We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Munnar Carpe Diem Cottage
Ranked #37 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Good Cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

A memorable Vacation with good location of Cottage. A secured Feeling with gated group of cottages. Nice place to stay. A good idea is to book Cab through the Cottage people.
Plan for two full day sight seeing to cover Full Munnar.
Regards,
V. Muru

Room Tip: Choose Carpie Diem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VRM304556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Set in a beautiful hill-range, surrounded by lush green tea gardens, the cottage is like a paradise in itself.he rooms where very clean and everything you need was provided. Prakash was extremely helpful and responded to every request within minutes.An added bonus is the washing machine in the resort. The setting is idyllic. not to far from Munnar and also, not in the midst of the bustling town so you get a feel of having a leisure holiday. Stay for at least 2 days for perfect enjoyment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpchennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Spent the New year of 2013 in the Carpe Diem property. Should say this property ranks among the best I have stayed in the guesthouse category. The location and the views were absolutely stunning...even at night the views from the terrace canopy of the guest house were great.
Prakash was an awesome host, went out of the way to help us with local travel and getting us supplies to make our stay comfortable.
The only downside was the quality of the food, infact only reason why I rank this at Very good and not excellent...if the food, which is supplied by the adjoining Bird Valley resorts restaurant was better. Food was really pathetic and outrageously pricey. Complimentary breakfast was sub par, worse than many of the youth hostels I have stayed in Europe and Australia
Nevertheless if you ignore the food, this is perhaps one of the best locations I have stayed in a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

The cottage is really nice, especially the view you got from the terrace and the rooftop. The restaurant brings the food directly to the cottage so you can dine on the terrace/rooftop while enjoying the breathtaking view. The food was good and the prices reasonable.

The rooms where very clean and everything you need was provided. Prakash was extremely helpful and responded to every request within minutes.

Also very good is that you have a washing machine in the cottage!

The only thing I was annoyed of was that I had to pay for the breakfast even it was originally included. But apparently as I got a special rate on the cottage it was extra. However, I should mention that when I was heavily ill, Prakash was there in a minute and brought me to a doctor without accepting any money for this help (neither did the doctor).

I definitely recommend going there. Prepare yourself and find out about the trekking paths in Munnar as the typical tourist sights are not worth seeing but rather the stunning nature and the beautiful tea plantations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheworldnow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I would strongly recommend this resort to all visiting Munnar. Set in a beautiful hill-range, surrounded by lush green tea gardens, the cottage is like a paradise in itself. Each room has been so lovingly decorated with beautiful stitch-work paintings and lovely upholstery. The balcony and personal terrace overlook the stunningly beautiful panoramic view. A little kitchen facility stocked, very sweetly, with milk, and tea and coffee,provides you with the option of brewing your own tea and putting together a quick meal if you want to. The cottage itself is very cosy and warm and really really clean. And as i already mentioned above, the setting is idyllic. not to far from Munnar and also, not in the midst of the bustling town, Carpe diem is perfectly located, though prakash (the care-taker and manager there) was very sweet to drive us into the town and show us around. Take my advice...visit Munnara and stay at Carpe diem and you wont want to come back or else will be as happy as I am and definitely want to go back again :)...its a perfect holiday destination!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suhela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here with friends for two nights in October this year. We found it a beautifuil spot to use as a base for exploring the Western Ghats around Munnar. The cottage is first class with two bedrooms, two bathrooms [one with bath] a kitchen and dinning room. However the real bonus is the two balconies from where you can view the birds and the lush surroundings. All the accomodation is of a European standard and if there are enough of you to use both bedrooms the rates are quite reasonable. I have no hesitation in strongly reconmending Carpe Diem

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RufusRoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights, 4 days. Best Place in Munnar. The service is so comforting. They have a fully equiped kitchen, living room with fireplace, 2 full bath attached bathroom. 2 beedroom with balcony. Big terrace too. Alll terrace and balcony have huge views. I highly recommended this place to anyone goes anywhere near to Munnar.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
15.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.4 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
5.4 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#56 of 95 in Munnar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moselberg Riverside Cottages
0.9 mi away
Lake n Hills Resorts
Lake n Hills Resorts
#21 of 154 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar Carpe Diem Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar Carpe Diem Cottage

Property: Munnar Carpe Diem Cottage
Address: Kinchithanny, Munnar 685565, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Munnar Carpe Diem Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Carpe Diem" is a "high end" cottage, luxuriously furnished, and located in a lovely resort. The views from the veranda and roof garden are breathtaking. We offer airport pick up and sightseeing. Our chauffeur speaks fluently English and has years of experience in driving the dangerous mountain roads. Do you enjoy bird watching? Do you enjoy nature? Carpe Diem Cottage is the place to be. We are located in the Western Ghats, the famous mountains of India. Today (July 1 2012 we made it to the WORLD HERITAGE LIST. What an honor!! Nature lovers, come check it out! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Munnar Carpe Diem Cottage Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing