We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indigenous culture of Goa”
Review of Goa State Museum

Goa State Museum
Ranked #33 of 105 things to do in Panjim
Attraction details
Guwahati, India
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
328 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Indigenous culture of Goa”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Most visitors to Goa are unaware of this remarkable State Museum. After visiting ASI Museum at Old Goa, tourists tend to skip the remaining bit of Goa's history.

Apart from the colonial Portuguese remains, the State Museum also displays various artifacts of indigenous culture of Goa before the arrival of the Portuguese. There's also an interesting section dedicated to the freedom struggle of Goa. A visit to this magnificent museum is recommended to the tourists who wish to know more about Goa beyond just beaches and churches!

Tourists are unaware about its location and this place often doesn't feature in most travelers' itineraries! It is located behind the Kadamba bus depot and beside the State Library.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bornav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Remarkable Museum”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I rate this museum as one of the better organised smaller holdings with some fascinating exhibits, with an eclectic range of collections from early historic sculpture to the Goan freedom struggle and from Christian religious art to contemporary art.
The Museum has also acquired several private collections including a personal collection of antiquities of an ex-Governor of the State.
On the ground floor are two exquisitely carved gajalakshmi panels which are easily the most ornate in any museum collection in India.
There are locker facilities near the reception.
The museum has a lot of interest even for children. I was gladdened to see a teacher take her flock of students through the galleries.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank raydebdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“An Accidental Paradise”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I love visiting Museums some how and i never knew Goa had one and We stumbled upon this place by accident, but were really glad we went there. It has a very good collection and record of a lot of very important historical artifacts of Goa. Entry is free, and you can finish the entire museum in about 2hrs

lovely experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vibha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stumbled upon this place by accident, but were really glad we went there. It has a very good collection and record of a lot of very important historical artifacts of Goa.
Entry is free, and you can finish the entire museum in about 2hrs.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adarsh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goa State Museum also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Been to Goa State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing