Very bright, clean and comfortable rooms. Good location, walking distance to the bus station which takes you to old Goa. Very friendly helpful staff that made us feel welcome.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lheath27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

On reading the reviews here, we decided to try out Panjim Inn for food. We were staying in Baga, but I must add that the drive from Baga to Panjim Inn was worth it!
The food was good, to say the least. However, what stuck us first was the overall get-up of the place - heritage looks + aristocracy + neat and clean to the maximum. The waiter was courteous, and contrary to many other eateries of Goa, was patient. Service was good as well. We ordered Sambarachi, and the quantity was such that both me and my wife was full on eating just this! I also rate this very high on the value-for-money parameter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xplorer_DrChewIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Panjim Inn for two nights this week and I have to say that this was a Goa experience like never before! The property is cosy and steeped in history and culture!
My first experience with Panjim Inn was over the phone when I called them from Mumbai to ask about the rooms and other facilities. The gentleman who answered my call was so courteous and forthcoming with information that I was convinced that we had to stay here! From then on we were just counting our days to reach Goa.
When we arrived, the reception staff knew our names which showed that they too were expecting us. We were overjoyed when they upgraded our room to the deluxe category. Our room was spectacular! A spacious room with an elaborately carved bed and period furniture in the form of the dresser, cupboard and easy chairs simply took our breath away. Try and stay in this room, it was truly a relaxing and enchanting experience for us.
We also had an evening snack in their verandah restaurant. The menu is an eclectic mix of local goan and continental food. Do try their goan sausage chilly served with goan bread. The view from the restaurant is lovely - surrounded by period furniture and curios from a bygone era, overlooking the People's hotel belonging to the same hotel chain. The People's inn also houses the gitanjali art cafe which displays art works by local artisans and sells coffee table book collections by artists like Mario Miranda.
Our package included breakfast which was served at their cafe on the ground floor. We were happy with the spread of eggs to order, pancakes, cereals and fresh fruits, tea and coffee. Indian breakfast options like poha, puri bhaji & parathas are also available.
We went for countless walks around the hotel - the fontainhas area of panajim. The beautiful and colourful Portuguese and Hindu houses & villas make you feel you have been transported to a different time and place. Our camera is filled with images of these which we are sure we will convert to beautiful frames to adorn our house.
Also situated at the ground floor outside the hotel is the Velha Goa galleria where you can shop for ceramics, Mario Miranda's art prints and hand painted stone ware and tiles. Prices are a little steep though.
A big thank you to all the staff and members of Panjim Inn. All of them were always smiling and courteous. They made our stay truly memorable! So enchanted are we with our stay at Panjim Inn that we are already making plans to come back again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nayantara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After reading good reviews and in search of a decent meal, since all cabbies direct you to Dhaba style Punjabi joints, decided to have an early dinner there on Sunday 15th June 2014. Needless to say it was a unique and truly Goan experience. The property is beautifully maintained, full of Old Goa antiques and history. The staff is very polite and showed us around the place.
The food was authentic Goan & Portuguese dishes at decent prices and portions were very generous! Eating in the dinning area of the Verandah one was transformed into the Goan era with a lovely view of the Latin Quaters. Affordable and well made food..........
since Chocolatti & Lela's Cafe were closed for the season this is a must visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river would give a good view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R-Singh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

great location, classic old furniture, pretty restored property in a nice part of Panjim. enjoyed walking around the area. if you like walking ( 1-2 kms) - you will love this place. Free wifi is a plus

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank paharino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackSukhija, Owner at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn is a 150 yrs old heritage home replete with period furniture. We are glad that you enjoyed the old World ambience of our Heritage hotel in Goa.

We are located in Fontainhas, which is popularly known as be Asia's only Latin Quarter. Fontainhas has a Iberian ambience with its quaint architecture , winding streets and bye-alleys, and buildings that are painted in brighty colors. The area is in some ways a throwback to the Goa of over a 100 years back..

Being a Heritage Hotel in Goa we've maintained the old world character of the buildingl & also provided for mordern amenities.Free Wifi (an approximate speed of 2 mbps) is one of the services provided free to our in-house guests.

We look forward to be of service to you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was my first trip to GOA, I landed Goa with lots of excitement. I truely enjoyed Goa fully and the stay at a Welcom Heritage hotel like Panjim Inn has doubled the enjoymen of our trip both me and my wife. staying at a heritage goa ambience is truely a unique experience. Infact this is the first holiday trip of ours after marriage, hotel is so well managed and found the people and services are too good and believe only few hotels in Goa can only offer this level of quality stay to one. More over the hotel is so well connected that everything is so closer to the hotel- right from Evening river cruise point, two wheeler/ motor cycle hire agencies, market, bus stand, taxi stand all are within a distance of just few minutes walking. Here I must complement the food quality of this hotel is just awesome. Quality stay and Superb food....Thanks Panjim Inn. we loved this hotel and would prefer this hotel only if we happen to visit GOA again in future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhashkar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackSukhija, Owner at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mr. Bhaskar
Thank you for taking the time out to review your authenthic Goan experience at our heritage hotel in Goa,The Welcomheritage Panjim Inn.

The WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn is a over 100 year old private home built in 1877 which is converted into Goa's first and only classified Heritage Hotel. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed the old world charm of our Heritage Hotel in Goa.
We are centrally located in Fontainhas, Asia's only Latin Quarter and it is convenient to explore North and South Goa from here.

The Verandah Restaurant at the Panjim Inn serves largely Goan food and our specialties are the Caldo Verde soup, Pork sorpotel,Sambarachi kodi,Veg caldeen and the dessert Serradurra.We are happy to know that you enjoyed the food.
We look forward to have you stay with us on your next visit to Goa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is very near to the main market. Free WiFi, great breakfast. Wonderful mid range hotel. Very helpful staff. Happy stay assured with historical ambiance. Room was clean and tidy. Staff was courteous and responsive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akshay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackSukhija, Owner at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Mr Akshay,

Thank you for taking the time out to reviews.We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the ambience our Heritage Hotel in Goa and found the breakfast to be of good value.Our Verandah restaurant serves mainly authentic Goan cuisine.We look forward to be of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.0 mi away
Afonso Guest House
Afonso Guest House
#3 of 48 in Panjim
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#10 of 48 in Panjim
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
1.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 48 in Panjim
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn

Address: E - 212 31'st January Road, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Panjim
#4 Business Hotel in Panjim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: £44 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa's first Heritage hotel in a 130 year old family home owned and managed by the same family for over 5 generations.Located In Asia's only Latin quarter of Fontainhas with its windling alleys and quain byelanes.Each room is full of character with period furniture including four poster beds,carved almirahs and contemporary art.To experience the charm and nostalgia of a era long gone in a gracious Heritage mansion, come stay with us at the Panjim Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panjim Hotel Panaji
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing