We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Munnar, No doubt”
Review of Ambady Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambady Estate
Ranked #3 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay in Munnar, No doubt”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

No words to say about the beauty of Munnar and specially about this resort. Very friendly Management. Best thing is the nature untouched by human. Best stay ever had in a resort. This resort is set in a Plantation with lots of Birds and music by nature. Well arranges Rooms which are highly clean and hygienic. Nice tasty food. Overall a very nice stay. Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Stay for 2 or 3 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geetz789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    46
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
49
104
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at this place in April 2011. Though I am very late in writing this review but as the saying goes 'better late than never'. According to me this estate is the property to stay in when you're in Munnar. Their hospitality, food, cleanliness, service, charges, toiletries, everything is just perfect.
We were a group of 7 and I am sure everyone loved this 7 days trip of ours.
The European style cottages, the French food, the antique & upholstery always make you think that you're somewhere on a Euro-Trip.
The spice garden, bird watching point, the restaurant and the flora.. mid blowing.

10/10 to Ambady !!

Room Tip: Just take care of the leeches that come inside the cottages during the rainy season, rest everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AashishGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I don't know where to start to say just how wonderful this farmhouse is. Set in a cardamom plantation, the accommodation is in large split level bungalows each set in its own garden. We'll furnished, clean and comfortable and with the sound of birdsong to add to the relaxing atmosphere, this is a little bit of heaven.
I have run out of superlatives to describe the food in India, but the Ambady Estate is up there with the best. I would certainly love to return one day and would like to encourage everyone to include this "treasure" in their itinerary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived at Ambady late one afternoon, having experienced problems with our booking at another establishment. We were warmly received by the General Manager, Shyam Sundhar, and enjoyed two nights in comfortable rooms with good food and service. The manager and staff went out of their way to make our time at Ambady memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We thought the Ambady Estate was lovely and had a wonderful two nights in Jnauary 2014, where we were able to meet up with fellow travellers and had two very entertaining evening buffet meals of locally produced Kerala dishes. As I found the food too spicy Sham was more than happy to prepare me something else. We were also able to bring our own wine which they kept in the fridge for us. The cottages were of an extremely high standard and exceeded our expectations. The reception is like stepping back in time we were welcomed by the manager Sham with a refreshing welcome drink after our long road journey. The staff were very helpful and polite. Our cottage was huge and light and airy. You need a torch to walk to and from the dining room at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This is situated on a beautiful cardamon plantation about 20kms from Munnar. The staff were very friendly and the excellent manager was always in hand to give advice or talk about the area and the plantation.
There are 8 cottages, all set up as semi-detached pairs. The room had high ceilings and was light and airy. They are modern rooms with a separate seating area, good bathroom and comfortable bed, with doors to a small garden area for watching the amazing bird life.
As the resort was full, they prepared a buffet menu each evening - but don't misinterpret that. This was not buffet food that would re-presented at lunch or dinner, it was freshly cooked and the menu changed each evening. The food was delicious using ingredients from the small vegetable garden and of course local spices, which you could taste in the careful preparation. It was really good food.
There is plenty to do in the forest behind the main area and you will be guaranteed to see wonderful bird life - amazing vibrant colours and different varieties. The walk takes you uphill through the cool forest and we were fortunate to see the Indian Giant squirrels in the tall canopies.
While many people had a car and took a day trip to Munnar, etc, we walked from the resort to the local village, which is surrounded by tea plantations. We walked through the rows of tea, and then enjoyed a fantastic Ayurvedic massage at one of the establishments in the village (just 2000 for a 90 min session!). There is also a Fun Forest adventure park for walking amongst the tree canopies etc.
It is a place to relax and unwind, and enjoy nature in such a wonderful setting. We were sad to leave after 2 days and we will certainly return on our next trip to Kerala.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisnDebs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and we had high expectations. It is posing as a luxurious homestay. It is set in a spice plantation and accomodation is a large bungalow basic furniture but nice. What lets this place down is the poor service. We felt we were a nuisance being there. We are not fussy or demanding and love the kind nature of The Kerelan people however the staff got orders we had to constantly ask for things.The restaurant was grubby with no outside seating There was no information about the estate. I'm sure there were lovely walks. The manger was shocked when I suggested she trained her staff in customer services. We are now on Varkala at the Palm Tree Heritage. These people could teach the Ambady how to treat their guests

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank joan01kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
912 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
709 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
1.9 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 98 in Munnar
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambady Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambady Estate

Property: Ambady Estate
Address: 3rd Mile, Pallivasal PO | Pallivasal, Munnar, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambady Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambady Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambady Estate Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing