We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Green way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“The Green way”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Wonderful stay in a serene atmosphere., close to nature.
The resort is artistically designed. As is located away from the town, it is extremely quiet and we truly enjoyed a calm n pleasant vacation. The rooms were very clean and wonderful staff who were courteous. And we enjoyed the food at the resort cooked out of the organic vegetables, few of them farmed at the resort itself.

The best part of this venture is that, it enables the growth of business for the vendors in the neighboring areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenway_munnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    59
    26
    16
    19
See reviews for
102
61
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Ok..time for a useful review for my 3 day stay with family at this resort. I must say that though Munnar was obviously a wrong vacation choice for me at this time of the year owing to the bad roads, unplanned road works, flying dust , chaotic traffic jams and tourist overload the resort made up for most of it owing to it's distance from the town and wonderful location.
____________
The location :
____________
The resort is located 24 kms before Munnar and you need to take a left at a place called Kallar junction when travelling to Munnar on NH49.You need to travel another 9 kms on this road before reaching the resort.There is another beautiful but narrow road starting opposite the Munnar KSRTC bus stand through which you can reach the resort, but it is best to avoid this if night is approaching as it is quite desolate and yes - there are wild elephants on the rampage.
The Positives :
The surroundings are beautiful. You can laze away the day in the surrounding tea estates or take a small 1 km hike to the small but beautiful waterfall nearby. The brook accompanying the water fall can make for a good trek for those so inclined.
The Negatives:
You guessed it - Reaching Munnar itself can take upto an hour depending on the condition of the road and from there you again need to travel a long distance to reach popular tourist destinations like Top Station(35 kms from Munnar) , Madupetty dam/lake etc.This essentially means that if you do not have an early start you are not going to spend much time at these places.
____________

The room :
____________
I had opted for a deluxe room as I had my reservations regarding the tree/mud cottages and requested for an extra bed which was graciously provided.
The Positives :
The room was clean and comfortable with a TV .
The Negatives :
I wish the rooms were bigger. Dont get me wrong here - Our family of four fit in the room snugly but there was hardly any walking space one you put in that extra bed.You had running hot water but it was from a thin trickle from a single tap which took the bucket ages to fill. It would be lovely to have a hot shower but it is something I can live without.

____________
The Food :
____________
One word - homely. I loved the simple hot food served in the restaurant. The breakfast is free and consisted of bread toast, dosas/poories with jam,butter,sambar,chutney,potato curry.
The dinner menu had a choice of curd/steam rice,chappathis, 3 vegetable dishes and 3 chicken dishes.
The positives:
The food could be straight from your home kitchen. It was warm and the price was very reasonable.
The negatives:
The menu could not be termed as lavish and for some simple food at an exotic location might be a turnoff. But again it is a matter of choice.

____________
The Service :
____________

All staff were very friendly. What struck me was that most of the part time staff were students doing professional courses who opted to work here to make some pocket money and I admire that attitude.
The positives:
Very friendly, polite and helpful.
The negatives:
I had a feeling that they were a tad understaffed as some simple requests such as a glass of hot water took ages. But then I am nit-picking here.

____________
Other Tips :
____________

The resort does not accept card payments owing to connectivity issues. So carry required cash and more as there are no ATMs in the vicinity. In fact the only ATMs you will find is at Munnar town and good luck with parking your vehicle in the traffic and trying to get cash only to discover that some ATMs do not accept Master card.
Also make sure you have enough fuel as I could find only one fuel station after Adimali and that is at the beginning of Munnar town.You see a Indian Oil board and a pump on the road(side) literally and if your luck is good, stopping your vehicle their for a refuel should cause a traffic block.

In short, would I recommend this resort - Yes .
Would I visit it again - Maybe.
But I would not visit Munnar at this time of the year when traffic is at its peak and roads at its nadir.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonyMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrissur, India
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Not Happy At All !!!

I agree with most of the other reviews. The location is in a remote area around 25 kms from Munnar. It has spectacular views and the resort is pretty well maintained. The staff are well mannered and attentive.

Food is not so great, not much variety either.

But the cottage I got was horrible

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seetharamankc, Owner at Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
While we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our place, your review actually appreciates the facilities the location and almost everything. It is unfortunate that you did not like the room which was offered and it was also regrettable that we could not offer you our cottages as we were full on that day, we had even informed the agent through whom you had booked about this fact. We regret the inconvenience once again and request you to book yourself in our cottages once again and we assure you the best of our services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I was there with my family in November. It was a memorable trip with family. Spectacular views of tea estate and deep forest from wherever you're in the property.Resort sits atop a hill in midst stunning scenic beauty. If you are looking for peace do visit the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on Ist floor have very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagendra_Duhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I pendown, One of my most memorable trip with family so far. It was such a lovely neighbourhood away from the noise and crowd of the city. Breathtaking views from wherever you're in the property..Overwhelmed with the personlised greeting during Check In by the Hotel Manager, followed by shaking hands with the owner himself, whom apparently was living in the same locality as mine.Cottage rooms are great, Staff & Hospitality was amazing.,and more importatnly the location was perfect for everything we wanted to !! I did read few reviews prior, about not near the city.. and so on !! Thats very True, But, thats what we wanted. You're out in a Jungle .... just enjoying the nature and its different change in moods ! There's nothing nearby... except options of Trekking, landscape, Running streams etc.., If you would like to GET LOST in nature's care ..This is one such place !

Room Tip: Cottage is the best. There are options of accomodating 6-8 people in one Cottage room. They've b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smilesubbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The views from the resort were gorgeous. The property was kept up very with with wonderful landscaping. I think we stayed in the honeymoon room which had a private deck with a spectacular view. It had a double bed and a twin bed and big windows. The bathroom was large, modern and very nice. The bathroom also came complete with one of the largest spiders I have ever seen. We killed the ferocious guy ourselves, when I woke up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom one of the its friends had come to visit, although this one was a little smaller. Food was ok. Overall the stay was fine. However for the price point, it was overpriced in my opinion as well as the food being over priced for the quality. We booked using hotels.com so we likely got the foreigner price, so maybe if we were Indian and had called to book we would get a better price and then the value would have been better. The owner was a very nice guy. The location is a ways out of town so it will be great if you want to just hang out at this resort in the remote location, but not very convenient for ease of exploring around munnar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanceFlossTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you are looking for peace and tranquillity away from the din of the city life then this is the place to visit. The resort is around one hour away from Munnar town and sits atop a hill in midst stunning scenic beauty. You get to see undiluted beauty of nature which is spread out for your eyes to relish. As the resort is situated over a hill, we get a clear view of the scenic beauty from the top. There are waterfalls and tea gardens surrounding the resort. The early morning time should not be missed. Its absolutely serene out there. One piece of advice to all who plan to visit the place (and one must), please carry a good camera with you as the place is an absolute delight for people who love to take photographs. You would not realize how the time flies if you walk around with your camera trying to capture flowers of all variety, a majestic open air pool, well-trimmed gardens, waterfalls, tea estate etc., the list could just go on. The staff there is extremely friendly. Especially mentionable is the delectable food served there. They offer tea of various flavours too so do not miss out on trying out the choicest Munnar specialty tea offered at the resort. There are different places to visit nearby like waterfalls and the tea estate which are all at walkable distance. There is a fish pond for those who would like to try a hand in fishing. A little further are other beautiful places to visit like hanging bridge, gushing rivers and Aanakulam, so named because the place is frequented by wild elephants who come there to drink water and bathe. All these places can be visited in a jeep which will be arranged by the resort staff. After trekking when you return back to the resort you can enjoy the evening with a cheerful bonfire lit up by the staff to warm you up followed by piping hot dinner served in the restaurant which has a very pleasant décor and ambience. Another bit of advice will be to avid book lovers, do take a good book with you if you would like to laze around in the hammocks, read the book and enjoy the sun. We stayed at the bamboo cottage which had huge French windows which opened to a valley below making your heart miss a beat with the thrill of seeing the beauty of dense forest in front of you.

A special mention has to be made about the staff, manager Mr. Anil who puts you at ease with his friendly demeanour, the unassuming but talented cook who is lovingly called "Master" by one and all, the restaurant staff and others for serving all with a smile. We also had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Jaison Luiz, who is MD of the resort, during our stay there. He had innumerable mesmerizing stories to tell about the place and the history of the resort.

We stayed there for three days which seemed to just fly by and when it was time to leave, we all had already promised ourselves to return here again. We actually left with a heavy heart, carrying a lot of lovely memories of our stay at the resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadhaIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.1 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#20 of 97 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
13.7 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
3.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort

Property: Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Address: Viripara | Near Letchmi Tea Estate, Munnar 685611, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Munnar
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Mountains,Tea Gardens and a Waterfall it is a great setting of Nature with all its bounties.A perfect hideout for people who want to relax in a peaceful environment without any disturbance, enjoying the beauty of pristine nature relaxing near the pool and hearing the sounds of crickets and the gurgling waterfall which can be viewed from the resort.The cottages and rooms are also aesthetically designed to gel with Nature. The Leaf cottage made partly of Bamboo leaf, The Mud cottage made of Mud and the Treetop cottage which has a Deck perched on a tree.The rooms have a good view of the swimming pool and the mountains.The resort has a restaurant where homely food served which is all prepared fresh with vegetables grown within the estate of the resort itself.Guests can trek down to the waterfall nearby and enjoy the tea estates and the Nature around or choose to take a Jeep safari which would take them into the wilderness where they can see numerous waterfalls, flowing rivers, a fish pond,hanging bridges etc.They can also choose to travel to Munnar for sightseeing and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Hotel Munnar
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing