We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of history in Munnar at 4700 feet !!”
Review of High Range Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Range Club
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Slice of history in Munnar at 4700 feet !!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived here at Club,on one rainy afternoon,and waited for our booked rooms to get ready.This place is fascinating with 6 acres & about 5 km from Munnar main Town.Enroute by Hillsides,by a Stream,by some Tea plantations,and some Tall trees.The road leading to the Estate was freshly paved,and devoid of any Traffic,any Noise and any Pollution !

We were shown the Rooms,the Cottages and we were not in any rush.We saw the main Lounge,the Dining Room,the Cocktail Bar,2 Billiards rooms,1 table Tennis room,Library,Squash court,& the Card Room.Outside we saw from far,the Golf course & the Tennis courts.Spacious Car park right at front.

The whole Club & Cottages & grounds belongs to a bygone age.Club main building more than 100 years old ! All are very airy & ancient structures,constantly renovated.Some areas give the impression of some kind of Museum,with a fascinating collection of rural bygones.Some floor with Mosaic tiles,while some had Wooden panels.Some panels creaked and need to be fixed.

We had Buffet lunch in the dining Hall.There were some Members and other Guests dining too.Simple and basic homely food,limited selection, with embossed plates, bowls, saucers, cups, serving bowls, etc. of China or Porcelain,cutlery in place,with paper embossed Napkins.Staff in White uniform and Headgear,very polite and very efficient.

We went upstairs to our rooms,on either side of passage,overlooking huge Balcony,with view of Golf course.There was huge sitting area with Sofas just outside our rooms.Spacious rooms with carpet,one room had dressing area,and big basic Bathrooms.Showers were not up to the mark,but there were Geysers in place for hot water.Need more lighting in the Rooms and Bathrooms though.Very less Insects in the Rooms after dark.Fans in all rooms to cool.But the Club & Grounds were much cooler than Munnar Town.Mattress and sheets dry & clean.

Due to constant rains,we were mostly indoors engaged with Cards,Table Tennis and some Billiards.Tea and coffee in the evening were served at the Lounge,with Onion snacks and delicious Carrot cake.Later dinner at the dining hall,followed by a good Caramel Dessert.They had 2 rates for vegetarian and non vegetarian food.The water tasted very cool & good.The next day we checked out, after a delightful Breakfast.Check out formalities were a little time consuming though.

We felt relaxed,well fed,clean,safe and in tune with nature.Staying here was therapeutic.Awesome privacy.We had little time to explore the River,the Golf course,and the grounds due to rain & our tight schedule.We will probably do this on our next trip here.Need some more time to fully soak up this Club and enjoy the facilities & food well.This place is ideal for people of all ages and couples.Sightseeing and other activity planning at Munnar,with HRC as base is ideal.Own transportation is compulsory to reach here.

Room Tip: Room 4 in main building is the best followed by Room 3,both at first floor.They have sitting area at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    47
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
33
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in a Double room on the first floor in the main building . You also have the option of using the cottages, but they are a little distance away. Main building also houses the lounge, dining hall and the bar and overlooks the Golf course and gardens.So you are closer to everything. Nice laid back, club life.As this property is about 3 kms from Munnar town, you are far from the ever increasing numbers of tourists and traffic.That is a big plus. Catering is on a fixed menu but well made and wholesome and there is a charm in having uniformed bearers to serve etc. Its an old club , so rooms and fittings are kind of old fashioned, but almost everything works. Rooms are large but minus fans,so the afternoons did get a bit warmer than we liked. Evenings and nights were pleasant for mid March. There are quiet roads along tea estates nearby that you could stroll along if inclined.
Looking back , we are glad we chose to stay at HRC. Its certainly the place to ponder over times gone by in club style comfort. So give it a shot.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are ideal ,unless you are a big group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN-MA584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My partner and I found this hotel amazing, but saying that it will not be for everyone. It is as if you have gone back a hundred years go. Neat dress is required which adds to the atmosphere. hunting pictures cover the walls of old english members. The staff are friendly and the manager is a true gentleman who goes out of his way to meet and speak to you.

The club has a golf course, tennis course and basketball court surrounded by lush green hills. we stayed in a cottage that is huge and has a brand new bathroom.

Now there were a few down sides for me, There is a truly amazing ''mens only" hunting bar as well as another bar. The only down side is that no alcohol can be served at the hotel. If this was changed they would have a gem of a bar that tourists and locals would come from miles to use. The food was simple but delicious however you ate in a silent room with no music.

All in all it was a great stay but there is room for improvement.

Room Tip: Book the cottage room its worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garth117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January 2014. We were disappointed with our stay, and found this to be the least comfortable of all the places we stayed during a 3 week trip to India. The building had a faded, unwelcoming atmosphere despite its historical interest and beautiful setting. The food was mediocre with little choice. Service was adequate, but it was disconcerting to find there was no-one on duty to help us deal with a problem of dogs howling outside our room for most of our first night. The empty bar adds to the sad, jaded atmosphere. The rules and regulations are inappropriate (for example, our driver was not allowed to eat in the cold, sparsely furnished dining room) and suggest the Club is not committed to being a welcoming place to stay.
A place with huge potential, the High Range Club needs a major revamp and a different approach.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate cottage block have had new bathrooms installed. Rooms in the main building ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mervyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The October 2013 edition of the Rough Guide highly recommended this place. It states 2500 INR per night (double room) and including full board. During check in the manager confirmed it costs us 2900 INR including full board. Why not )paying a bit extra, probably because of the high season we thought. Today we checked out and the manager denied it was full board (didn't care about the reference in the Rough Guide as well) and we had to pay much extra. After having quite some arguments, he didn't do anything at all to settle it and we were forced to pay.

Although the location is nice and quiet, it lacks atmosphere and a bar. Services are very poor. But most importantly, the manager lied and cheated on us... Big shame for India this man! So our advice is not booking here at all.

Greetings from two disappointed travellers from Holland.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Hasse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very well equipped and leave nothing to be desired. The manager is extremely friendly efficient and hard working (ie 8 am to 10pm). The food has a decidedly old world English favour and is very good ( still remember the excellent bread and butter pudding)

But there is no bar licence and hence no alcohol. It is really sad to see the fabled bar looking quite shabby and neglected. The less said about the golf course the better. In fairness when I played it had not yet been cleaned and prepared

So all in all so much more could be done here

Whilst Munnar itself is quite crowded and avoidable take a drive to the surrounding areas ie Top Station etc. absolutely amazing vistas... We saw wild elephants on the roadside..easily the bet views in South India

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank moth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The High Range Club which is located amidst the beautiful city of Munnar. Far away from the madding crowd yet the perfect place as it is serene and self sufficient on its own. The rooms were very comfortable with the style of traditional British architecture. It faces magnificent Golf Course with a stream of water cutting right across. The food was very delectable especially the Continental Dinner. A very pleasant attitude of all the employees and especially the warm welcome you receive from the management. A definite must stay if you visit Munnar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ankushbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
13.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
5.0 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#20 of 97 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Isaac's Residency
Isaac's Residency
#49 of 97 in Munnar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#57 of 97 in Munnar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Springs Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Club

Property: High Range Club
Address: High Range Club, Munnar, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
High Range Club Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing