We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with splendid view !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte Cristo Resorts
Ranked #60 of 193 Munnar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for couple of days during our honeymoon hols and the resort was awesome !!
The view from the resort is just breath-taking and especially the valley view room was mind-blowing
We really appreciate the service which these guys were offering and they were attending any of our queries and requests. Much appreciated !!
We are veggies, but the non-veg which I noticed on the buffet table was real yummy :) ..Food was exceptional and it made us really happy

Overall, a fantastic place to stay with excellent service and great mouth watering food !

Room Tip: Valley View Room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RakeshKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Monte Cristo Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The location is excellent but remote. Not very great to stay with kids. Restaurant is a one man show. he is a manager,room boy as well as receptionist .It was a good short stay.Food options are negligible and unhygienic one.kitchen is dirty. but the view from the valley view room compensates for it. Take all essentials with you as it is a remote place and own vehicle is required .ground floor rooms are not spacious.you stay only at first floor rooms.

Room Tip: only first floor rooms are advisable.never stay ground floors rooms .
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hargyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

It was a good short stay. The location is excellent but remote. Food options are negligible but the view from the valley view room compensates for it. Good Value for Money. Call and try to get a bargain if you plan to stay for more than a day. Take all essentials with you as it is a remote place and car is mandatory. The climb to the resort is a steep slope. Extremely advisable if you want a peaceful location. Not very great to stay with kids. Restaurant is a one man show.

Room Tip: Go for the valley view room with windows towards the east. Only two of them are available. Small hot...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinodkabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Ok, the view is nice... But the beds are not very clean, pillows were stinky... We had one towel for 4, and extra bed was not prepared...
I was looking for a warm and Cosy atmosphere, and found an unperson al place... Manager couldn't even help us about nice walks arounds... So, we were glad to leave after 2 nights!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liliwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. It's on the "backside" of the hill next to the main road, and is quiet with spectacular views. The hotel is fairly small scale, rooms are comfortable and it's an easy place to relax outside, take a walk or read a book and enjoy the view. The food was amazing, among the best I had in Kerala!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikkyb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We spent two nights in the Hotel Monte Cristo in December 2009. The location is excellent and offers truly stunning views of the surrounding plantations and mountains. The hotel itself is comfortable, the rooms are clean and spacious. The food is good, with the only downside that pre-ordering is required/desired. Info: No alcohol available ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed for 1 night in November. The driver had difficulty finding it as although it is well signed from the Munnar Road there are no more signs after the tea factory. You have to take the unmade road signed as 'private property tea managers bungalow' as apparently Tata do not encourage tourism! we had a warm welcome and a cup of tea on arrival. Room 109 was first floor and spacious with a nice bathroom and access to the veranda and stunning views. After our trip out we were advised that we could order the evening meal fron the menu in the room and we had the choice of eating at our chosen time in the room or dining room. We chose the dining room (we were the only guests) and had what was probably our best meal in Kerala and we have had some brilliant ones. The manager and staff constantly 'hovered' and attended to our needs. After a comfortable night (no fan or a/c as in mountains) wechose to have a light breakfast. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lincolnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.9 mi away
Deep Woods Resort
Deep Woods Resort
#19 of 101 in Munnar
329 reviews
19.6 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
3.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
103 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tea Valley Resort
Tea Valley Resort
#4 of 8 in Pothamedu
494 reviews
6.3 mi away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#12 of 101 in Munnar
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Cristo Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Cristo Resorts

Address: Near Pallivasal Tea Factory, Pallivassal Estate P.O., Pallivassal | Pallivassal Estate P.O., Pallivassal, Munnar 686 555, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: £19 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monte Cristo Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Monte Cristo Resorts Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing