We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More good than bad! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More good than bad! ”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My experience of Wild Elephant was great overall. The views are really stunning and I found it very peaceful to be so remote. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite with it's own terrace which was lovely & overlooks the waterfall.
The boys who work there are very sweet and cooperative, they even took us to the waterfall at no extra charge.
The owner of the property is especially friendly, and introduced us to an amazing man who led us on a small trek to the bamboo forest. A real highlight of my holiday!
The main downfall is the food. We were happy to get what we were given until we had a lunch that consisted of 1 small bowl of spicy green beans and rice between us!! And from then on we ordered in advance from a menu.
I would also say that if you have an idea of what you want to do then put your foot down and make it happen, because Anil the manager was quite flaky with organising what we asked for.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    59
    26
    17
    19
See reviews for
103
61
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The view from our cozy room was simply beautiful .Our eyes feasted on a stretch of mountains and a truly divine water fall.We would put the main attraction of this resort to be a well kept swimming pool.With a number of chairs arranged beside it,it was an ideal place to spent the evenings gazing at the lush green surroundings admiring Mother Nature.
A rejuvenating experience for all those who love nature!!!
Dr.Mejoy Sebastrian
Dr.Clara Mejoy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

on 21.04.2014 my family and one more family went to this resort reading various reviews and good photos of swiming pool,realy a great upset resort is not looks like in photo,food is very bad,service boys are not friendly,very bad service,rooms are very bad condition no privasy feel
UNSAFTLY i plan the trip for three nights and four days but i cancel in one day pool is not clean
i changed my room to sterling its good only for bachelors and drinksnparty. not for family in room there is some hole can see other room window curtons are very small outsiders can watch ,but location is very good very calm place forest condition is good please dont choose this resort

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were excited to book this hotel before our trip reading various reviews, and that it is located in a calm place.

However, the journey to the hotel from the town, the hotel / resort (it's nowhere close to a resort...) was frightening at the least, the room was small and nothing to be spoken about. There was a disturbing jungle noise (which is surprisingly never disclaimed about on the website), and there was no reason to be pleased about anything when we were there (perhaps only except the humble restaurant staff). The worst part being the manager of the place - I expected much more friendly behaviour - I understand he may not have any control on the refund, but at least he could have shown a humble behaviour which is basic stuff from a hotel manager.

Good that we decided to escape from here and moved into a manageable room in the town.

DON'T GO to this resort, there're better ones nearer to the town with equally beautiful landscapes...

Room Tip: Simply don't stay here...you may just visit it and see the landscapes (if you're really inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sunnymax2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Was much good than expected
nice hospitality
away from the busy munnar
the drive inside the plantations was a good experience
Restaurant was neat n clean
superb experience

loving

RAHUL N ARCHANA
TRIVANDRUM

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahulradhakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is wonderful! its in the middle of the forest that this resort is located!! its got a lovely view! And they have a pool, restaurant and if needed camp fire as well! If yo planning for a visit with a lot of frnds or 2 o 3 families together then thats the place u gotto be at!! Its safe for families to stay or honeymoon couples to stay! Food is one thing tats not great! but the cook's can make something that u want in the style that u like it in! U will have absolutely no network, in a way thats nice to spend the hliday with JUST THE FAMILY!! Rooms are medium sized not toooo big or not too small either! I had been there with my hubby and son and had a good tym! U can go trecking inside the forest as well !! Please Note: do not travel with cars that have a low ground clearance, it will jus spoil yo car! use an SUV or a car that has good ground clearance as the roads are jus pathetic!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemaJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed from 29th Mar-31st mar 2014..the hotel is situated a little far away from the main town but its a beautiful location..the room was clean and nice and the service is excellent. There are tea gardens from walking distance and a beautiful waterfall a small trek away. If you are looking for an excellent location in the middle of the nature then this is a perfect choice..however the transport to other places is difficult but the hotel staff is very helpful and arranges for transport..

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
13.7 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#38 of 97 in Munnar
475 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
381 reviews
5.0 mi away
Deep Woods Resort
Deep Woods Resort
#22 of 97 in Munnar
320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Bells Valley Resort
Blue Bells Valley Resort
#7 of 9 in Pallivasal
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort

Property: Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Address: Viripara | Near Letchmi Tea Estate, Munnar 685611, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Munnar
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Mountains,Tea Gardens and a Waterfall it is a great setting of Nature with all its bounties.A perfect hideout for people who want to relax in a peaceful environment without any disturbance, enjoying the beauty of pristine nature relaxing near the pool and hearing the sounds of crickets and the gurgling waterfall which can be viewed from the resort.The cottages and rooms are also aesthetically designed to gel with Nature. The Leaf cottage made partly of Bamboo leaf, The Mud cottage made of Mud and the Treetop cottage which has a Deck perched on a tree.The rooms have a good view of the swimming pool and the mountains.The resort has a restaurant where homely food served which is all prepared fresh with vegetables grown within the estate of the resort itself.Guests can trek down to the waterfall nearby and enjoy the tea estates and the Nature around or choose to take a Jeep safari which would take them into the wilderness where they can see numerous waterfalls, flowing rivers, a fish pond,hanging bridges etc.They can also choose to travel to Munnar for sightseeing and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Hotel Munnar
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing