We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and peace at the gates of Munnar”
Review of Royal Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Retreat
Ranked #82 of 105 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Located at the entrance to Munnar the Royal retreat is the towns oldest and one of the best hotels.

though the rooms; all suites; are few in number and on the more expensive side; the service was good, the food in the restaurant up to mark, the beds comfortable, the accessibility to other places of interest and sight seeing in munnar good and the quietitude surprising as the hotel is situated just besides the Cochin-Madurai highway.

the view from the hotel is excellent with tea estates and cloud shrouded mountains visible in the distance. the hotel is situated a three minutes walking distance from the KSRTC bus terminal and less than 3 kms from the twin towns of Old Munnar and New Munnar.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekj0hnvarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2010

First impressions - Munnar - Beautiful, green tea plantations on picturesque hillsides fantatstic. but the Royal Retreat hotel which looks quite pleasant in the picture has another tackier hotel looming over it - seemingly the same building they're so close. it was a little dissapointing seeing it for the first time.
we'd booked in advance but on arrival were told they couldn't find our booking and when we'd negotiated a room we were led to a room next to the cleaners cupboard, which had a view of a brick wall, a foot from the window (the other hotel built next door) so we had no natural light (or view).
the room was clean and there was hot water from 6pm - the rooms are similar to most commercial chain hotels but possibly a little more basic.
the food in the restaurant was nothing to write home about and the toast was always cold in the mornings.
we only stayed in this hotel while in Munnar, so I can't compare it to any others in the area but I was a little underwelmed by this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Br00k0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

This hotel was the best of a bad bunch, a little overpriced but the rooms are large and there is hot water in the mornigs and night. The restaurant sells nice food but hardly ever get your order right, we were promised wireless internet and we had a room located just above reception but the internet did not reach us, several times we had to prompt the staff to actually turn the internet on. The location is great and facilties and gardens beautiful. the bathroom had a bad bad smell that never seems to subside

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank open2xperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

i arrived to royal retreat after u was reading good fedback about the hotel. i have a diffrant story to tell:
first of all, you must bargen for the price! when we arrived the guy on the recaption showed us a room and he asked 2000 rs. per night. i knew it is not the price cuase we called then the night before abd they said the price is 1350-1600 rs. per night. i was bargenning with him and evetully the price was 1350.
secendly, the room located on the top floor up to the recaption in very very noisy, you can hear every bodys in the room and in the recaption. even when the phone is ringing down their we could hear that! we asked to change for the garden room, everyday they promised to change it but on the morning they said it is full (the hotel was empty...)
one more thing - the room smell so bad from wet and we couldn't breath well there.
i don't recomend you to visit this hotel and i am sure that for 1350 rs. there are much better plces in munnar!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bh2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I happened to zeroed down to this small but a peacefully located hotel at munnar after a strenuous online search for its said merits and with a due advance information about my check-in/out details (with
my other 3 family members taking 2 double rooms @ Rs.2500/- per day per room for 3 nights) and also my intention to pay through credit card (as it was a hefty amount working to Rs 16600/-)and was in receipt of a reply mail just telling ’booking confirmed’ and with no initial down payment perhaps. I checked in on 05th of August,2009 afternoon duly informing about my intention to pay through credit card but was told by the reception people that there was some problem with the swiping machine or so with my suggesting them to look into the same immediately before my check out on the 08th August so that I would be able to settle the bill through credit card facility and almost every morning reminding them in this regard to get ready. But to my utter disappointment on the day of checking out, I was again given the same response that the machine was ’yet’ to be corrected and suggesting me(as if I am not aware) to draw from some atm and make cash payment. But after aprotracted arguments either side they somehow could go ahead with the using of the machine saying that it was got ready for our sake (I am not aware to the ’truthfulness’ of their saying so or .....)and when the credit card was swiped the telephone line of the machine was repeatedly taking quite a lot of time to ’get connected’ with ultimately proving the efforts ’futile’ to our interest. I am still not convinced that about its somehow intentionally made ’non’ functioning attitude(probably with the collobaration with the hotel authoritiesthemselves-playing a ’trick’) and ultimately arranged for the cash payment as their attitude was found so much ’non co-operative’ and also ’not inclined in accepting the credit card payment’ in any way and as we were losing our time unnecessarily.

Hence although our stay was so nice in that hotel in all respects, it ended with this ’bad tasted’ note finally with my advance informed note of making credit card payment ended in futile in spite of the due advance information having been given at different stages. I am still at dark why this hotel and as I gathered information for that matter a few more reputed well known hotels in Munnar are averse to accept payment through credit cards in spite of their announcing so.

So please be prepared yourself before planning to pay through credit cards in any hotels at Munnar!!!!!!!!

V Sampath Kumar
Bengaluru 560079.


Dt: 18/08/2009@10/52pm

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sampathkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

we have been to munnar in last december ( 2008) i was on honeymoon. the hotel rooms were bit congested , but as the hotel earlier was a royal bunglow .. the feel was very good.
food was good as compared to other hotel we had been to kerala

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sachin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This was my first trip to munnar. I booked Hotel Royal Retreat for non AC standard room.
Hotel is worth for money.
Good location and beautiful garden around.
2 Kml from town
walkable distance from Rose Garden(beautiful garden)
walkable distance from KSRTC old bus stand and Tourist Information Center
complimentary breakfast
Good food and service.
Rooms are neat and clean

one of the good thing I liked is that, peoples in Kerala are very helpful with tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darshan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.1 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#76 of 105 in Munnar
125 reviews
4.8 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#6 of 15 in Chithirapuram
133 reviews
31.4 mi away
Spice Garden Resort
Spice Garden Resort
#58 of 105 in Munnar
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Blu Haze Resort & Spa
Blu Haze Resort & Spa
#12 of 15 in Chithirapuram
282 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#59 of 105 in Munnar
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#45 of 105 in Munnar
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Retreat

Address: Kannan Devan Hills | AM Road, Near KSRTC Bus Station, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 105 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: £28 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Retreat is a 16 room private hotel built in 1988; it is located at Aluva -Munnar Road, and just a walk away from the Blossom gardens. What makes the hotel unique is its location unlike the hotels near and around Tea gardens, Royal Retreat is built like a set of cottages with an amazing garden in front, all major tourist attractions are only a stone throwaway. The feel is very cozy and personal. The hotel rooms are spacious with large windows, classic hardwood furniture and tasteful colors. Most rooms have temple view across our very popular garden adding to the sense of peace and tranquility you will experience here. The elegantly designed MULTI CUSINE RESTURANT which serves traditional, continental and Chinese cuisines has soothing interiors and a quiet ambiance, allowing you to enjoy your meal in peace and comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Retreat Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing