We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silver Tips

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Silver Tips
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

First of all my selection of hotel is wrong, it’s purely a city hotel with sound of vehicles and dust.
The welcoming with Gimson FOM was great, but later on all for me bad experience room no view, bed sheet are not cleaned, room service so late and no provisional
Food is pathetic
A person called simson (I think he is in charge) is very impolite and rude

Only think I like is they have a good cardamom plantation near to the hotel

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bhavitChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINSONTJ, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
first of all we never have any of this experience at Silvertips Munnar, and this comments is totally meant to spoil the reoutation of such a wonderful hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    249
    64
    21
    16
See reviews for
323
262
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2010 as part of a four week self drive tour of S.E. India.

The hotel is brand new and of a luxury standard on the inside. On the outside it stands back from the main road (but no traffic noise in the room ) with a large gravel parking area at the front. On one side the view is over the local playing field and on the other over some rather grim looking buildings. There is no pool or gardens. That said once inside the hotel is very nice and quirkily themed on the film industry.

Rooms were spacious ,modern , light and airy and with comfy beds. There was tea/ coffee making facilities,a fridge , sitting area and small balcony and the bathroom was well equipped with a large shower cubicle. Restaurant served good food and the staff were efficient and attentive, Ample parking and internet available in the lobby . All in all a good place to stay in Munnar.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Silvertips Hotel in Munnar is a very new hotel. As it is new, it is good. Service & hospitality is on par with 5 star hotels in such locations. We stayed for 4 days, & the package was value for money. Bollywood themed rooms, restaurant is very a special attraction.
Location could have been more in midst of nature / tea estates, but promiximity to the town is good.
Room service, booking service cleanliness etc are good. I liked the gym facility provided in the Hotel..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcrazy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed at the silver tips for a few days in jan 2010. This is an excellent hotel with great service. The room was super clean and modern. The shower was excellent with some of the strongest water pressure i have experienced in india. This is a themed hotel where every room is based on a different theme. The general manager of the hotel was very accomodating as were the dining staff. There is free wi-fi internet in the lobby area.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank roadmaster728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Fairly new property located right in the town of Munnar. If you are interested in visiting local attractions, staying in town is a better option as the roads around are narrow and winding and you can spend a lot of time traveling. Silvertips has very spacious rooms, good views from balconies, flowers all around, and two excellent restaurants. The staff is very helpful with service. The only minor negative comment I have is that the front office staff, while always eager to help, was not always very proficient in English.

The hotel also has interesting movie themes incorporating Hollywood, Hindi, and Soythern Indian cinema. Each room has a particular movie assigned to it. If you are a movie buff, you could spend hours going to each room and reading the movie trivia.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryBuff53_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Excellent service, Delicious Food, Spacious room with all needed facilities, great view from balcony, New and splendid theme in the designing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManasXavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

We are just back from a trip from Munnar and we had absolutely great time. Our stay at Silvertips was by chance and we are thankful that the chance made our trip marvelous. This place has got very friendly staff and extremely prompt response for anything and everything. The hotel interiors are movie-theme based and the choice of classic movies are from all eras and from all regions. The rooms are beautiful and spacious and have a pretty veranda which has a nice view of the foothills and a river flowing across the road in front of the hotel. Absolute value for money and lovely stay.

  • Liked — The service of the staff and cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank subu_mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
3.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
4.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#15 of 95 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
3.4 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Tips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Tips

Property: The Silver Tips
Address: | Opposite DTPC Boating river, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Munnar
#8 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#11 Spa Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silver Tips 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a total of 60 rooms of which there are 57 rooms in the executive movie-theme and superior movie-theme category and 3 spacious suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Silver Tips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silver Tips Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing