We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a memmorable stay”
Review of Royal Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Retreat
Ranked #83 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and would surely like to be back another time. Rooms were comfortable and food was good too. they have a nice garden and kids loved to be there. The hotel is only around two kilometers from town but reaching the hotel was difficult due to damaged highway roads.Sightseeing in munnar is difficult and had to be in vehicle for hours.
spending time in the garden was our favourite. Service was good though slow. it would have been better if some more entertainment facilities were there to spend time with. There is a beautiful river behind the hotel and a park in walkable distance . On the whole we loved our trip to Munnar

Room Tip: 'Rooms with garden view '
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neeraj2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

dear guest
thank you very much for your kind interested to review our property with extreme appreciations. we will keep our services in a high standard for all our customers
thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Since Royal Retreat is walking distance from Zina Cottage, where I stayed during my visit in Munnar, my friends and I decided to go for an early dinner to Royal Retreat.

We were the only patrons when we walked into Royal Retreat's restaurant for dinner at 6 PM. Regardless of being the only ones there, our food took quite a while to arrive.

The beef fry and chicken curry were tasty and worth the wait. However they didn't have any fish, which was disappointing and I sent back the vegetarian dish I had ordered because it looked nothing like it should have.

Our server was courteous; the food - good beef, chicken was a little tough and veg dish was horrendous, so overall I'd say OK; prices are cheap-moderate and the place has a pleasing ambiance. All in all, of the restaurant options available close to Munnar's city center, this is one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazel_c719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

dear guest,
thank you very much for your interest shown towards our property review in TripAdvisor. We are very much keen about the comments from esteemed guest like you. also we have noted down the suggestions on restaurant and food.
thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I cannot tell you in enough words how disappointed I was upon arriving at this hotel with great expectations after having seen their web site.... True, a picture is worth ten thousand words, and equally true, it can lie royally!!!

Staff: very courteous. Will say yes to everything. "Yes Sir. In two minutes Sir." Go back to the front desk again after half hour to find what happened to your request.. "Sending it to your room in two minutes sir!" This was for towels. After third request I decided to stay at the front desk until I got a towel. Yes, I got one. A wet one! Reason? "Sir it rained whole day yesterday, there was no sun to dry it!"

Noise: Unbelievable. From neighboring rooms, kids playing cricket right outside your door and any number of requests or complaints to the front desk will bring no relief. As if their training is not to say no to anything. ( at the same time you don't have to execute!)

Need to mention other things. Just try some other place and don't be taken away with the pictures on the web...

Room Tip: You might be better off without a room at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank egleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

dear guest,
first of all sorry for what was happened, We enquired the matter with our housekeeping department and they agreed that the this is only an accident happened on that day. Anyway we feel very much sorry for the trouble you come across due to the wet towel matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

this is located in munnar town itself. Its a good hotel. they have a good garden. The staff of the hotel is very helpful especially the manager. Food is ok. I had stayed in a suite room, which is really superb. Its just next to KSRTC stand....

Room Tip: suite rooms are good.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajayjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

dear guest,
thank you very much for putting your valuable time to review the hotel. we will always keep our standards according to the guest preferences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights. This is a few hundred meters from the center of the town and we did not mind it as as we were travelling in our vehicle. The staff were very courteous and helpful and the rooms were also spacious and decent. There was some park/play area in the front with nice flowers and some hammocks. The kids enjoyed playing there. This was located right next to the hydel park which my kids loved visiting in the evenings.

The food in the restaurant was very good and was decently priced and the restaurant staff were courteous and helpful. Overall, Very good value for money and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the park area. I enjoyed taking my morning tea and walking there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRetreatMunnar, General Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear guest, thanks for your feedback about comfortable stay at our hotel. We encourage all types of review which makes us more responsible. thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our vacation in Kerala.The location of this hotel is so nice,The view of the tea gardens from the lawn is so great.The garden is well maintained. The staff and the management were really helpful.Loved the food here especially the pulav and the chicken curry.Our room was neatly arranged and clean.Our travel around the town was a wonderful experience.Loved the fresh air and the natural beauty!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRetreatMunnar, General Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

dear guest
thank your very much for your feedback about our restaurant. we always keep our restaurant in a style which people appreciate positively.
thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

On the way to Munnar our driver stopped at this hotel for us to have a meal. The hotel looks quite old but it’s really well managed. We were the only one in the resultant.
The menu was nicely made and had most popular Indian dishes, we ordered a soup, some curries and naan bread. Everything arrived quick quickly and was of amazing quality. Spices were subtle and food was really tasty. The only desert available was Ice cream or milk shake so it was a shame but chocolate shake was great and we ordered another one.
Staff was really polite and well managed. I highly recommend Royal Munnar Hotel for a good meal in Munnar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit_southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRetreatMunnar, General Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

dear sir,
thank for your great feedback about property in TripAdvisor. all this positive feedback make us more responsible than ever.
thanking you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.1 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#80 of 103 in Munnar
126 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blu Haze Resort & Spa
Blu Haze Resort & Spa
#12 of 15 in Chithirapuram
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
OYO 4651 Woodpecker Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 15 in Chithirapuram
136 reviews
0 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#35 of 103 in Munnar
492 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#59 of 103 in Munnar
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Retreat

Address: Kannan Devan Hills | AM Road, Near KSRTC Bus Station, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: £28 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Retreat is a 16 room private hotel built in 1988; it is located at Aluva -Munnar Road, and just a walk away from the Blossom gardens. What makes the hotel unique is its location unlike the hotels near and around Tea gardens, Royal Retreat is built like a set of cottages with an amazing garden in front, all major tourist attractions are only a stone throwaway. The feel is very cozy and personal. The hotel rooms are spacious with large windows, classic hardwood furniture and tasteful colors. Most rooms have temple view across our very popular garden adding to the sense of peace and tranquility you will experience here. The elegantly designed MULTI CUSINE RESTURANT which serves traditional, continental and Chinese cuisines has soothing interiors and a quiet ambiance, allowing you to enjoy your meal in peace and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing