We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, Itchy, Rude, Depressing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaippallil Homestay
Ranked #65 of 180 Munnar B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty, Itchy, Rude, Depressing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

As we arrived from a 7hr bus journey beginning at 4:30 am we were touted by a rickshaw driver who was obviously going to take some of the share of the room. After showing several rooms, one which stank of a garlic, a man who worked their simply flushed the toilet as though that was going to get rid of the stench presumably in the entire plumbing system.

Exhausted and with little time in munnar we reduced the rate of a room with the balcony and reluctantly opted to stay. The entire place felt cold and damp, so much so after a day out we asked for another blanket, which in fairness they provided. When we got back after seeing munnar, we wanted to ask the owner several questions, one about the tv not working, he tried to fob us off with the local area and connection being bad. Infairness it might occassionaly be bad, but we have stayed in the himalayas that actuatly have power cuts and had better signal than they did. If you dont have it, just dont advertise it. Another question about the buses and the extra sheet. On the reception wall it said do not disturb between meditation hours, 7-7:45 or something. We went to ask at 6:20 and the owner was already meditating, we went back after 7:45 again and again until about 8:20 and he was still mediating. Not great for welcoming your guests, what if there was an urgency? We went back sometime later and finally managed to speak to him, who was generally rude, he asked how our day was, but didnt care about the answer, I paid for the room and he demanded I gave him the exact change in a smarmy manner.

The only redeeming item would be the fact its only meters from the centThe sheets were itchy, the walls, most things in the room dirty, we didnt even have a shower as the bathroom was freezing and the window could not be closed. Overall a depressing stay with an owner who cares more about meditating than his custom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juze03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I have to complement the manager, Benoy, for welcoming everyone to join him in his yoga and meditation practice. It was very special that he wanted to share iit with us at no cost. I really enjoyed that aspect of Kaippalli, but the accommodation itself is nothing special.

While the room was relatively clean, I'd recommend bringing your own sheets and towels. The walls were filthy. They could definitely use a fresh coat of paint.

The location is up the hill from the center of town, so it is quite convenient. It was recommended to us by the Tourist Information Center. We had arrived on the bus from Cochi and had a hard time finding a room otherwise. Luckily, this place was just a short walk from where the bus drops you off in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cnj840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Our guidebook described this as the best budget hotel in Munnar itself - based in lush gardens. There are no gardens. There's a fair amount of mud and a few chickens. The owner is friendly enough, and if you are a yoga fanatic, he gives classes every morning. If you aren't interested in yoga, there's very little about this place to recommend it. There was no hot water (which isn't a big issue in this part of the world) but the shower head was broken. The sheets were filthy and torn - possibly not changed from the last visitor - and the blanket smelled like someone had been wearing it to go for a run. All in all, pretty depressing - we've experienced genuinely positive and hospitable stays for the same price. In general, if you are visiting Munnar, don't stay in the town. And don't stay at the Kaippalil Homestay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ea78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munnar hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The only good thing was the balcony. Dirt cheap, but you get what you pay for. Bring your own sheets and towel. They recently opened a newly acquired building down the hill, and one guy is running between the two. We stayed in the lower building. Terrible smell in the room from an unknown source. Sheets and blankets have never been washed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2008

Despite booking with the owner, when we arrived after a 6-hour bus journey, the receptionist told us they had no record of us and at any rate, were full and could not give us a room.

  • Liked — It did look as though it had a pretty garden
  • Disliked — It was a bit of a climb from Munnar centre, and having lost our booking, are clearly unreliable.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emerald Inn
Hotel Emerald Inn
#64 of 95 in Munnar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Retreat
Royal Retreat
#71 of 95 in Munnar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aminas cottage
Aminas cottage
#58 of 95 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Familycare Homestay
Familycare Homestay
#35 of 180 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Noahs Ark Inn
Noahs Ark Inn
#78 of 180 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dew Drops
Dew Drops
#10 of 154 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaippallil Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaippallil Homestay

Property: Kaippallil Homestay
Address: Munnar P.O., Near Roman Catholic Church, Idukki Dist, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Kaippallil Homestay Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing