We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chapel of Our Lady of the Mount

Ranked #24 of 102 things to do in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Although the church was not open when we visited, the view of the surrounding area was pretty amazing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ycart11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Was closed without any notice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

It looks really nice...from outside. It was crazy hot but we climbed to visit it... In spite of working hours due to the guide it was closed and and there was no note about opening times.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Valeria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A view impeccable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Winding up the road to the Capela du Monte is a beautiful ride or drive or for that matter a trudge up the hill to the steps which bode you to put that extra bit of energy to get up the steps to the chapel
Once up there the sight is breath taking
One can see the Mandovi river snaking into Panjim from the sleepy island villages of Divar, Sant Estevam Chorao and on the mainland , Old Goa and Ribandar
From atop , one can see the Church of St Cajetans, the Se Cathedral the two churches in Divar and Mallar in the islands ,the Bom Jesus Cathedral that houses the body of St Francis Xavier and the ruins of the St Augustine Tower and the St Monica Convent
The chapel itself is a beautiful and petite chapel atop the hill
Services used to be conducted earlier but not any more and it has been restored by the the Fundacao Oriente and a western classical festival along with Folk dances are held every year atop the hill
A very beautiful must not miss trip upto the chapel
Goa at its very best !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank piscean24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
383 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“An amazing view on Old Goa Churches complex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Go there at sunset and bring a bottle of wine. It's paradise. Plus the Chapel holds a Music Festival every year in late Jan early Feb

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Ok, let me say outright, that when I visited the church, I wasn't allowed inside because of the restoration being done. So all I got to see was the outside and the view. But what a view. Standing at the entrance of the church you get a beautiful panorama of the surrounding countryside (yes, no urban sprawl visible for miles) and the river for as far as your eye can see. Standing there, you can just imagine what the area looked like when the church was first constructed all those years ago. It is off the well worn tourist trail and therefore very quiet. Well worth the treck!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KNoronha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chapel of Our Lady of the Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing