We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Range Club
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Munnar Tea Country Resort(Chithirapuram)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fog Resort & Spa(Chithirapuram)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort(Munnar)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
25
50
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
50
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish erabritish clubtennis courtsthe cottagessquash courtnine hole golf courseno alcoholplace to staydining tabletata teahot waterdelicious foodbilliardscaddiestrophiesheadgearaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Strange place. Well priced, stunning setting, quirky rooms - especially the bar which is fresh out of a scene from The Shining. Management very rude and incompetent. Bring closed toed shoes if you are male - I kid you not! Sandals and 'chapals' are banned from the main building and was forced to eat off the property. Wasn't such a penalty as really didn't want to reward the rude behaviour of the manager.

This place has amazing potential. With professional and modern management it would be a delight. Sadly, currently this isn't happening.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

As you may deduce from other traveller reviews, the High Range Club is not your typical hotel. Founded in 1909, the club has a certain charm that will take you back to the days of the first English tea planters to come to this region. Located on the Tata Tea Plantation at around 2800' in the mountains near Munnar, the club is a blast from the past. Early morning walks in the area offer spectacular scenery... manicured tea plants, mist rising off the river and high grass covered peaks in the distance. Do try and fit in a game of golf on the 9 hole course. Clubs are available for rent and members only use the course on Sundays so the rest of the week you will have it all to yourselves. The course is a bit rough but what a great time! Hire local caddies (RPS 120 per day... that's apx. $2.40) We did and our caddies Jeva and Ganesh were well looked after. Each member of our foursome gave them RPS 500, so they walked away with RPS 2000 each. Their smiles were worth the money! Also, you can buy a nice 100th anniversary cap for a souvenir. Do stick your head in the mens club room and check out the wall decor. Just one piece of advice. If you are in there at night, don't even think about "The Shining", especially if there is a strange man behind the bar!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We loved our two days stay at the High Range Club, Munnar, the Secretary welcomed us and the livered waiters were always helpful.
Played Golf and the Caddie was helpful with very useful tips and for billards the head barman joined me in a game.
The food was fixed menu but was interesting as they always asked us if we had some special choices etc.
Will surely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the main building as they are good.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeybee573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The grounds were very well maintained but the buildings seemed very dated. Our room was large but slightly run down – the phone did not work and no one explained where the switch for the hot water boiler was. Most accommodation was separate from the main building and we had to walk cross a small road and negotiate 2 cattle grids.
Management was poor. Towels were taken but not replaced and the room was not cleaned properly. We had to leave at 7am so tried to pay in the evening It took time to find someone – the club secretary?- to settle our account. If we had waited until the morning we would have had a problem as the main building was locked when we left.
Meal service was also odd and there was a lack of supervision. Several guests had to search for someone to take breakfast orders.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaclak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This place was built in 1905! has that heritage feel to it.The rooms were maintained and worth the money.To me the Positives are
1 close to town yet tucked away in a 9 hole Scenic golf course that doesnt make you feel that your just a few miles off town.
2 The main heritage block is over a century old and radiates the past colonialism glory.(Do check out the smoking lounge)
3 Comfortable food(Not too oily or fancy, but comfortable and soothing)
4 Helpful staff
5 tennis, golf and basketball courts are fun if you got friends with you

Negatives
1 Dont expect a Hotel atmosphere like you do in normal hotels

Overall
Id say this place is worth it.and yes, this will be my prefered destination to stay with friends and family.

Room Tip: chose rooms in the main block
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews