We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms, Poor Service”
Review of Hotel Solmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solmar
Ranked #15 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Panjim
Srinagar, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Rooms, Poor Service”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I went to Goa with my friends and booked this hotel from a travel agent in Pune. We went there in Taxi also booked via the same travel agent. We paid Rs.2000 for each room and booked two rooms. However when we reached the hotel, we couldn't believe the poor condition it is in. The outside is not painted well, there are mud marks all over. It doesn't feel like a good hotel at all. The condition was same inside too, dust everywhere. However the condition of rooms was pretty good. The cushions were comfortable and so were the beds. I couldn't say the same for bathrooms or the small swimming pool in the backyard. It seemed like they never clean the bathrooms. There were TVs in all rooms, but none of them work. We didn't mind the non-working of TVs, but the food was very poor. Dirty dishes, dirty waiters. We declined the food at an instant and went to the beach to eat. One good thing about the hotel is that it is placed in Panaji, which is good as you are in the Middle of Goa and every beach/site is the same distance. Also, because it is in the city, finding food and other essentials is very easy.
My verdict: Don't stay at this hotel if you are paying more than Rs. 500 per rooms per night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uzair21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We had asked a friend to book us a budget hotel near the beach for a 3-day stay in Goa. He booked Hotel Solmar

The hotel is on a street in Miramar which is hardly 2 mins walking distance from the vast Miramar beach. It is a small hotel but located in a very peaceful lush green area. This is where the good things about the hotel stop.

The hotel staff is not too helpful, the rooms are clean but the bathrooms do not have proper ventilation resulting in your entire room becoming smelly. We had to change our room to move to one which had a slightly better ventilated bathroom. (We wanted to switch hotels but in December its hard to find a place to stay without advance booking)

The hotel has a small pool which is really not required when you are at such a short distance from the beach but nevertheless, it was made accessible only on special request.

The hotel provides buffet breakfast and dinner. Breakfast usually had sambhar/dosa/idly, eggs, toast, butter, jam, juice, coffee/tea - the sambhar/dosa was good. Dinner had a mix of Indian dishes along with non-veg options. Nothing special to write about though.

This is like a low budget hotel but I think there are better options around the same area.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aslinakli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panjim hotels

bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Great service. Great food. Good surrounding.
Very helpful manager and excellent location.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank vipulsahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2010

I visited Solmar with my friends which is just next to seashore. It is real value for money. It has a cool pool to relax, prompt staff, good food, nice rooms, overall an ideal place just next to sea shore.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2010

The location is very good, just 500 metres from Miramar Beach. It is on the main Panaji Road.
The tariff is reasonable with complimentary vegetarian buffet breakfast and dinner. The rooms are reasonably clean with prompt room service. The ambience is relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujit63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We had been to Hotel Solmar for New Year celebration. I would say our expectations were not met. Office staff is not helpful and they don't guide us well. Rooms are OK. Food is not good...Service needs to improve the customers. No friendly gesture.

  • Liked — It was close by for visiting other places
  • Disliked — Service and Food
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_4_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.5 mi away
Varanda do Mar
Varanda do Mar
#7 of 47 in Panjim
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#10 of 47 in Panjim
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mystique Heights Beacon, Panjim
0.1 mi away
Fortune Miramar
Fortune Miramar
#16 of 47 in Panjim
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#34 of 47 in Panjim
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solmar

Property: Hotel Solmar
Address: | Miramar Beach, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Panjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solmar 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Hotel Solmar Goa/Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing