We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, convenient location”
Review of The Silver Tips

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Silver Tips
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, convenient location”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Interestingly, we were forced to check-into silver tips since we landed up late in Munnar. The hotel that we had reservations for was around 40km further and it was almost impossible to keep driving due to heavy fog and rain. The front desk staff was surprisingly friendly and even offered us additional phone numbers to reach out to the hotel where we had reservations and was patient throughout the time taken by me to decide whether to check-in or not. Moreover we also managed to get a decent discount off the rack rate for a three nights stay!

The rooms were spacious and clean. Free wi-fi was a good add-on, although the signal was a bit weak in a couple of areas like corridors and the restaurant. We were mostly out sight seeing, so didn't try out any of the other services (like spa) in the hotel. The location was bang in the middle of Munnar town, so the traffic and nearby factory noises were a distraction - but on the plus side, its conveniently located to go off in any of the tourist routes that you can take from Munnar. If you plan to huddle up in your room and soak on nature, you are better off in more scenically located resorts. Food was just ok - some of the items we ordered were good and others were so-so. Overall if felt like value for the money spent and the travel convenience offered in terms of location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!

Dear Guest ,

We are absolutely delighted to to know that you had a wonderful stay with silver tips . Noticed that it was an unexpected check in and finally you got the result . Always we required such a specific comments like this and the same will help lot of travelers to choose the better one. Thanks again and have a great day..

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    256
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
350
277
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MADURAI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Excellent Cinema theme hotel . I did not expect this experience @ munnar. I enjoyed lot and learned better about munnar and its history. we accidentally planned munnar. but i had very wonderful experience over hear. we visited nearby therumeni cultural centre. where we can enjoy kalari and kathakali . I want to stay whenever I get an opportunity

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SARAVANANRAMDOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Greetings from Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!!!!

Dear Guest , Thanks for your excellent review . It is nice to hear that you had an unbelievable stay at Silver Tips. We promise that we will maintain the same standard and service in future also. Hope you will come again with your family during next visit.

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

very centrally located in Munnar, this is an amzing hotel with very good hospitality.They have very good breakfast and dinner spread and awesome room service menu teaming with all local delicacies.They even provide 2 mineral water bottles complimentary on daily basis.we stayed there for 2 nights and how i wished could have stayed more and more..its a bollywood theme hotel and you will take some time to roam around in the hotel and have a good look at its interiors.our room was very good but we were somewhere let down by the fact that we had booked a room with balcony and on our arrival we were given a room without balcony.on one of the nights there was some power problem too. but these are some day to day hassles i feel and can be ignored.Very good hotel and highly recommended if planning to stay in Munnar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anubhuti a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Greetings from Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!!

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your good comments . Hope you had a wonderful stay with us , also we noticed that you had a small issue as well. We will make sure that the same will not happen in future. Thank you ..

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just returned from a fabulous vacation in God's Own Country. Rare do I go back and give reviews to Hotels, However, one of the highlights of the trip was surely our stay (02 nights) at the Silver Tips in Munnar - simply the best hotel we have stayed at in Kerala. The team Silver Tips deserves true appreciation.

The main specialty apart from the other premium hotels is the Movie theme! Right from the lounge, everything there spells cinema and its fascinating features. The Film based interiors is a rare and unique concept. Every room is based by a popular movie and adorned with its ambience. Actually, that was a first time experience to us.

Another highlight which I noticed during my stay in their property is the Front desk - Really Exceptional! There is no hospitality like understanding. The Front Office staff pampered us with warm greeting from the moment we stepped into. You will surely feel the warmth and genuine affection of the people, be it providing express check-in, giving you directions, arranging sightseeing trips etc, etc….., They are well trained, helpful, courteous and eager to take care for you. The hospitality, warmth and personal touch we received from the reception is unique. The level of service is what impresses most amongst many other things!!!.

The rooms are big, beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and it is cool and clean! The scenic view from the balcony is amazing and breathtaking!!. Every corner of the property is well attended and maintained. The multi equipped gym is an added advantage,

Believe me; Food is out of the world!!!! The taste, quality and wide variety of the food is marvelous. The buffet dinner served in the roof top restaurant was amazing. Would love to dine again!! Even room service was a great experience.

The complimentary DJ party arranged in their Mini Movie Theater was superb!!!
Provision of indoor games such as Cricket Bowling Machine was also a new experience to us.

Overall, an absolutely must stay place if you are visiting Munnar!

Thank you all guys…….!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praveenmathew08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!!

Dear Guest ,

Very happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us , Thanks for your fantastic feedback and Such a detailed comments will help all TripAdvisor viewers. Mean time this will give more inspiration to our team also. Special salute to your family and have a great day......

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here 2012 to my trip to kerala the rooms were big rooms nice interiors , good food they had a pure veg restaurant which was good , as my wife was not having non veg , she had her food from the exclusive veg restaurant .

The over all ambiance was good stay was pleasant , enjoyed.

Room Tip: all rooms are almost same size during that time,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DibyaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!

Dear Guest

It is nice to hear that you had a fantastic experience at Silver Tips . Thanks for your positive notes and expecting your visit again..

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights and planning to visit again at the earliest with whole family and friends...

Thanks For
1.The Spacious Room with neat and clean atmosphere, huge bathroom & shower area
2.The wide varieties of Food which was very Tasty and very hygienic
3.The staffs who deserves a very special appreciation for their courteousness
and
"Hats off to the movie concept"

Thank you "Team Silver Tips" for making our first wedding anniversary memorable... you are doing a great job guys keep it up!!! :) Hope to see you again soon... :) :)

Room Tip: Each room having different movie themes so it is difficult to suggest one, i like their all rooms v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shibitho666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Greetings from Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!!!

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your spectacular observation and comments .... Great examination about our service , concept , food , hygiene etc.... It is nice to hear that you had a wonderful anniversary at Silver Tips and expecting your visit again...

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi, Kerala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

best hotel i had ever been,good atmosphere and friendly staff especially house keeping.Good hotel based on movie themes.Nice place to stay on visiting munnar.Very well maintained hotel with helpful staff and reasonable tariff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prasanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunilTS, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Greetings From Asia's First Fully Movie Theme Resort !!!!!!!

Dear Guest ,

It is nice to notice that you had an excellent stay at Silver Tips . Thank you very much for your precious statement about our facilities and service.

Regards

Sunil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#11 of 98 in Munnar
811 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clouds Valley Leisure Hotel
3.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
945 reviews
4.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
906 reviews
3.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Tips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Tips

Property: The Silver Tips
Address: | Opposite DTPC Boating river, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Munnar
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
#12 Spa Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silver Tips 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a total of 60 rooms of which there are 57 rooms in the executive movie-theme and superior movie-theme category and 3 spacious suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Silver Tips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silver Tips Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing