We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Your home - you didn't know existed until you got...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Panjim, North Goa District, Goa

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sandy1441
India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Your home - you didn't know existed until you got there!”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Imagine walking into your space after being away for a while - you get dropped off outside your home in the thick of traffic; you pick your keys from the box and open the garage door. Walk in, shut the door behind you and there... nothing... not a sound from the traffic outside. You walk through the entrance hall into the living area, put your bags down at the foot of the wooden stairs and make way to the kitchen, open the fridge take out a beer and walk over to the viewing deck. Throw open the windows and put your feet up on one of the high chairs. A few minutes later... nothing exists except the sound of soft ripples in the river, the sunset, the distant view of the islands and the lights on the yacht and an occasional ferry passing by. A while after you get up to pick another beer and a snack from the counter and head downstairs with your bags - to unpack and freshen up while others in your family head upstairs. You reach your room turn the lights on, put your bags down, draw the curtains aside, throw open the French windows and sigh! Draw a breath of fresh air, step onto the paved patio right on the river’s edge and there goes your unpacking. Instead you take the chair right next to the window and head straight to edge, setting it down and taking a sip of your drink never once taking your eyes of the river's expanse in the evening hue, dotted with the outline of Chorao and Divar Islands. While you are lost in the moment, upstairs the same is happening with the other members of your family instead of the patio they are sitting on the wooden deck.

Night has fallen you can see no more only feel the wind and hear the sound of the water lapping against the dockside. You realize how famished you are and so may the rest of them. You get in, take a shower and go upstairs. Call out the rest of your family, and while waiting, head into pantry pick up some noodles, drinks and whatever else you may need. Take the bread and eggs out of the fridge that someone had thoughtfully stocked to get you started anytime of the day and get down to making some quick fix dinner for all. And that's day one back at home.

I say ‘at home' because that's exactly how you feel at Cashina Raibandar. No one needs to tell you or make you feel at home. You feel that the moment you step in through those garage doors. And for the time that you are staying there – it’s yours. Captain Lobo has ensured that when he set up this place and in the way he runs it.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snehadhin...
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Takes you back to the old world charm..”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at the chalet for 2 nights..it is a lovely house made of polished wood and takes you back to days long gone by where people would just sit by the river and hear it gently gushing by.. you wake up to this amazing view of the river mandovi and it is blissful and serene..it is a perfect setting for a group of 6 people or more. Capt. Leo is a wonderful host. If travelling qith fussy eaters i suggest you carry some food along..otherwise almost everything has been provided for you in the house.. it was a lovely stay!! :)

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amlan386
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“STUNNING BEAUTY !!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 10 and CASINHA RAIBANDAR blew our minds off. What a stunning piece of beauty on the river.

This house can be anyone's dream house :D

I am not going to describe the amenities and location and anything about the property bcoz its better for you to go and find out and I will strongly say this
"PLEASE GUYS JUST GO AND STAY HERE IF U EVER GO TO GOA"

Lastly, A very special thanks to the owner of this place Captain Leo sir . Whenever I think of coming to GOA, your place will be my tick-box no.1 and a very big thanks to Irene and Serenappa too for keeping the house so clean everyday (Apologize for making it messy around the kitchen area :D)

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Hahahahaha. This question is a joke for this kind of place.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advocatus...
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enachanting”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This Chalet owned by Capt Lobo is outfitted to an international specification & if transplanted in any corner of the world, would sit there with equal poise and comfort as it does on the Mandovi riverfront in Goa.

I'm in complete concurrence with the reviewers here that Capt Lobo can only be congratulated for making available such a warm cocoon to groups of families and friends who desire to be supplanted there and live a dream in what becomes one's own comfortable second home at Goa for a (sadly) limited period.

The lease tariff charged by Capt Lobo is an ode to his generosity in hosting people withot being driven solely by avarice, which is now the hallmark of most properties in and outside of Goa.

Everything is as described. It only exceeds the description and doesn't disappoint. I will certainly be returning there, I recommend this stronly.

Footnote - The residence is modest and unassuming from the outside, don't let that fool you! The road on which it is situated does get noisy but the wonderful breeze from the river, the patio by the river on the lower section drown out most of the ungainly sounds from the outside.

Date of stay: November 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nemshef
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Super Stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The decision to stay at the wooden chalet was the best decision in our goa trip. We were 3 families with 5 kids, 10 people in total but the place is spacious enough.We had read too many good reviews about the place and then booked it. And we are happy that we booked it.We were delighted as we entered the (URL HIDDEN) was really good .
The house has three levels and 4 bedrooms all facing the river.The view is serene and we spent so much time just gazing at it.Even at night the view was amazing with boats passing by.
The kitchen was fully equipped and we enjoyed cooking there.
The idea of convinience store is what i thank the capt for.It was like living in our own house.Almost everything one can think of was present.
And ,seriously his trust on his guest is something which surprises me , in todays world where family members also don't trust each other ,capt did not even come to check what we had consumed from the store!!!!!We had to just calculate the prices and leave the money and go.

He is surely a wonderful person who can trust strangers . This shows his nice attitude towards his guests.He was not in goa during our stay and so we did not get an opportunity to meet him.But his son daniel and his daughter both were in touch with us and very helpful in whatever we wanted.

The maid came to clean up the house daily like housekeeping in a hotel .This is really a cherry on the cake. Even she was well mannered and extremely helpful as she stays just across the road.
We bothered her many a times but she was always there with a smile.
There is so much more i can write of ,and much much is also written in other reviews. But the experience we had cannot be described in words.You need to be there if you go to goa.
I am a critic by nature but i could hardly find anything negative to speak about except that there were ants which clustered around food if even a little food was spilt or left uncovered or not packed in a tightly closed box.But....
The kind of person captain is , i am sure , he would have taken some measures.Its only my suggestion if he can do something about this problem with pest control or something. Though the positives of the house are so many that this small issue should not be a concern .
I am sure that i will surely return to this place when i again come to goa.
I rate it 11 out of 10 ...... (exceeds all the standards a house can offer)

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view , the facilities and the host
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aakash S
Mumbai, India
1 review
“BREATHTAKING”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Captain Leo is a liar.
The chalet is far far better than what it looks in pictures.
It is a very spacious setting.
The river view is very calm and soothing.
Ellison's hospitality was also very sublime.
The in-house department store just adds to the convenience.
All in all, I wish to come to Goa again, just to stay in the chalet again.

Thank you Ellison and Capt. Leo !!

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
It was a pleasure having you as our guest and you treated our house as your own. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Regards
THE LOBOS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.