We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pavithram Home Stay
Ranked #41 of 181 Munnar B&B and Inns
Muscat
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Pavithram was referred by our friend and we had no regret to make this decision. We were two families with kids of age less than 10 years age. Mr. and Mrs. Rajesh were excellent host and we had all comfort as if staying at our own home.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SudheerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    11
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Location wise ok but the amount they charged for deluxe room is not worth..rooms were very small..poor network coverage..lunch and dinner will be arranged from outside only..no privacy..This homestay doesn't met our expectation..totally disappointed..

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponmudii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I went there with my friends an we all had a very good experience over there. Our host Mr. Rajesh was so friendly that he himself take initiatives to make our vacation a memorable one. The place was heavenly with the people and the nature. The refreshing tea estates, charming lakes and waterfalls, good people, and a very nice unique ambiance to enjoy our vacation. A great round of applause for Mr. Rajesh and family for their support and caring us like your own family. Looking forward to see you all once again in the near future !!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This is a fantastic homestay. It is in a small town about 6km from Munnar town. It is quiet and there are acres of tea plantations, which you can wander through up the back of the house. The family is very friendly and the food, which is highly recommended, is yummy. Our room was very large and clean. The price is good and it includes an Indian or continental breakfast. The owner is also keen to help out with follow on travel, including car travel. Overall - highly recommended for a homestay and much better than Munnar, which is busy and hot.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnage99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed here for a few days with our children. Rajesh and his familly welcomed us as friends and not tourists. Devikulam is a quiet and rural place. Munnar is uggly and noisy compared to Devikulam. The most beautiful tea estates are just 20 meters up the garden of the guesthouse. You can spens days and days just walking in the countryside. Rajesh can also book a jeep for a day trip to Kolukumalai at a friendly price. Kolukumalai is an incredible place. The highest tea estate in India. You can also see here the full process of the transformation of the tea. It's authentic and off the beattent tracks. 1-2 h walking from the guesthouse, there are lakes. You ca also easely go frome here to Munnar with a rickshaw and go hiking around Attukal, a small and isolated tea estate and village where there are jeeps to go back to Munnar. We spend a wonderfull time here and Rajesh helped also us to join Munnar the last day. Our taxi was not on time and Rajesh took us with his car to Munnar and negociated for us a taxi to Cochin Airport. Without his help, we wouldn't have been on time at the airport. Thank you Rajesh !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorette0542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The homestay is an incredible experience. The Rajeesh family home is elegant, the family charming and gracious. The best thing about this homestay is its location. It is 6 km outside of Munnar in Devikulam (this is a good thing) and the best thing is that Pavritham has steps that lead directly from the property onto a tea plantation, where you can wander through the breathtaking scenery right from your door. Other Homestays--even those nearby--don't have this kind of access and you have to take transportation to to another location to have this kind of experience.

Top-notch Indian experience.--Roger and Linda

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOTOWNROGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed at Pavithram Homestay along with my spouse and parents. We took two deluxe double bedded rooms. The rooms were very cosy. The place was very quiet and its ideal as its away from the hustle bustle of city life. It has a value for money as well.

The owner Mr. Rajesh is very well informed and best part is that he understands English & Hindi and also knows the tastes a non South Indian have. The food recomendation made by him was simply superb and it was very tasty as well.

However, at the same time I there is also some minor fallacies which we noticed:-
Firstly, the view from the rooms were almost NIL as it open onto the road in the front.
Secondly, one of the bed sheet had a foul smell. We noticed only when we went to bed at night. But as it was too late at night we thought of not awakening the owner though I was sure that he would have definitely got it replaced.
The order for the meals had to be placed well in advance as they had to arrange it from outside.

Overall a very good place to stay with family.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonaiCochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
6.9 mi away
Misty Home Stay
Misty Home Stay
#22 of 181 in Munnar
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nakshathra Inn
Nakshathra Inn
#120 of 181 in Munnar
14 reviews
8.6 mi away
Anna Homestay
Anna Homestay
#2 of 16 in Chithirapuram
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rock Inn Munnar
Rock Inn Munnar
#58 of 181 in Munnar
4 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rheinberg Homestay
Rheinberg Homestay
#25 of 181 in Munnar
217 reviews
7.9 mi away
Gokulam Home Stay Munnar
Gokulam Home Stay Munnar
#65 of 181 in Munnar
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavithram Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavithram Home Stay

Property: Pavithram Home Stay
Address: Devikulam-Munnar Road, Munnar 685613, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'A HOME AWAY FROM YOUR HOME'. Pavithram Home Stay located in Devikulam which was known as the British Official Centre, presently the Headquarter of Munnar. The location is ideal with cool mountain air, velvet lawns, ravishing tea gardens and clam atmosphere without having any crowd and town conjunction. The pavithram Home Stay is certified 'Diamond House' by the Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala. The Pavithram has been operating as a successful Home Stay for last 10 years receiving many repeat clients. Home Stay is operating for a successive 10 years. We are providing 24 hours free Wi-fi connectivity, Cable TV, Intercom, 24 hours Hot Water facility etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pavithram Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavithram Home Stay Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing