We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd really..... But memorable!”
Review of High Range Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Range Club
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed 6 September 2011

It didn't meet our expectations! Served No alcohol..... But one of the staff had an alcohol smell to his breath. Old world charm, the main house accommodation looked far more favourable than the basic cottages which we stayed in. The chairman of the club visits your cottage to see if you would like the very well priced buffet and to check you like your room ( we didn't dare say we thought the room was a bit grotty).
But, their was hot water and the food was really good. It's a bit sad really... It's a gorgeous
Old house, just needs some TLC. It was very busy with local residents, we were lucky to get a room, it appears to be the local 'lodge' of a man's club.
We were very lucky to be invited in to the special locked up room, the empty disused bar.... Since they no longer have a drinks licence. Like a little museum, we were invited to take afternoon tea in there, feeling very privileged we sat quietly admiring the jewels and sipping our tea..... And hey presto, we were ushered straight out to return to the lounge, a surreal 5 minute experience, ok let's load the tea back on the tray!

I don't regret my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house may be favourable
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for High Range Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

The HIGH RANGE CLUB of Munnar in Kerala is very well maintained & exudes a touch of elegance which made our stay there an unforgettable experience. Since we had two kids, we were allotted the MEMBER'S ROOM , which had the Children's Play Room on one side and the Dining Hall on the other. The GOLF COURSE is another attraction. The quality of food is excellent and served very gracefully. Staff extremely dedicated and polite. We're really thankful to our friend from Mumbai, who had recommended the HIGH RANGE CLUB for our stay at Munnar. We are eagerly looking forward to our second stay there ... maybe pretty soon!!!

Room Tip: Cottages are great for privacy seekers .
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

High Range Club Munnar was bliss and an oasis at Munnar. The Hotel is stuck in a Time zone of British era still synonymous with Raj style service and décor! The vast and expansive gold course overlooking the villa, typical British style Bar with walls adorned with Trophies was simply amazing. I personally fell in love with the place!!
Even though the club flaunts traditional British rules. Like no slippers, only jackets at the dining hall we were completely mesmerized with ambience

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satishpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

A friend had recommended this place. We got more or less what we had expected. This is basically an old club with some sports activities like golf, tennis, basket ball, TT, snooker etc. The service & food are just okay. The accommodation is also okay. There are not much views of tea gardens etc. But there are lot of open spaces due to golf course (small one). There are restrictions on meal timings & clothes. Overall, its a good place for budget travellers. Although they are refurbishing the club but its very slow. For those who expect a good resort with gr8 service, look for alternate options.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajajjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This was our honeymoon trip and we wanted this to be hasslefree. So we had booked all our hotels well in advance to avoid any last moment goofups. And we were successful in our endevour untill we reached high range club. First of all, thier reservation process is still lingering in the days of the Raj.We wanted to book the cottages with direct account transer payment mode. But initially they asked us to send a demand draft with the payment amount. After much hankering, they finally gave us the account number to make the payment. We booked cottage number 3. But finally when we reached there, we were informed that cottage 3 was already occupied for the day and we could choose any other cottage.Imagine this, after booking in advance!
We were then recommended cottage 4 , which was unique in the sense that it came with a fireplace.All this came at a steep price of INR 2900, which was more than our previously booked cottage.The idea of sitting by the fireplace along with your loved one in a cold night at a hillstation seemed very romantic , and eventually we booked it for the day. But at night, when we asked the staff to light the fireplace, we were informed that the fireplace is no longer used! We felt duped as the staff had really recommeded the cottage with the attraction being the fireplace! But I have to say that otherwise, this cottage was very spacious, with a separate parlour with a dining table , a large bedroom, spacoius bathroom with running hot water, sampoo, soap and towels provided.The place even had coffee percolators and tea set up, which was great and helped to achieve a nostalgic feel that is the highlight of this place. Service was great, and you will be remined of the day gone by.Food is served by liveried staff, the place has a nostalgic feeling to it. Food was local kerela cuisine, which was good, but seemds monotonous after having more or less same food for 2 consecutive days. Continental or chinese at dinner would have broken the monotony of having kerela cuisine for each and every meal. I would recommend the hotel to look into this side of things.
There is a golfcourse and gardens, but I had a feeling that the maintainence was not upto the mark. Gardens need to be better tended. Also, all the road and garden lights are not even lit up at nights.This gives a gloomy feel to the place at night.
This is a huge and beautiful property, just outside the town.Just a bit of pulling thier socks on the part of the staff will do wonders for the place.You are bound to feel how this place would have been in its heydays!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parcourir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Munnar is well-known for it’s scenic beauty and we decided to stay at High Range Club both for it’s scenic beauty (there is a golf-course inside the property) and it’s proximity to the Munnar town. The surroundings look beautiful but the property appeared rusty and the turn of events left us disappointed in the end.

The hotel did not reply to email enquiries I have sent. Calls to them left me confused about whether they have my booking or not. Repeated calls to them did not help either. It appeared that they can confirm booking only after 50% of the tariff is sent to them in advance. Only cheque/demand draft and no other mode of payment are accepted. This is because of the supposed difficulty of tracking a direct money transfer to their account! I started to look for alternate accommodation after my mails started bouncing from their official mail account [--]

After much haggling it became evident that we were not dealing with a "service-oriented" establishment but one that was more bureaucratic in nature. Finally they started replying emails from a previously-unheard-of email account of [--] and agreed to “disclose” their account details. It was another painful episode for me to get simple details needed to transfer advance to them. I almost patted myself on my back after sending the money. After I called the hotel, they assured me that my booking has been confirmed.

After reaching there, a rude shock awaited me where I found the cottage I have booked has been allotted to someone else. “Sorry sir, no similar cottages available. You may take cottage no. 4; the most beautiful one with a fireplace, only INR 400 extra for tonight. You will get your cottage tomorrow.” And yes, forget any discounts. I felt disgusted, but settled for cottage 4. Later we came to know from the reception that the fireplace could not be lit due to unavailability of firewood, sweet! Did we just paid INR 400 extra for a hole in the wall?

On the brighter side, the cottage was by far the biggest and the best among other cottages with wooden flooring and a squeaky-clean bathroom. It was decorated with vintage wood furniture, a king-size bed, a TV and a tea percolator.

After settling down a bit, we explored the hotel which turned out to be a planter’s club. Heritage furniture, old painting and portraits adored the wall, with wooden flooring and a huge men’s lounge. There was a bar which was closed, and a billiard and card room – both locked. The famed library was closed as well. It was sad to see that most of the club locked and desolate of visitors during out stay. It appeared that the closing of the bar has put the death-knell on the once vibrant property. It was closer to Munnar town but you need a vehicle at your disposal to travel. Contrary to what a previous reviewer pointed out, we did not spot any public and private transport vehicles for commuting to the town from the club.

The dinning room was big with well-trained and uniformed orderly serving the food. The lunch and dinner menu was set by the kitchen as per availability of supplies with a flat rate of INR 225 per person for a non-veg meal.We liked the lunch and dinner which ended with a delicious dessert. The food was mostly good with generous portions. Only one problem we faced with dinning was there was no room service to the cottages although the cottages were quite far from the main dinning room. Despite of the cottages have a small dinning table for two in them, we had to go out in rain to dine at the club.

The club house rooms were cozy but offer little privacy and I do not recommend them for couples. The cottages were good but relatively expensive. Cottage 1-4 were lined up in a row with adjoining roof and near to the main club premises, cottage no. 4 being the best of the lot. Cottage 9-11 are quite far and comes after climbing two sets of staircases. Cottage 1-4 offer good view of the golf course.

Thankfully we were the only ones checking out that morning. While checking out, we had to wait for almost 45 minutes for all the formalities to be completed as they tried to trace my advance payment in their account statement. The irritating part was when they started quizzing me as if I am trying to get away without paying the advance. I was astonished to see records and bank statements being maintained manually although they have computer and internet connection at the club. Hard to say if manual methods and processes from bygone era are necessary for a heritage property. Old times sake, maybe..

This is a nice property and I am sad to rate it poorly. There are quite a few positives, but how come a hotel expects to get away with giving a room to somebody else for which they have received advance; that too with such a painful persistence from my side? And the bureaucratic attitude becomes too bad to handle after a while perticularly when you are the one shelling out the money.

I doubt if we will go back unless they pull up a few strings.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nomadicmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This is one of the best places to stay in Munnar, specially if you are a sports person. Even if you are not, the style and 'culture' of this place is worth experiencing.

The main club has an air of colonially influence, which is not surprising since it was mainly built during the British rule era for the Tea estate managers. There are some strict rules about dressing and stuff, which in a way adds to the charm.

The accommodation is pretty modern with all amenities that would be expected. The rooms are very nice and match up to the ones in the best of hotels.

The location of the club is also quite good. Being close to the city, as well as being a little away.

The highlight is the wonderful 9 hole golf course. If you play golf, then this is the place to be in. Even otherwise, the family would enjoy a walk in the course. Other sports facilities include squash, badminton, tennis, TT, gym etc. Well, you really cannot ask for more if you are on a holiday. There is something for everyone.

The staff is wonderful and courteous.

This place is a must stay. however, you are advised to go through some of the regulations they have through their website (www.highrangeclubmunnar.com) before reaching so that you are prepared.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neocsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#37 of 100 in Munnar
481 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
721 reviews
13.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#26 of 100 in Munnar
846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Ridge Holiday Home
Green Ridge Holiday Home
#69 of 100 in Munnar
173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tea Village Munnar
Tea Village Munnar
#23 of 100 in Munnar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Club

Address: High Range Club, Munnar, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: £17 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
High Range Club Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing