We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very economical hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Retreat
Ranked #71 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“very economical hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

It is always a delight to be in Munnar. I have stayed at different hotels in munnar. As I am an avid traveler I love to experience different hotels at different places.

I gotta know about Royal Retreat from a local resident of munnar. Royal Retreat is very very economical hotel. Honestly the rooms at Royal retreat deserve much more.

The rooms are very spic and span. The staff members were really helpful. The hotel is situation at a beautiful location. My recommmendation. Go for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeshUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

tiny and cosy little place with cottages lining the garden area. its the first place you would come across after entering the boundaries of munnar. overlooks a hill on one side and a stream flowing on the edges of the woods on the other. beautiful location and yet walking distcance from the main city. clean and spacious rooms and friendly staff..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hersheyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed in the Hotel for 2 nights, its a good experience and staffs are very good cooperated.
Good location
Rooms are very neat and clean and beds are very confortable
Not good for Honeymooners, only prefering for family, buisiness, friends and solo
Bathroom is OK, but need to provide hot water at all time
Food is average, no any special.
i am recommending for Hotel Royal retreat for staying in Munnar with reasonable fare

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirishMani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We visited this hotel in September 2011 and stayed a couple of days.
The location is on the road to Ernakulam and quiet. The road is very bad, full of pot holes and huge paddles, but this is the Kerala government's disregard.

The garden is very nicely cared for with fuchsia, dahlias and other flowers. We stayed in a room on the east side of the building facing a meadow with cows grazing. The room was very clean, well furnished, The portico outside the room was great, we sat outside watching the hills, the river running by and warmed up in the sun.

The staff was just great, smiling faces, discreet and helpful. I forgot some of my clothes behind and after i called them, they sent them to me at my next destination. I appreciated this very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonbfromnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We recenttly stayed at Hotel Royal Retreat Munnar.We had a very good stay.We had a very good stay.The Rooms were really comfortable and fairly well equipped.The misty morning and the lake side view from the room is really a good treat for the eyes.The rooms service and the staff over there were exceptionally good and they were so kind enough.We had a good discount on room due to off season. The restaurant service was quite good with a wide variety of menus. Kerala fish curry and chicken chopsy was really awesome.we really loved and enjoyed a lot............

Room Tip: lake view room was really fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santony_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelMartInn, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
thank you very much for posting such great feedback to our property. we assure that we will keep our services in a good standard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and 3 days. The hotel location is very good. The biggest problem which I faced in the hotel was of fooding. The food quality is very poor. Most of the time the service is not availabe. Even the menu Items are also not available. So if you want to stay make sure you eat out......

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankur_tewari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

, stayed at this hotel for one night. room was quite big and comfortable. Bathroom was
o kay. We did not manage to get any hot water. Beds comfortable. A great disapointment was the food in the resteraunt. worst food we had in Kerala. Our Dahl and chicken marsala tasted as if it came from a packet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadiecool99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#19 of 95 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#67 of 95 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#13 of 95 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.8 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blu Haze Resort & Spa
Blu Haze Resort & Spa
#12 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Retreat

Property: Royal Retreat
Address: Kannan Devan Hills | AM Road, Near KSRTC Bus Station, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Retreat is a 16 room private hotel built in 1988; it is located at Aluva -Munnar Road, and just a walk away from the Blossom gardens. What makes the hotel unique is its location unlike the hotels near and around Tea gardens, Royal Retreat is built like a set of cottages with an amazing garden in front, all major tourist attractions are only a stone throwaway. The feel is very cozy and personal. The hotel rooms are spacious with large windows, classic hardwood furniture and tasteful colors. Most rooms have temple view across our very popular garden adding to the sense of peace and tranquility you will experience here. The elegantly designed MULTI CUSINE RESTURANT which serves traditional, continental and Chinese cuisines has soothing interiors and a quiet ambiance, allowing you to enjoy your meal in peace and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing