We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience hospitality at its finest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Mist

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Mist
Ranked #1 of 178 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Experience hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed in Royal Mist for 3 nights during Easter. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Anil & Jeeva. They are without doubt the best hosts I've ever stayed with. The rooms are clean and cozy. The bathrooms and showers are very nice. The food is excellent, and Anil & Jeeva are very flexible with regards to dinner time, special food wishes, level of spicyness etc.
Anil helped us with arranging a very nice hike on the ridge of one of the mountains overlooking Munnar, and he also took us for a short walk around the guesthouse.
I would recommend everyone to stay with Anil & Jeeva. The service is the best I've ever experienced!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
294
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed with Anil and his wife on 3 or 4 occasions, the latest during the fall of 2013. After arriving at the homestay, you are always greeted warmly and Anil will usually chat with you about him and his family and be genuinely interested in your background and experiences as well. There are three rooms in the homestay, all on the upper level with a balcony outside as a common area/dinner area. Most of the times I have been there we have been the only ones at the homestay that night (as we were usually traveling during off-peak tourist season) and had a very relaxing experience.

The food that is prepared by Anil's wife and cook/housekeeper is out of this world. For a small extra fee they will prepare dinner for you (and arrange for beer or wine as well at your cost, but the convenience of not having to worry about it is excellent) and then breakfast is included.

If traveling with friends or as a couple, the balcony can be a great place to just sit and take in nature. We have taken a guitar along in the past and played on the balcony well into the night amidst deep philosophical discussion.

The morning sunrise is something not to be missed as the the light of day infiltrates the tree carpeted valley you overlook. Only in Wayanad (Northern Kerala) and on Diamond Head volcano in Hawaii have I experienced such breathtaking beauty with the morning sunrise.

All in all I would recommend Anil's homestay in a heartbeat and hope that you will consider his homestay in the future as well.

Room Tip: There is one room situated by itself and two rooms that share a common entrance into a small foyer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I still talk about Anil and Jeeva 3 months on from our brilliant stay with them. They were the friendliest hosts we've had in our 5.5 months away in Asia and shared such interesting insights into life in Kerala, and India more generally.

The surrounding areas are beautiful and Anil took the time to show us round the nearby tea plantation which was so lovely. Home-cooked food was really nice and we loved our daily chai on the terrace.

We could have stayed longer (actually got lumps in our throats as we left, which we DO not do, how embarrassing) and would gladly welcome them into our own home if they ever came to London.

Best homestay ever.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheesepls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Good clean homestay. Good showers. Helpful owners, went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We booked 2 of their 3 rooms in April. No- one else was there, so it was very private. Food cooked by the home owners was enjoyed by all. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms enjoy any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhfgjrfjrdjrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 2 week self-organised trip around Kerala in Oct 13. Our kids are age 10, 8, 6 and 3. Staying here was probably our highlight of our whole time. A local strike had been called, so Anil and daughter took us for a guided walking tour of the local tea plantations and more. The place is beautiful and peaceful. The house is excellent as a homestay (the whole top floor and terrace is for guests- could have stayed here for weeks). Lovely, friendly family, but not in your face at all. Cooking was amazing. Jeeva tailored it perfectly to our children's tastes. Thankyou for a lovely stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A Big Thank you to Anil & Jeeva for making our stay an enjoyable time.
Fantastic food, accommodation and hospitality.
Highlight for us was eating on the terrace whilst taking in the beautiful view and watching all the lovely birds,just wonderful!
We would certainly recommend Royal Mist to anyone visiting this beautiful part of the world.

Thanx again
Steve & Julie Pritchard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithy1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We visited Munnar at the beginning of a trip around Kerala, and couldn't have got off to a better start. Anil arranged a pick up from the airport and within two a half hours we were sitting on the lovely terrace of Royal Mist having a welcome cup of tea. Anil and Jeeva are such lovely people, arranged things for us but didn't press any trips that we didn't want to do - just good ideas. Every day Anil takes guests on an hour walk around the local tea plantation, pointing out plants and talking about life in Munnar. Jeeva also cooks really lovely breakfasts and dinners, as well as tea and coffee snacks! It's an incredible area to visit, so beautiful, and Anil and Jeeva made it even better.

Room Tip: The room opening to the terrace is really lovely and has views down the valley, although if you were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicitytheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.5 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Panoramic Getaway
The Panoramic Getaway
#5 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 178 in Munnar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mist

Property: Royal Mist
Address: Chithirapuram P.O., Munnar 685565, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10km from Munnar town, down winding hilltop roads with spectacular views, Royal Mist Homestay is owned by Mr. Anil and his family. This particularly close knit family with two children aged 13and 18 are incredibly hospitable, welcoming guests as part of the family, whilst allowing them as much independence as they desire. The separate area of the guests' rooms occupies the top floor of this modern house with an upstairs terrace, which looks out onto the valley and hills extending into the distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Mist Hotel Munnar
Royal Mist Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing