We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambady Estate
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Panoramic Getaway(Chithirapuram)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort(Munnar)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
156
56
21
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
56
21
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessplit levelcardamom plantationquirky restaurantsemi detachedprivate gardenspiced teabird lifesleeping areacolonial stylereception areabirds chirpingkms before munnar townbird watchingcomfortable accommodationlush greenclose to nature
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We thought the Ambady Estate was lovely and had a wonderful two nights in Jnauary 2014, where we were able to meet up with fellow travellers and had two very entertaining evening buffet meals of locally produced Kerala dishes. As I found the food too spicy Sham was more than happy to prepare me something else. We were also able to bring our own wine which they kept in the fridge for us. The cottages were of an extremely high standard and exceeded our expectations. The reception is like stepping back in time we were welcomed by the manager Sham with a refreshing welcome drink after our long road journey. The staff were very helpful and polite. Our cottage was huge and light and airy. You need a torch to walk to and from the dining room at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is situated on a beautiful cardamon plantation about 20kms from Munnar. The staff were very friendly and the excellent manager was always in hand to give advice or talk about the area and the plantation.
There are 8 cottages, all set up as semi-detached pairs. The room had high ceilings and was light and airy. They are modern rooms with a separate seating area, good bathroom and comfortable bed, with doors to a small garden area for watching the amazing bird life.
As the resort was full, they prepared a buffet menu each evening - but don't misinterpret that. This was not buffet food that would re-presented at lunch or dinner, it was freshly cooked and the menu changed each evening. The food was delicious using ingredients from the small vegetable garden and of course local spices, which you could taste in the careful preparation. It was really good food.
There is plenty to do in the forest behind the main area and you will be guaranteed to see wonderful bird life - amazing vibrant colours and different varieties. The walk takes you uphill through the cool forest and we were fortunate to see the Indian Giant squirrels in the tall canopies.
While many people had a car and took a day trip to Munnar, etc, we walked from the resort to the local village, which is surrounded by tea plantations. We walked through the rows of tea, and then enjoyed a fantastic Ayurvedic massage at one of the establishments in the village (just 2000 for a 90 min session!). There is also a Fun Forest adventure park for walking amongst the tree canopies etc.
It is a place to relax and unwind, and enjoy nature in such a wonderful setting. We were sad to leave after 2 days and we will certainly return on our next trip to Kerala.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisnDebs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and we had high expectations. It is posing as a luxurious homestay. It is set in a spice plantation and accomodation is a large bungalow basic furniture but nice. What lets this place down is the poor service. We felt we were a nuisance being there. We are not fussy or demanding and love the kind nature of The Kerelan people however the staff got orders we had to constantly ask for things.The restaurant was grubby with no outside seating There was no information about the estate. I'm sure there were lovely walks. The manger was shocked when I suggested she trained her staff in customer services. We are now on Varkala at the Palm Tree Heritage. These people could teach the Ambady how to treat their guests

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank joan01kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We (my wife and I) stayed there for 2 nights earlier this week. Generally, the place is nice and the garden is flourishing, but no view!!! if you can't see the amazing hills with the tea plantation, so what's the point? The cottage was ok though the bathroom had very bad smell. At first when we arrived the hot water didn't work in our cottage but it was fixed at the end. Breakfast is poor. The poorest we had in India. There is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the reception and even there it worked only partially. It's a beautiful place but as far as I concern they have a long way to go

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaniM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was at thius hotel/cottage from 10th Dec.13 to 11th Dec,13.Makemy trip recommended me and my sister this hotel stating that it is of 4 star standard. Please believe me that this is not even 2 star. Their litchen is dirty and filthy. Infrastructure is very very poor, there are no lights around and it becomes pitch dark after 5pm. The place is very sloppy and not advisable for elderly people or children as a little slip and one is down the valley. There is no security and the place is very very deserted and scary. There is no recreation at all in and around and one cannot even come out of the room after 5pm as it is dark, slippery and creepy.

The food is not fresh (one can understand as it is so much on height) and it is over over priced. We were forced to stay there for 2 scary nights (thanks to the poor service of Makemy Trip) and we had to order food from a little far away restaurant - Misty Mountain (which is far better than Ambady estate in terms of tariff, food and facilities). They charge Rs.400 for a small piece of frozen and stale fish, Rs.250 for club sandwich, Rs.50 for water bottle--way to highly priced for their standards.

No facilities at all--just cottages which is only and only good for honeymooners or people who want to be closed in a room. The rooms also does not have ceiling fan but a table fan. So though it is on height, early morning around 6am you start feeling hot and sweaty as the table fan air does not reach the bed and the sunlight come throught the window pane.

Overall really horrible and Makemy Trip really cheaters who have executive who are liars and have no sense or clue as to what is 4 star and 2 star.

Maggie

Room Tip: No comments
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggievarghese_hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambadyestatemnr, Owner at Ambady Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Greetings from Ambady Estate !!
Miss Maggie,

First of all I want to apologize to you & your lovely sister for any inconvenience caused during your stay at Ambady Estate

I wish I could make up for the seemingly dark & dreary uneasiness which you have described in your heart breaking comments on Trip Advisor.

My wife and I started Ambady Estate in 2005 which was started purely on the basis of conservation and preservation. We still live in this so called creepy and scary place with our 2 small children aged 5 & 7.

Our USP has always been that we are always available to our guests. You could have at least mentioned to us about how you felt at any time you were here
Ambady Estate is a product of our sweat, blood and tears and we try our best to retain the already dwindling Sahyadri forest without crossing the thin line between conservation & commercialization
About 40% of our guest are elderly couples and almost 60% of our guest are families with small children accompanying them. We have very good security as I believe “security is not expensive, it is priceless” We have 2 security personnel & CCTV monitoring all around the clock.
We are, maybe the only resort in the area to follow the locavore principle as we obtain all our food produces from 10 km radius. We grow our own vegetables according to the seasons & climate and I take objection to your comment “food not fresh”. To top it all you have compared us to a budget hotel which is perplexing to say to the least.
We are at an attitude of 4500 feet above sea level & it is only on request we provide table fans
We also take objection to the way you have dragged a well established and proven company in this entanglement of clear cut miscommunication & misunderstanding with Ambady Estate
Above all I want to cordially invite you back to Ambady Estate without any malice or resentment to truly experience our motto “you complete us “and to show you the true meaning”WE ARE NATURE”.
In the years we have run Ambady Estate I have never had to reply to any comment posted on trip advisor but your choice of words regarding your impression of Ambady Estate has compelled me, however reluctantly, to clarify our position.

With utmost sincerity,
Dr Rajesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews